We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness hotel in Taitung - not very kind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kindness Hotel Taitung
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taitung County
Certificate of Excellence
Taitung
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kindness hotel in Taitung - not very kind”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I don't think I would actually call it the 'Kindness Hotel', I was there the latter part of July, 2011. Let me start out by saying it is a nice hotel and I would stay there again but I'm new to this area of Taiwan so not sure what else is available. If I come back to Taitung, I wouldn't mind trying a different hotel. The rooms are clean and probably recently updated and you have a mini-fridge, large TV and free high-speed internet. They also provide a free laundry facility which is nice to have, although it takes about 3 hours to wash and dry a load but that is a minor inconvenience.

The cleaning staff and breakfast area staff were very friendly; the women at the front desk were not - borderline rude. I don't know if they think that they are a big deal or something, or are just racist but it made me want to find another place to stay. I don't expect anyone to kiss up to me but this was way below that. Just checking in soured my mood after dealing with their attitude.

If you ever go to Taichung, stay at the Splendor and see how differently you are treated by the front desk clerks - night and day difference.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRErnestTBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    78
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
214
103
15
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Traveling with my wife and 7 y.o. kid and stay here for 2 nights.

The room was standard (American hotel) sized, well kept, and clean, but the room decor was a bit odd. The bed was comfortable enough. The shower has nice water pressure for our 7th floor room. There were no personal safe. Functional, old-style (not flat panel) TV with choices of cable TV programs. 2 free bottled water was included. All the daily toiletry items were provided (toothbrush/paste, shaving kit, etc). The instruction sheet in our room said that there was wireless internet access, but my Ipad couldn't locate any network. However, there were plenty of desktop computers in the business center on the 1st floor with free internet access. We also took advantage of the free DIY laundry, but the dryer speed was painfully slow.

The service overall was very good, and the hotel staff were very accommodating. I speak Chinese so communication was not an issue. The biggest negative was perhaps its location, a bit away from the city center. However, Taitung isn't a big city, and the "downtown" can be reached within a healthy (20 min) walking distance. This may not be a huge issue since most visitors to Taitung did not come for its "downtown". Both the train station and airport are also quite a distance away from the city center, so there is no great advantage to stay within downtown, especially you are here to see Taitung's main attractions (hot springs, costal scenics, nature)

Transportation wasn't an issue for us since we had relatives taking us around. But i know the hotel can easily arrange taxi or other form of transpiration for its guests. While Taitung is in a remote part of Taiwan, it is a popular tourist destination for its well-known hot-springs, nature, and costal scenes, so there are definitely plenty of taxi and other transportation options. I was told that this hotel is quite popular with Mainland Chinese tour group, but the hotel wasn't too busy during our stay.

There were plenty of local restaurants nearby, including a fancy looking (by Taitung standard) steak house 5 minute away. A Seven-Eleven like (Family Mart?) convenient store is located next door.

The included daily breakfast was surprisingly good with variety of food item (70% Chinese/Taiwanese and 30% Western-style stuff), including a very good fruit/salad bar (Taitung is famous for its tropical/subtropical fruits). My kid loved the free ice cream she could get anytime at two self-service stations. There is also a free midnight snack (Taiwanese noodle), but we didn't try it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Prussak_Space
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Taitung is a relatively pristine part of Taiwan and English-speaking people are difficult to come by. Haven't encountered any other non-Asian during the 36 hours spent in the region. The hotel has regardless a very European feel to it and everything went smoothly. There seems to be no English website, I booked via phone.

The hotel is located in Taitung's central part, a convenience store and a nice restaurant/cafe just outside. All the basic information can be gained in English in print, the staff can be communicated with on the basic level but there were never any misunderstandings at the hotel.

Rooms are alright, the great ocean climate makes A/C redundant, though it works as well. Everything was provided for according to expectations, and the price was just fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mir0K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

After a 8 hour train ride from Taipei, the Hotel Kindness was a sight for sore eyes! The exterior and interior of the hotel are very clean and attractive and the staff was very friendly. For NT$2000 , our room included a "midnight" dinner (2200-0000) with fresh fruit, coffees, teas, noodle bowls and ice cream, and a breakfast in the morning. The guest room was very clean and full of little details that were very pleasing. There is a business center with free internet and a game room with air hockey and free pushbutton espresso machines in various locations in the hotel. If your travels bring you to Taitung, I definitely recommend the Hotel Kindness!

  • Liked — Free Breakfast and Dinner!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank luvavion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taitung County hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
#3 of 87 in Taitung County
411 reviews
9.4 mi away
Chihpen Century Hotel
Chihpen Century Hotel
#2 of 87 in Taitung County
285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn by the Village
Inn by the Village
#4 of 87 in Taitung County
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Trianon
Hotel De Trianon
#15 of 87 in Taitung County
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Formosan Naruwan Inn
Formosan Naruwan Inn
#36 of 87 in Taitung County
59 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Chihpen
Hotel Royal Chihpen
#6 of 87 in Taitung County
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kindness Hotel Taitung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kindness Hotel Taitung

Property: Kindness Hotel Taitung
Address: No.16 Lane 209, Zhongxing Road, Taitung County, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taitung County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taitung County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kindness Hotel Taitung 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kindness Hotel Taitung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kindness Hotel Taitung Taiwan/Taitung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing