We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, excellent atmosphere, excellent food”
Review of Guari Guari

Guari Guari
Ranked #6 of 104 Restaurants in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service, excellent atmosphere, excellent food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a treat! You have to call ahead to make a reservation and inform them of any dietary restrictions you may have. Once you get there he brings out course by course and explains it and you just sink into a culinary escapade. The drinks were good and strong, and everything was cooked to perfection. 5 courses of deliciousness. And everything is so perfectly proportioned that you can eat your part of each course. The folks at Guari Guari have created a masterpiece.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maha3766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    35
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
2 reviews
“Perfect Dinner”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Simply put, the best restaurant service I have ever experienced in four years of living in Panama. The food was unbelievably delicious as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best food on Isla Colon!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Without a doubt the best meal we had in Bocas! We were able to get a reservation the same night and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. You'll want to take a taxi ($1 per person) both ways as it's a few miles out of Bocas Town. They have bug spray...you'll need it once the sun goes down since all seating is on an outdoor patio.

Highly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The format of this restaurant might be a little repellent for some, however, the food and service -which is rare in Panama - was excellent.
The restaurant is a little hard to find (go past the only gas station on the island, first 'house' is the restaurant) but worth it. Also, the phone number we aquired on the internet (can't remember which, might be Tripadvisor) wasn't correct.

They have no menu, they server different dishes on a daily basis. The waiter asks if we have any food allergies or dislikes. We didn't have any..


No walk ins, make sure you make a reservation!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samjongenelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and my daughter of 22 stayed 9 days at the Isla Colon this July /August. We had the opportunity to try out several of the local restaurants both in Boca Town and the surroundings. The Guari Guari was so special that it deserves to be mentioned in particular. This restaurant was a great and unexpected experience. The service and friendliness of the owner was far above what you can expect at any restaurant. I don´t know how he did the magic in the kitchen given the limited amount of modern kitchen aids available that far away from civilization. We enjoyed a four course dinner with good wine and coffee accompanied with a good brandy, and we did not notice that four hours passed while we had the greatest time surrounded by darkness and the rain forest. I will recommend everyone who visit the Isla Colon to pay a visit to this restaurant. I guarantee that you will not regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jepStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guari Guari also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Guari Guari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing