We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you will love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I went to Bocas Del Toro and decided to stay at Villia Paraiso. We could not have made a better choice. The accommodations great and the location was beautiful and private. Literally steps from the beach or private pool. While there is no restaurant on site, there are local chefs that will prepare meals and deliver them to you. Taxi's to the main street are plentiful at $1.50 per person so there is no need for a vehicle. Whatever you want to do, the hosts have outlined in a book in the room or they are always available by phone. We will remember this stay as one of the best get-a ways we have ever experienced! And you will too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 126 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

After a lot of research looking at hotels, B&Bs, and resorts on Bocas, as well as looking at some of the other islands, we ended up thinking that Villa Paraiso would suit our family very well. And it was PERFECT!

Villa Paraiso has 2 separate Casitas that share a pool and common outdoor kitchen area. This was perfect for our family as we could rent both and have the entire property to ourselves! Included was a stocked fridge, snacks, cell phones with pre-programmed numbers of taxis, restaurants and the owners (they live next door), bikes, pool toys, etc. Angie would bring us treats (brownies, cinnamon buns, local treats) and they were there when we needed them and were invisible when we wanted them to be.

Having the beach right there (with beautiful calm, warm water) and the pool, it was the best of both worlds. We cooked breakfast every morning with saved money and saved us a trip into town (plus my husband makes the best breakfasts). But if you don't want to cook, their son Wes will make a delicious breakfast for you.

Our daily routine was to have breakfast then pack up for the day and head out to our activities by either taxi or riding the bikes into town or down to another beach, then back by 4:00, swim, make pina coladas (in the blender!) and shower for dinner. We would then go out to the road and flag down a taxi. Only $1.50 each to town to dine on a great dinner! Then back, another swim and to bed. The A/C in the room was wonderful! The showers were huge and the water pressure was great!

Stay at Las Casitas Del Paraiso... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nedleycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wow….. What a way to celebrate the beginning of our new life together! After the exciting chaos of planning and executing a “DI4” wedding at an old New Orleans mansion…. Villa Paraiso was the perfect venue for a change of gears. Thank you Angie and Steve for having the foresight to plan for guests every need. Thank you for your gracious hospitality and attention to detail, words nor pictures can capture the beauty of this place, provided by the Cottrells and nature.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPLIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Awesome! Spectacular! Relaxing! Beautiful! Friendly! Clean! I could go on and on!! Sam and I LOVED our stay at The Casitas! The room, the pool, the surrounding yards, even the beach, were absolutely spotless!! After riding our bikes to the more grittier parts of the town, it was so refreshing to get back to our little casita home and the sparkling clean pool. The sound of the ocean lulled us to sleep each night, and the gorgeous sunrises awakened us each morning. It was close to perfection!! Meeting the Cottrell family was a highligh of the vacation!! Friendly, hospitable, and so caring. They were family away from home. Thanks for everything and hopefully we can come and stay again. A vacation to remember for sure!!! Sam and Lorelei

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorelei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

After a few days in the hustle and bustle of Bocas town - Villa Paraiso was a welcome reprieve. Our party of 6 took full advantage of the Casitas and were very pleased to find it exactly as advertised - the personal touches were evident throughout our stay from the fresh baked goodies, the complimentary mini bar stock, the personal greetings by the family and the attention to provide what we needed as asked. A slight issue with mobile communication ( a network issue) prevented us from accessing a few amenities - that said however, next time I would be a little more diligent on my part and pre-plan a bit better. Thank you to the Cottrell family for all your hospitality - we look forward to returning!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank livethedream_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our time in the casitas. I spent a lot of time researching places to stay and we were extremely glad we chose to stay here. The property was exactly as I expected based on all the prior reviews, pictures, and online descriptions. Angie was also great about answering questions beforehand about the accommodation as well as general advice about visiting Bocas del Toro. The room was beautiful and comfortable. It was very handy to have snacks and drinks available upon arriving and it was just enough to get us started until we could go grocery shopping. The outdoor kitchen is stocked with everything you need to prepare meals. I wished we had more time to enjoy the outdoor space but we did manage to cook breakfast a couple of days. We did not try any of the privately prepared meals but hopefully will next time. We were happy to have a safe in the room as well to keep our passport and money while we were out for the day. The pool was beautiful and relaxing. You are steps from your own beach which I frequented in the evening as a way to wind down after a day full of activities. As others have posted - there are bikes for your use, snorkel and mask, and also a cooler provided (although the zipper was broken on it, forgot to tell Angie about this) to take on your excursions! Angie and Steve were very helpful with advice and the baked goodies were a wonderful, delicious and thoughtful surprise. We would definitely stay here again, but next time I would plan to take full advantage of the property itself.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asmakhatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

What an unbelievable place to stay. The Cottrell family goes above and beyond your normal hospitality. Their place has everything. It's literally on the beach . You can't get any closer. They have kayaks to use, snorkeling equipment, bikes, and toys for the pool. You can stay on site all day or go into town by cab. They provide you with a cell phone to call taxis when you need them. Aside from the beautiful location we greatly enjoyed breakfasts by Wes and plenty of unexpected goodies like warm brownies, muffins, snacks and some drinks stocked in the mini refrigerator. We feel blessed we found their place and look forward to many more years of visiting Bocas. Thanks for a great experience. We miss you guys!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamanian-Style, Owner at Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We enjoy giving our guests specialized service. The BEST of what is expected and then more..... We offer the option of a wonderful full breakfast served poolside in the covered lanai, as well as our excellent private chef that will cook lunches or dinners for you. In house massages are available for relaxation, or for adventure we will give suggestions for exciting island tours. Beach bonfires can be arranged for families or groups,and soon to come our own private boat for specialized exploration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
423 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
551 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
531 reviews
13.6 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso

Address: Big Creek, Isla Colon 0101, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Isla Colon
Price Range: $143 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax in your own private suite style Casita of the most UNIQUE, EXQUISITE Beachfront Boutique Rentals in all Northern Panama. Las Casitas are located directly on top of the beach,and footsteps from the warm Caribbean Sea! Our private, gated property offers you the use of a beautiful private pool and patio area to lounge in the sun, as you listen to the soft rolling waves of the Sea, or relax with a book under the covered lanais in our over stuffed sectionals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Of Villa Paraiso Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing