We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great facilities, excellent prices, incredible spa, total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Chihpen
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Taitung County
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“great facilities, excellent prices, incredible spa, total relaxation”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

fantastic location, great prices, I'm was in complete shock by ever amount of activities the hotel lined up for us, the service standards were top notch, and the rooms were incredible! never expected something like that for such a reasonable price! I will be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    126
    43
    15
    10
See reviews for
120
78
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel Royal Chihpen is not really a 5-star hotel from European standards. The main reason for staying there is to benefit from the hot bath included in the room charge. Several hot bath options are provided, our preferred one was the Japanese-type outdoor one (onsen).

The location, far away from Zhiben center and uphill, is not very good. But this is not an issue for those having a car.

Check-in was swift, with a front staff perfectly fluent in English and plenty of useful information about our stay. Our room was very spacious, with a private balcony facing the garden and the forest on the rear. It was also very clean. From some aspects such as the spa facilities, it looks dated, but at the same time it seems properly maintained.

The hotel caters for big groups, so do not come there if you are looking for a boutique hotel experience. For breakfast, although the choice is plentiful, the quality is average.

The price we paid seems too much for the services delivered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A wonderful hotel for you and your family to enjoy the hot spring. The hot spring is quite nice and private. Although it is a little bite far from the main street, it has its own advantages. You won't hear the noise from the street! The hotel also arrange some activities every night for visitors. You will never feel bored there.
If you are looking for a hotel to relax yourself, Royal hotel is your best choice!
它可以是家庭式旅館也可以是情侶夫妻的好去處,暫時拋開俗世的紛擾,沉浸在溫泉中,然後回到旅館床上好好睡一覺,疲勞完全消失。晚上還可到活動中心看書、打球,要不也可參加旅館舉辦的活動,保證值回票價!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex7332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel surrounded by greenery and they have complete facilities for relaxation and sport, depends what you are looking for. They have 3 spas (indoor and outdoor) which are make our holiday so relaxing, my boyfriend and I love the one near swimming pool (outdoor). It has complete spa massages and bath with rose, lavender, herbs, green tea etc. The staff was friendly and good service, the breakfast was good as well.This place is really relaxing for both of us and we would highly recommended this hotel and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel surrounded by greenery and they have complete facilities for relaxation and sport, depends what you are looking for. They have 3 spas (indoor and outdoor) which are make our holiday so relaxing, my boyfriend and I love the one near swimming pool (outdoor). It has complete spa massages and bath with rose, lavender, herbs, green tea etc. The staff was friendly and good service, the breakfast was good as well.This place is really relaxing for both of us and we would highly recommended this hotel and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitung County, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is very good Hotel for whole family especially for kids. Good service, Restaurant, Facility and Hot Sprint variety. You can enjoy all facility and relax your body. Indeed, Night Entainment show is awesome with amay tribe dancing, very interactive activity. Breakfast is aslo delicious fully options with esstern and western food, rice , noodle, white roll, soybean milk and all kind of fruit.
台東飯店排行榜冠軍,真的是當之無愧。很多時候,酒店服務人員的體貼入微比起先進的硬體設施來的更重要也更有意義。畢竟,入住這種價位的酒店,各家的硬體設施都不會太差,真正能夠勝出的關鍵,就在於一份體貼房客的心。

Room Tip: no complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 知本
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

There is nothing special about the hotel. It is located up on a side road so it is not easy to walk to, but then the gardens are pretty and feel secluded. The decor is average, I would say a bit tired.
The indoor hot-springs spa was ok. The two other spas were nothing special. The tub with mineral water in our room was a sit-in and not particularly useful.
Breakfast buffet food quality was below average, especially for Taiwan.
The service was good so that was a highlight.
I don't stay in other hotels in Chipen - may be they all are the same level. But compared to other hotels in Taiwan this one is below expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaulke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taitung County hotels
0.8 mi away
Chihpen Century Hotel
Chihpen Century Hotel
#3 of 86 in Taitung County
247 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
#2 of 86 in Taitung County
401 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kindness Hotel Taitung
Kindness Hotel Taitung
#1 of 86 in Taitung County
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA
Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA
#18 of 86 in Taitung County
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dong Tair SPA Hotel
Dong Tair SPA Hotel
#22 of 86 in Taitung County
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#31 of 86 in Taitung County
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Chihpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Chihpen

Property: Hotel Royal Chihpen
Address: No.113-23 Long Chuien Road, Wen Chuien Village, Peinan Hsiang, Taitung County 954, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taitung County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taitung County
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taitung County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Chihpen 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa resort in 7-story building situated in hot springs area on the eastern coast, 20 kms from Taitung Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Chihpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Chihpen Hotel
Hotel Royal Chihpen Taiwan/Taitung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing