We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with full Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Chihpen
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Taitung County
Taitung County, Taiwan
1 review
“Good Hotel with full Facility”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is very good Hotel for whole family especially for kids. Good service, Restaurant, Facility and Hot Sprint variety. You can enjoy all facility and relax your body. Indeed, Night Entainment show is awesome with amay tribe dancing, very interactive activity. Breakfast is aslo delicious fully options with esstern and western food, rice , noodle, white roll, soybean milk and all kind of fruit.
台東飯店排行榜冠軍,真的是當之無愧。很多時候,酒店服務人員的體貼入微比起先進的硬體設施來的更重要也更有意義。畢竟,入住這種價位的酒店,各家的硬體設施都不會太差,真正能夠勝出的關鍵,就在於一份體貼房客的心。

Room Tip: no complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 知本
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    127
    44
    17
    10
See reviews for
124
79
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

There is nothing special about the hotel. It is located up on a side road so it is not easy to walk to, but then the gardens are pretty and feel secluded. The decor is average, I would say a bit tired.
The indoor hot-springs spa was ok. The two other spas were nothing special. The tub with mineral water in our room was a sit-in and not particularly useful.
Breakfast buffet food quality was below average, especially for Taiwan.
The service was good so that was a highlight.
I don't stay in other hotels in Chipen - may be they all are the same level. But compared to other hotels in Taiwan this one is below expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaulke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great place for outdoor hot spring, lovely food and very friendly staff.
A lot of entertainment -> Aboriginal dance at night, recreation center, KTV room, archery range, putting green

Best staying more than 2 nights to enjoy the facility and RELAX!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGaNaN-小安仔
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We had initially booked their 3 days/2 nights service, but just had to extend 1 more night since no one wanted to leave.
Service was excellent! Despite full occupancy (they had trouble finding a room for our additional stay) with mainly Taiwan families, their staff went out of their way to make sure we're taken care of, including changing our train tickets for us and taking us to a local pharmacy to buy personal needs.
Room was clean and spacious with beautiful view of green mountains. We made the mistake of visiting a world class hot spring spa just prior to this resort, and therefore didn't think much of their 3 spas. We love the buffet here though. Considering the free buffets and vouchers for free or discounted excursions/ spa services, the price is very reasonable.
Our kids enrolled in their summer camps for one day which included activities such as zip-lining, rock climbing, and 3 meals at the buffet restaurant for a great price, while the adults signed up for parasailing nearby (unfortunately it was cancelled due to typhoon warning). Nevertheless, hubby and I enjoyed our relaxing day getting our massages, hanging out at the coffee shop and strolling at nearby forest trail.
We'd definitely come back again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGoMiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed one night in the Royal Chihpen to experience the hot springs of the area. The hotel is situated in a very beautiful, somewhat remote, area. It looked to me that the hotel/resort is mainly popular huge flocks Chinese tourists from the mainland. Staff is friendly but speaks only little English.
The rooms are very big, comfortable and come with a private balcony to enjoy the mountain view. It also contains your own private hot pool.
The outdoor spa, separated for men & women, consists of a whirlpool and a hot pool. Although the hotel was pretty full, we were the only guests when we made use of it (around 6pm in the evening). Further, the Spa Paradise offers different types of whirlpool and hot tubs with a temperature range from 'enjoyable' to 'unbearably hot', a steam room and a heated outdoor pool. Also here, almost no other hotel guests were making use of it.
As the place is quite remote, we decided to eat in their buffet style restaurant. It's advisable to go as early as possible if you want to have some choice. Once the busloads of Chinese arrive, the place gets very busy. Quality of the food is reasonable.
There seems to be an aboriginal show in the evening but you don't miss a thing if you decide to do something else.
In summary, even as the resort seems to be popular with large groups of tourists, it's a nice hotel to experience the hot springs in the south of Taiwan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is located a bit away from the other hotels in a quiet corner surrounded by hills and a temple. The check-in was well arranged and the room spacious, with the bathroom having its own spa bathtub. Although the rooms appear to have been renovated in the not too distant past, the room balcony, main areas and hotel outside give a bit of a dated feel. Or maybe it is just the choice of furniture which looks a bit cheap. The same counts for the outdoor swimming and spa area, it’s okay but a major upgrade could do this hotel good. The biggest let down was the service in the lobby lounge and the quality of the buffet dinner. Before dinner we ordered a beer and a simple cocktail, which took half an hour to get, even though being the only guests in the lobby lounge when we arrived. Although we normally avoid buffet style dinners, the only alternative was a teppanyaki dinner, which had a minimum spent and was just not what we wanted that night. The buffet dinner was of average quality in terms of taste / quality of food, but more disappointing all hot dishes were cold or at best luke warm. The breakfast buffet next morning was not much better, the taste of most items was just average and it could be so much better with a bit more effort. Still we enjoyed our stay, the evening entertainment was good with a local Hakka performance and we had a comfortable night of sleep. We would stay here again if visiting Taitung, but probably more because of lack of good alternatives then because of the quality offered for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earlybirdNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited this place as part of an arranged stay with the package tour I was traveling with. The tour guide warned us that one night stay is not enough, and the next day we will be asking him to extend our stay. Depending on your preference, you might find this quite true.
This hotel is located at the end of the street up on the hill. It is more like a resort than a stand-alone hotel. My personal favourite is the Japanese-style onsen hotspring bath, although a little sheltered and unable to see the stars at night, but I had the entire place to myself when the Aboriginal Dance performance was on, so no complaints.
Room-wise, it is spacious with all basic amenities. Also a wooden bath tub in the bathroom where one (or two, or a family of three!) can fill it - unsure if it is truly water from the hotspring - and enjoy in the comfort of the room. And depending on the location of the room, you can watch the Aborginal Dance performance from the balcony.
Breakfast-wise, decent selection to fill one up for the day. If you are staying on a free-and-easy basis, you might want to go later when the tour groups have left for the day.
There might be other local activities available but I did not get the time to explore. Hence, a return trip is

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtgn_ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taitung County hotels
0.8 mi away
Chihpen Century Hotel
Chihpen Century Hotel
#2 of 88 in Taitung County
300 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
#3 of 88 in Taitung County
412 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kindness Hotel Taitung
Kindness Hotel Taitung
#1 of 88 in Taitung County
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA
Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA
#18 of 88 in Taitung County
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#32 of 88 in Taitung County
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dong Tair SPA Hotel
Dong Tair SPA Hotel
#23 of 88 in Taitung County
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Chihpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Chihpen

Property: Hotel Royal Chihpen
Address: No.113-23 Long Chuien Road, Wen Chuien Village, Peinan Hsiang, Taitung County 954, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taitung County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taitung County
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taitung County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Chihpen 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa resort in 7-story building situated in hot springs area on the eastern coast, 20 kms from Taitung Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Chihpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Chihpen Hotel
Hotel Royal Chihpen Taiwan/Taitung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing