We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveler rating
168
267
204
91
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
267
204
91
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice resortlarge hotelbreakfast buffet isbeautiful poolcab ridemy girlfriendtaxiswaves
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 808 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our stay at Tortuga was so bad so we actually left one day earlier than planned. The hotel didn't meet our expectations at all. And we lived at many different kind of hotels and are not very picky at all. But we didn't get what we paid for! The place is quite run down, a rusty refrigerator met us when entering the room. And everything is shabby. There was also blood on the sheets and when we pointed it out the staff didn't seem to care. (But they did change it.) The staff was without exception very rude and unfriendly. The transfer bus to and from city was almost always full. Over all, we didn't feel welcome and would never go there again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Service is spalling.
Staff aren't trained and coordinated. We place orders for coffee and drinks, 5 staff members standing around just looked at each other, may be to check who is going to take care of this orders. 30mn later, we were not served and some the 5 staff members just walked off the bar.
If you need a drink, you better stand at the bar untill someone can be bothered to serve you and make sure you pay otherwise you will wait another hour before you get the bill.

People would this is standard service in Panama, yes I agree, but it is not acceptable for a hotel which is part of a luxury international group and charge a lot more than average on the island.

Staff don't know what to do when a customer is waiting at the bar. They constantly walk off or pretend to be moving glasses or phone...
Lack of training, coordination....

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Playa Tortuga is one of the larger hotels on the Bocas Islands- it has a nice bar/restaurant over the water, and has lovely freshwater pools if you want one of those. Rooms are definitely tired feeling and things could get noisy sometimes. However, it is a reasonable option, and probably best for a family rather then a couple since it is definitely not an intimate place.
It has a decent gymn which was air conditioned
It is really too far to walk to town and you are specifically advised not to do so at night. Our walks during days attracted a pack of dogs. Taxi to town costs $2/per person each way and took about 10 minutes.
Concierge was able to arrange last minute excursions for trips to beaches, diving, fishing etc without difficulty, but his organizational system was suspect

Main restaurant was below average. The New Year's eve buffet was quite disappointing for the price we were forced to pay (not given a choice). However, the service we experienced was above average.
I personally would choose a different place to stay if we visited Isla Colon again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m123sandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice hotel located 10 min driver from the main "party" area.
I wasn't lucky and got a room that is actually a part of 2 rooms - inside the room there was a door leading to another one and there was a very noisy family with kids so make sure your room isn't connected with another one.
Free internet - very weak signal in the room.
The room is clean, bed are comfortable and there is a safe (13" laptops mostly) too.
Pool/beach are ok too.
Like everyone else wrote - there is a smell in the area.
bottom line - make this hotel cheaper, overall it's very old and tired.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Bocas is a wonderful place to visit. I have enjoyed many of the beaches, tours and restaurants. However I would recommend staying at a different place. From time to time, we got a smell of something really nasty. Also, there is some kind of loud generator that runs and then shuts off. Just when you think it's going to be quiet, it runs again. This could be a great place if they would give attention to these annoying problems.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sistermonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews