We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveler rating
168
267
204
91
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
267
204
91
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice resortlarge hotelbreakfast buffet isbeautiful poolcab ridemy girlfriendtaxiswaves
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 808 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very nice hotel, we had a junior suite on the top floor with a very nice ocean view. The staff was very friendly

Thank Sandia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We flew here from Panama City and the view is breath taking the water and small islands below are colorful and take your breathe away!!This Hotel met all the basics comfortable beds Very clean rooms awesome pool nice beaches. Great Views to die for...The food during breakfast was Blan but included. The dinner was Good The Romantic dinner set-up on the beach was awesome! Our server LEO is a wonderful Man. He was there to serve and wait on our every whim. Kathy at the front desk was a total Gem!! She looked after us and we never had a problem! Taking a few minutes to ask these people about there Journey in life is really quite fullfilling!! While in Boca del Toro we went to Red Frog Beach,was nice the sand was so soft and the kids catch the frogs for you to take a photo for a Tip $.. Dolphin Caye lots of dolphins here the motors hurt their ears so they jump and swim along side the boats, snorkelling in the Ocean was fun but scary Just jump in no Prioblem..hmmm when in Panama.. had lunch on the ocean at a Water Cafe'. met some nice People that we have stayed friends with and had the freshest shimp ever what more could you ask for..These were all worth doing But the best time was taking a taxi driven by Miguel , ph. #67377043.. to Star Fish Island!!! Absolutley worth an entire day here!! The water was crystal clear starfish everywhere white sand awesome food just cant say enough...Little resturante intown then take a water taxi ride $1.50 or walk 10 minutes around the corner..Beauty.. I could stay here all day long and just be happy..!! Boca Town was a nice sleepy little village all the people are friendly and the island life is a thing of Beauty...relaxation is what this place is all about! Lots of resturante in town any kind of food you want and remember Beer is 50 cents so relaxing watching fish swim with a cold beer is a normal thing to do here! It was hard to leave this area we felt like we were locals only after 4 days.. I long to go back to the island life here..

Room Tip: We were on the Ocean side on the top floor But the pool side is also an ocean side and there really are no bad rooms.. This Hotel does not have an elevator but there are at the most 4 sets of 5 stairs .so an easy climb! Kathy at the front desk speaks perfect english she can help with all your needs!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We walked into the room and while it looked nice it smelled of mildew, ran the air conditioner it it didn't help.

Went down for buffet breakfast they kept running out of food as they only put small amounts out and you had to wait 15 to 30 mins. For them to replenish and that was after telling them. this even included coffee.

Reception service was good the rest is just terrible, I waited 5 mins at the bar to order two coffees, the one other person at the bar spoke Spanish and told them to help me.

Then when I went to pay they left.

Also their prices for beverages are quite high, in town a beer is $1.50 or $1.00 during happy hour and here it's $2.75 and they add the tip automatically even for bad service which doesnt deserve a tip.

Plus the prices on drinks vary from there dinner menu to their drink menu so you don't know what you are paying.

Go somewhere else closer to town, there is also nothing to do here.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nevada60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Playa Tortuga hotel is a nice, modern facility and appears to be way ahead of other hotel offerings in Bocas town. Actually, it is a 2 mile ride from the town center and the taxi fare is $1, each way, from the hotel to the town center. The swimming pool is just fabulous. The main pool appears to be Olympic-sized and adjacent to it is a 'kiddie' pool and two shallow pools with lounge chairs in them. You can lie on your lounge chair and dangle your feet in the six-inch deep water. This pool complex is the best I have seen in any hotel, anywhere in the world. Kudos to whoever designed it!

The hotel is right next to the beach but the water there is brown and silty. Stick to the pool or take a tour that includes Playa Zapatillas. Tours are on sale in the hotel. These are boat tours which actually depart right from the dock adjacent to the hotel property. We took a $25 tour which included looking at Dolphins in their natural habitat, a visit to a restaurant on Isla Bastimentos and 2-3 hours at Play Zapatillas. PZ is a lovely beach with golden sand and clear water. If you want to snorkel walk to the windward side of the island where the waves are larger. However, if you just want to loll around in calm water stay where the boat drops you off. If you want a cheaper way to get to PZ take a taxi to the town center and negotiate a price with one of the local boatsmen. TAKE A SNACK AND BOTTLED WATER with you since there is no commercial activity there.

Breakfast is included in the daily cost of the hotel. We took advantage of a special rate of $95 per day, per room, double occupancy. The rooms are modern and contain flat-screen TV, security safe, stocked refrigerator and a very comfortable bed. The WiFi is excellent. The bathroom is contemporary and the hot water is a scorcher; be careful before you get under the shower. The lunch and dinner menu is excellent and if the beef (carne de res) soup is the soup of the day, try it. It is mouth watering.

This is definitely a first choice hotel in a rustic but enchanting town. I will definitely be a repeat visitor.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room and the waves will only be a few feet away.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nnfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Great hotel! It was big and clean and the rooms were nice and cold! I loved it! They had great day tours. It was probably the closest thing to a resort in bocas. It was just outside of bocas town and cost about 2$ pp to get to town and back. the town was nothing special though. The food at the restaurant/hut was pretty good over the water. The pool and lounge chairs in the pool were awesome! They advertise as a 5 star hotel but are in reality an american 3.5 which is still really great for a hotel in panama.

Cons: They had a new years eve party which was not good (they required people to get tickets or charged them a premium to stay at the hotel). The breakfast was not that great. I got a massage and it was actually horrible. I wanted it to end.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cicixee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews