We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in isla colon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Place in isla colon”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very nice hotel, very clean, kind staff, big american style breakfast. It has own pier that allow the boats catch you to do the day trips. Big and very confortable beds. Big room. Travel agency inside is very overpriced. Back for sure. Recomended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alceu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    234
    178
    87
    63
See reviews for
203
286
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Even tough it was not an exclusive resort We had such a great time there. You can swim in the pool or beach or get in the free shuttle and go to Bocas Downtown at night. You can also get a 25 $ tour that can take you to the other islands all day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a private location, you'll need a bus, taxi or rent a bike to get anywhere- but why? There is a nice restaurant on site a small beach and pool area and breakfasts are included in the cost. The rooms are nice but were confusing at first- leave your key in the slotted box next to the door for electricity. 2 AC units- one in the suite and one in the bedroom keep things cool. Internet was absent in the room- better in lobby, best by the pool.

Would
I stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the largest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicagoGoingGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel three nights and we enjoyed every minute we spent there. Beforehand we thought that maybe it would be too big, but it was very peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are big and well equipped, with a small terrace facing the Bay. Town is 5 minutes away and the Hotel has a shuttle service running 5 times a day. Avery recommendable option to avoid the bussy town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alis77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Playa Tortuga is bit rundown, but it has a nice location, a beautiful pool and a fairly nice beach. It is not a typical hotel for Bocas del Toro and it is a bit removed from town, but they run a shuttle into town at least a couple of times a day.

The internet was down, the bathrooms off the lobby were out of service, and they were doing work on the reception desk when we arrived, so reception was a row of banquet tables. I never saw an elevator, but the property is only two stories. The fitness room was also out of service during our stay.

We arrived on the early flight from Panama City and got to the hotel about 9:00 AM while check-in begins at 3:00 PM. Reception suggested that we take the shuttle into town and book a full-day excursion. They allowed us to use the out-of-service ladies room to change into swimsuits and stored our luggage. There were 3 of us plus two additional couples and we were directed to tour company in town where we boarded a boat for a full day of motoring around the islands and waters of Bocas for $25 per person. We had time to purchase water and some minimal snacks. It was a good way to spend the day while waiting for our room. Since this must happen all the time with the early flight, it would have been nice to have more information before we set out. Fortunately, we had cash for our purchases, lunch and the access fee we were charged at Red Frog Beach. Snorkel equipment consisted of mask and snorkel only, no flippers.

Our room was ready when we got back to the hotel and the room was nice enough and clean enough. As others have mentioned, air conditioning is only run when the room is occupied, so the rooms are musty. Bathrooms are fine, but only have a shower. There isn't a minibar, but rather a mini refrigerator which actually suited us better. Also, there was only one restaurant, the bar over the water at the end of the pier. We had dinner there our first night and the food was awful and the service worse. It's such a lovely spot, it's a shame that the food and service were so bad.

After the bad dinner experience, we were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast buffet which was quite good. It was all self-service, so service was not an issue and the selection was broad.

The next day we wanted to take book a tour to Zapatillas, but it was more expensive than we wanted to pay for just the three of us, so we stayed at the beach and pool all day hoping that others would want to join our threesome for the excursion to Zapatillas. We had a little lunch on property and remained disappointed by the food and service. The pool was very nice and it was a relaxing day. That evening we caught the free shuttle into town and had a nice dinner at El Limbo. The shuttle returned on schedule to pick everyone up and return us to the hotel.

Our third day, we still hoped that others would join us for an excursion to Zapatillas, but when no one else showed up at the tour desk, we bit the bullet and paid the cost for a private excursion for just the three of us. No one bothered to tell us that there would also be a park service fee for the beach at Zapatillas and we had to borrow $5 from our boat captain because the ranger couldn't make change for a $20.

It wan't a bad stay, but the staff could certainly use some professional training and the hotel would benefit from some TLC. Playa Tortuga could be a very nice property, but it's not quite there.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water and seem to be identical except for king vs. two queens, so book the lowest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here and the rooms are nice but the hotel fails on many other things. The reception staff are extremely warm and welcoming but the other staff are all a waste of space. We ordered a meal in the restaurant and the staff were all talking among themselves even after seeing us waiting and ignored us. On another side. Ordered a cocktail which I know is 5usd and I asked them how much and the said 7usd thinking I am a mug and easy mone to make. They also clatter the stuff around when getting ready for breakfast at 10pm keeping everyone awake. The rooms are comfortable with a nice bed but everything else in the room is dated. They need to modernise or close their doors to new business as people pay good money to stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good hotel if you are looking for quiet hotel with pool outside of town. (only 2$ by taxi to go to main street) Rooms are big and each with seaside view. But walls between the rooms are very thin... and if like me you have a light sleep you will be kept awake by snoring neighbours, craying babies or the staff walking around in the hall (at 6am!!)... But overall, nice accomodation and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms far from the entry hall are most quiet ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0tusBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
1.5 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
529 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
72 reviews
4.4 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Colon
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Caribbean Beach Resort on the crystal clear waters of Bocas del Toro, Panama.Playa Tortuga offers 117 stylish room accommodations, each with a balcony and spectacular ocean view. Guests may choose from standard rooms, junior suites and large grand suites, all offering a contemporary décor, modern amenities and a soothing tropical atmosphere.Relax in the hotel’s sea view pool, or sunbathe in our water mirrors while enjoying your favorite beverage from the nearby bar area. Little ones will enjoy the children’s pool. Other modern and convenient amenities include free WIFI and a state of the art Fitness Center featuring a private massage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Isla Colon
Playa Tortuga Hotel And Beach Resort
Playa Tortuga Resort Beach
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing