We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Bocas.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Guari Guari

Guari Guari
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best in Bocas.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our party of 4 dined here over the Christmas holidays. The food was well prepared and the service so friendly and efficient.One of our party was vegetarian and this was discussed during the making of the reservation.Every effort was made to accommodate her food preference .This is not gourmet food as in a fine dining restaurant but it is great value for the small cost.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bfdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    35
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Quite a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was probably our best meal in Panama, although we had some very good food there. Guari Guari is unique. We had: gazpacho, falafel, a pressed tuna dish, Thai chicken skewers, pork roast with vegetables, and chocolate cream. All were delicious. As everyone says, six courses for $23 each. And we had a nice bottle of wine. Ozzie is totally on the case all the time, and his chef and helpers are great too. You even get a mosquito coil under your table, although we didn't see many bugs there. If you stay at Koko Resort or Bahia del Sol, Jack will make a reservation for you, and you can walk to Guari Guari in about 8 minutes from there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Delicious 6 course meal (4 starters), main and desert, great service, great atmosphere, best food in Panama so far.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonindiekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del Toro
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply close your eyes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This restaurant has plastic chars, high wooden tables and is not really classy. But simply close your eyes and really really enjoy this GREAT 6 course meal. If you don't like good food, don't go there. But who doesn't like good food? If you are in bocas, you definitely have to go to Guari Guari one time - please make sure you make a reservation and tell them about your allergies. It is not the cheapest place but for what you get, I would almost pay extra! The meal includes 4 appetizers, 1 entree and a dessert. The owner is very friendly and which a cook like that, you don't have to worry about the location or the plastic chairs. I can only say: excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheWay2Stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the 5 Course Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I still Love this Restuarant - the German owner is so nice and his dishes are the top notch - The location is a little tricky to find - but worth the effort to get there - nice private setting - probably the best romantic setting in Bocas now (since 9 degrees closed). Love the set menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teleworker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guari Guari also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Guari Guari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing