We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Los Delfines Pizza is the best”
Review of Hotel Los Delfines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Los Delfines
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Though I have never slept a single night in this hotel, I would like to write a review about the restaurant - pizzeria. The pizza's are very good. But the music is loud and the lights are very bright. So I reccomened to everyone acking for a slice of afforable but delicious pizza to visit los delfines and take away one of those delicous pizza's!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OnTheWay2Stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 80 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really nice, clean and spacy enough rooms upon a restaurant. With aircon and hot showers. Good option for the hostels downtown. Shared a two bed room with a friend and the price didn't go much higher per person than the dorms on other places. They also clean the rooms daily.

Restaurant downstairs makes good wood-oven pizzas. The staff is friendly, especially the older gentleman working in the reception. Highly recommendable place only a few minutes from the center.

Wifi works outside the rooms and better downstairs in the restaurant. Could be a bit better connection.

Room Tip: The room near over the pizza oven might get some smoke from the chimney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HontzyOntheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After spending one night at one dirty hostel at Bocas, we were looking for a nicer room for the other night. The day before we went to the restarunt beneath Los Delfines and the food was great and the people were very nice. The room is very big, clean and it has the facilities of a higher budget hotel. If you're coming to Bocas to spend your Honeymoon or a relaxed vacation - This place will be an excellent option for you. p.s. - It includes breakfast.

Room Tip: Try their Pizza - it's the best one you can find in Bocas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Window/patio area was more like a crawl space. Rooms were clean but we had water issues from day one of our arrival. We found the staff to be helpful....when we could find them. Wouldn't recommend unless some managerial changes were made. Cleanliness is a plus though! And had a very central location - this might be a negative or a positive depending on what you're looking for.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank RRRadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked this hotel, which also goes by the name of Hotel Arco Iris, for the new years holiday.

$65 a night sounded steep but we didn't have much of a choice due to our last minute (1 month before) efforts to find a place in Bocas.

The room, though clean, is very, very basic. I've traveled many places in latin america and this sort of room is pretty much 1 step up from a hostel and is typically $15, $20 a night at the most,

Location is good, very near the main drag on Isla Colon however, one should know, there is a youth hostel across the street with loud club music at night.

The staff was nice and friendly, I mean, aside from completely ripping us off by charging us a 3-star rate for a 1-star accommodation. If it is the last available room on the island, go for it but the price is a complete rip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markiemarksf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Too much expensive for what you got. The room did not have great view, no balcony, very simple for 75$. We met a lot of backapacker who paid 10$-20$ by night for the same quality. Ths staff are always smiling..very nice with us. The breakfast was ok...but sorry..that's too expensive !

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour we booked with Gecko Trail. We arrived at this hotel and got that sinking feeling when we were greeted on the patio by 20 or so kids around the age of 16 sitting on chairs with their stereos blasting and drinks everywhere. This was about 5pm. The situation got worse when around 10 pm or so the hotel across the street starting blasting the music out of their in-house bar. Things got even worse when the kids boozing it up at the Hotel Delphines decided to merge with the kids at the bar across the street - so it turned into one big 16 year old street party. I am not trying to sound old and cranky and still like to hit the bars myself from time to time, I just dont like my hotel being part of one.
Even with ear plugs in the noise with deafening in our room. We left at 1 am to stay at a different hotel and were not given a refund after complaining to the management. Actually when we went to complain to the owner, the security guard (actually security kid) told us he wasn't on the property and couldn't be found. But when we said we cant leave without our passports (which were in the safe),, the owner magically appeared out of hotel office.
Unfortunately this wasnt the end of our problems there. Because we were with a tour package the owner of the hotel was also responsible for our transportation back to Costa Rica. I went back the following day to speak to him about this and it was arranged to pick us up at 11:45 am the next day at the new hotel we were staying at. Of course 11:45am comes around and there is no bus for us. Long story short was that he rebooked us on the 2:45pm bus instead, but didnt bother to tell us and assumed we would spend 3 extra hours of our vacations waiting in a hotel lobby. I walked over to the Delphines to confront him on this and he explained to me that the bus in Costa Rica had broken down and this was the next available bus. Little did he know that I had just spoken to the bus company prior to talking with him, who told me that infact our reservations were changed by the owner of the Delphines to the later shuttle bus because there was another couple at his hotel leaving tat that time and it would end up saving the owner money to do this.

Anyways I can go on for a while about what a rat this guy is. There are plenty of other examples of what he is like. The simple choice is to avoid this place. There are so many better options available in Bocas (unless you are 16 and looking to party until 6 am). And because Bocas is an isolated island, where you stay and who you stay with does matter alot more than in other situations, because the last boat taxi out of Bocas... is the last chance to get out of Bocas.

Oh and as for the rooms - they were by far the worst out of the 4 different hotels we stayed at on this trip....but that is another story.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Colon hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Delfines

Address: Calle 5 Avenida G, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Price Range: $37 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 13 comfortable, clean and nice rooms with A/C, private bathroom, hot water, cable TV and wireless internet at the public areas of the hotel.Our staff will make sure that you are going to have the best vacations ever in a warm welcoming atmosphere giving you everything you need to enjoy as much as possible this beautiful pristine paradise of Bocas del Toro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Los Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Delfines Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing