We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gardens and wildlife with a personal touch.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Los Monos Botanical Garden

Finca Los Monos Botanical Garden
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Finca Los Monos (the Monkey Farm) is situated on Isla Colon, the largest island in the enchanting archipelago of Bocas del Toro, , Panama. The islands enjoy a steady temperature of between 80 and 93 degrees (27 C – 33 C) all year round, with adequate rainfall to keep them lush and humid. Over the years we have created a magnificent garden with large collections of heleconias, gingers, palms, flowering trees, fruit trees, spices and ornamentals. New plants are constantly being added to the property.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and wildlife with a personal touch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We did the evening bird watching tour through the garden which was followed by cocktails with the owners. What a marvelous experience! Both the lush beauty of the gardens and amazing variety of birds, as well as the pleasure of getting to know Lyn, "Kiwi", Lukas and the dogs!

Helpful?
Thank MuLBerry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    17
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing and educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I would love to take this tour about ten more times to absorb all of the beauty and the information that was explained. Take a camera. I took about 100 pictures and am having a hard time deleting any of them. Met some great friends and am truly glad that Lula's B & B recommended it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour -something different in bocas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We visited the gardens yesterday for a 2hr tour and had a great time. The owner, Lynne, gave showed us round and it was impossible not to be captivated by her enthusiasm and knowledge of plants and wildlife that are in her garden.

The garden itself is about 25 acres, we were shown many types of plants and animals, including some very sweet Labradors ! For ten dollars this is a great tour that will teach you much about the plants and wildlife of bocas del toro, it's also a tour that all ages would enjoy.

The only tips we can give you are bring bug spray! And sensible shoes, also of you are prone to mosquito bites cover up or get bitten!

Helpful?
Thank Jimbocabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc,utah
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We toured this botanical garden and were so impressed. The owner was so informative about the plants she has personally planted over the years! We toured for 2 hours and would definitely go again if we returned to Panama.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank getonthebusgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful and very informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Really enjoyed the tour and will visit again whenever we gat back. They are continuously adding and growing new plants and the wildlife varies each time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finca Los Monos Botanical Garden also viewed

Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to Finca Los Monos Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing