We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bocas Best! Villa Paraiso- Luxury ON the Beach Villa w/ Private Pool
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Isla Colon
See available hotels
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#6 of 21 hotels in Isla Colon
9 mi
View Hotel
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
#9 of 21 hotels in Isla Colon
11.7 mi
View Hotel
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#2 of 2 hotels in Changuinola
11.8 mi
View Hotel
Koko Resort
Koko Resort
#2 of 21 hotels in Isla Colon
12.4 mi
View Hotel
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflying piratesboat tourcomfortable queen bedhuge terracesitting areaplace to stayriding bikessloth islandchef chrisbig creekan incredible experienceliving spaceping pong tableour honeymoongreat hostsminute bike ridethe wi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 124 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed with my husband and 3 year old son. Angie, Steve and their wonderful sons were incredible hosts. From my hundred e-mails prior to the trip to planning out day trips and getting tips on great local food, we could count on them to help us navigate and create an epic trip.
I am going to include my full review on here and break it up into sections:
Villa Parasio:
From what we saw, this is THE PLACE to stay on Bocas. Incredibly clean, safe and the private pool that opens to the beach was perfect. The efficiency kitchen is just enough to cook some meals at home. 10 minute bike ride out of town. Easy to ride to Tony's market for all the essentials. The WI-Fi is not real functional so don't plan on trying to stream any movies while you are there. They provided us with a cell phone with their numbers and local cabs- very handy!
Everything was there that we needed which was a blessing since our luggage limit on Natureair was 15 lbs per person.
The even rented us a bike with a child seat on the back so we had a blast riding everywhere.
Thank you for everything! We appreciate it and hope to be back in the future.
Bocas Town
This is a bustling town with lots of little eateries and places to catch water taxis.
If you are not much of a traveler and are uncomfortable with minimal modernization, trash lined streets and early development- you will not be happy here.
If you appreciate culture, adventure and little tourism you will love it!
A little spainish goes a long way and while you can get away with english, you won't be as well received by the locals.
There are "gringo" restaurants that are cleaner, english speaking and more expensive but the little local spots are amazing! Shout out to Tom's in town and El Drago (I think- not marked) on the way to Pakis Point and the Villa.
Pakis point is heaven on earth as is bluff beach. We had a blast riding bikes all along this end of the island and finding great private spots to swim. Bluff beach does an Argentinian BBQ on Saturdays that is not to be missed!
We took a water taxi out to Cayo Zapitillo which I highly suggest.
Do not go to starfish beach- the beach is grungy and the boats coming in and out force the starfish further down the beach anyway.
We would have liked to have gone to Bastimentos and done the chocolate tour but ran out of time.
If I can answer any questions friends, please let me know- I know how much I rely on you all to help plan our trips!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jedavispt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Reviewed February 13, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A FlipKey verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I and our 2 year old daughter stayed here in January 2014, our third time staying at Villa Paraiso. this is a great place to stay, it is near town but far enough away that you don't hear the night clubs, it is always spotless, and Steve and Angie are great hosts. We would and will be back without hesitation, this is a great place to spend a week, well worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jonathan024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

When you arrive in Almirante secure car parking is available for 5 USD per day. It takes around 20 minutes by boat taxi to Isla Colon. Than another 6 minutes by taxi (4-7 USD) to Wiona villa (in Big Creek, just after passing Playa Tortuga). A very well maintained place, constructed by the family (who live on the second floor). Private swimming pool and direct excess to the sea. Nice patio (with table tennis and gas grill). Room with comfortable queen bed, TV (with DVD & films), dining table and kitchen area (fridge, 2 pit cooker, coffee machine (no water cooker), cutlery, plates and pots/pans). Bathroom with shower (some what difficult system to get warm water). Good Internet. Complimentary two bikes are offered which are of good use to explore the area and to bike to town in about 10 minutes. We had some problems with the bikes but this was solved the next day. We enjoyed our days here. We paid 180 USD per night (without breakfast, some snacks/drinks were provided).

We, however, would not recommend Bocas del Toro for the experienced travelers with appreciation for style/culture. This island group has still very much a hippie/backpack atmosphere. Many hostels, cheap shops and bars. Hardly any supermarkets where you can find decent/fresh vegetables. Surroundings are full of waste and houses are hardly maintained. People on the island are laid back but so much that they hardly want to serve you (for example; in the Post office we waited in the queue for 10 minutes and when it was our turn the lady closed the desk and went home).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 9, 2014

Thank You for the wonderful review, we work hard to keep everything to a level even better than what is expected! We regularly maintain everything. Bikes are regularly maintained at every check out, and in between if needed. The bikes are in good running condition every time someone checks in. Sorry we weren't able to get immediately to the repairs on the bikes,on Sunday night, after your rough trip riding them to Bluff Beach, when they broke down, but happy to know you were satisfied with us fixing them 1st thing Monday morning. Conveniently we are here to help with things like that, but disappear to give you all the privacy you want!

We realize Bocas isn't for everyone, but it is an adventurous trip with many pristine places to discover within a short distance in all the islands of the archipelago. It is rich in culture and history, with indigenous communities living in thatched huts, as they have for hundreds of years, and West Indian people speaking their native Guari Guari language. It well worth the effort to experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We rented a suite in the house with the owners above us. The location is perfect. Close to town to ride a bike (15 min) or taxi $3 for 2 people. It is on the beach and you have access to a pool for your own use.

The suite is very clean with sheets, towels, hair dryer, TV/movies, small kitchenette and a few snacks/drinks which is nice. Kayaks and bikes are available for use.

You have access to a cellphone- some taxis, tour # and restaurants # programmed in. Even though you are a few km from town some restaurants will deliver.

Wifi works perfectly.

For the price, location etc there isn't a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank BigShow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews