We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value for what you get and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Limbo on the Sea Hotel
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good value for what you get and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

So this is the type of hotel that's best booked on arrival when you can negotiate the rate (which they are very amenable to). It's right in the center of Bocas town, on the water. Most of the rooms don't face the main street, so they're pretty quiet. The rooms with balconies facing the water are more expensive and worth it if they fit your budget. All rooms have flat screen TVs (with CNN, E! etc), hot water showers with good pressure, A/Cs, full length mirrors and mini fridges. There is WiFi in the lobby and rooms. Rooms are cleaned daily. The waterfront patio is one of the best ones in town.

We checked out about 10 places when we arrived into town and this was by far the best deal for what you get. We were easily able to negotiate $10 off per night and probably could have gotten an even better deal if we tried.

Yes, the breakfast is awful. I've never had suck overcooked eggs in my life and we tried both scrambled and over-easy (not easy at all) and it was pointless. The coffee is watery. The orange "juice" is basically Sunny D or something like that. For good breakfast, skip this and simply go to Johnny's Bakery down the street.

WiFi doesn't always work properly. TVs may need some adjusting. But for $65 per night that we paid, it wasn't a huge deal. We slept well, the A/C was always working, etc.

Bottom line -- good value for what you get if you can negotiate a rate.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street if you like peace and quiet. If you can stretch the budget, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smartcooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    31
    33
    14
    18
See reviews for
14
46
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Limbo in Jan.The hotel has great location in the center of Bocas town overlooking the sea. However, the service is rather poor and the staff not very friendly. On average you wait 1h to get the breakfast and the guys serving it do not look very happy doing this job. Our first room for 2 nights was quite nice with a balcony but due to the overbooking we had to change to a smaller room in the first floor for the last night. That was quite a horrible experience when my girlfriend went to a bathroom in the middle of the night and there were 3 big cockroachers waiting there. I told that reception the next morning and they did not even apologise for that. In the end the manager offered a 6!!! USD discount on the price of 75 USD per night.
Regarding the fact that we were paying 100 USD per night on our first 2 nights I would definitely expect a better service and accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms in the first floor as it doesnt smell good and there is a lot of noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas_climbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla Colon hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Great location! Take the rooms with seaview! Breakfast is ok, staff is ok, rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panamatravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Slept in the stardard room for two nights. Was staying at an other hotel before, but prefered this one for location and atmosphere. We have checked other sea-side hotels in Bocas, and from what I have seen, this one was the best value for money option in my opinion. Although 'down town' no problems with street-noise and conveniently close to just about everything.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fly_eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maseru, Lesotho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

What can I say? this was actually part of a package deal arranged through a travel agency. I don't think i will stay here again, for the following reasons:

-really poor service - I was basically stared and gawked at when I requested help for the room safe, and you need to allow an hour for breakfast - even though it is scrambled eggs with a piece of cheese on top, tang instead of orange juice, and toast that was probably in the toaster for 5 seconds. coffee con leche - not bad.

- room seemed clean enough, but I'm sure I would have found all kinds of things if I looked - I choose not to look too closely. Really, we just needed a place to lay our heads for the night, but it did kind of smell - mildew? or was it just that it is a hotel over the ocean? it did have AC - so that, aided by ear plugs, and I was good to go for sleeping.

-overall, the place needs a lot of work, is rather dark, and the staff cannot be bothered to help you/offer any kind of customer service.

-I can't believe it was $130/ night.

-if you just need a place to lay your head, you can get similar conditions in Bocas, but for probably less money (try a hostel)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkfiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Haggle your butt off to get a great rate. Cause you're not going to get much out of this place, except for a decent room, with a very powerful air conditioner! The hotel is clean, the rooms quiet, but the patio, where you have breakfast smells like barf. No joke. It's pretty horrid. Additionally the butter and jam we were served was rotten. The butter smelled and tasted like fish, and the jam had mold on it...and this was one of those individual serving jams in plastic! They don't get the concept of refrigeration and they don't speak english.

I tried to show them how to make the eggs so they weren't over cooked...forget it. So seriously, I would try to get the room for as little as possible and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j4metoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We asked to see the rooms at the hotel before deciding to stay and were shown a standard room, a city view room and an ocean view room. Far and away, the only one worth considering is the ocean view. The other rooms are cramped and drab with an incredibly musty and unpleasant smell. The ocean view, however, was nice and airy, big and had a great balcony overlooking the water and with a great view of the action below. One evening, we were pleasantly serenaded by a busker performing for a group at a restaurant below.

Before taking this room, we compared it with the highly recommended Hotel Bocas del Toro next door and found the El Limbo to be much better value (a comparable room next door was almost double the price and while the communal areas of the Hotel Bocas are nicer, the actual room at the El Limbo was much nicer than the one at Hotel Bocas).

A good tip is to bargain, especially if you haven't made an advance reservation. We easily got $10 knocked off the price and probably could have gotten it down even more if we had tried.

Probably not the best value in Bocas Town, but a good option.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelcritic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Limbo on the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Property: El Limbo on the Sea Hotel
Address: Bocas town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Limbo on the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Limbo On The Sea Hotel Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing