We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Beautiful Place in the World”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Ranked #4 of 127 Hotels in Nantou County
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful Place in the World”
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Our trip to Taipei was an beautiful adventure....but our stay at The Lalu was the height of our vacation! If there was a Six-Star Hotel, The Lalu would have my vote! The service from the moment you arrived was perfection. We were served the most delicious Lemon Tea and cool towels, so soothing on a hot day all while sitting in the "Frank Lloyd Wright" style lobby. The Mirror Pool looked like marble but it was water with floating lotus. Our room was all beautiful polished wood decorated simplistically with moth orchids. Green glass separated the toilet and the shower, and to our amazement, sliding pocket doors stratigically placed for privacy. Our balcony and a square sofa with rolled pillows and the view of Sun Moon Lake (from any room) was spectacular. The tiers of mountain ranges farther than the eye could see and the turquoise water, breathtaking views. The Lalu was calming, tranquil, simplistic.
The spa facilities were exceptional, hot/cold whirlpools made of black stone, steam rooms, saunas, and my massage therapist, the best I've ever had and of course, all this looking out over the lake. The infinity pool awesome and the teahouse a Chinese tradition. The gift shop sold many fine items and the tea tasting was done in the Chinese tradition.
Although we did not have time to enjoy the many trails, our package did take us to Chiany Kai-shek Mother's Pagoda, very impressive and to the most beautiful temple.
Buffet breakfast was more than we could imagine on a buffet and everything was delicious.
Spend as much time as you can at The Lalu, you will be rejuvenated!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rtsy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    90
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
125
137
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Beautiful scenery, staff polite but the overall rating is certainly not 5 star. This Hotel in its time would have been world class but the lack of maintenance has raised its head & the whole place needs revamping badly. I was really disappointed after seeing it advertised on Getaway.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LOMAAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

If you ask anyone in Taiwan the best place to stay in Sun Moon Lake, they will answer Lalu. I can imgaine that Lalu at one time was perfect but it seems the management has not kept up the rooms. The rooms are well designed and have a modern feel which I liked. However, upon closer inspection, I found mold in the showers and items that seemed to be a bit run down. If only they invested a bit in each room to keep it fresh looking. It is what I'd expect especially for the high price tag. Having said all that, I'd probably go back - while the rooms could use some detailed attention, they were comfortable. We had an incredible view of the lake which I doubt any other place can match. There are spots in the hotel that are incredibly relaxing (e.g. the library, outdoor seating, etc.).

While the rooms could use improvement, I have to admit the management does upkeep the hotel grounds VERY well. Flowers were in bloom and the everything outside the room was perfect and immaculate. So, I do wonder why isn't the same kind of attention given to the rooms? The 60m heated pool was wonderful. My kids loved swimming there each day while I sat there admiring the view and relaxing (this is what you do at Lalu).

The staff at Lalu were very helpful and gracious. it was my wife's birthday and they were incredibly helpful in organising a birthday cake on the house. It was a very nice touch. They also were nice to our kids and made them feel welcome even though Lalu is really focused on adults (there aren't many kids around). So, I give the service 4/5 stars (less 1 star due to the rooms).

FInally, the food at Lalu is good. The buffet was quite nice - high quality food and all prepared the way I like it (fresh, etc.). The Chinese restaurant was above average but not oustanding. A bit expensive. The Japanese restaurant actually was dissappointing - I expected more. The quality and taste were average at best while the prices were of course well above average (expensive).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmericaninNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

ok, I've read a few travelers complain about the bed sheets at the Lalu. but i DID NOT expect it to hurt my skin!!! to start from the begining:
The lalu is set in probably the best part of sun moon lake (a peninsula). The hotel is beautifully designed with great view of the lake. Its high on a hill so the hotel looks down almost in the middle of the lake. The lake is busy most of the day with tour boats circling the lake from 8AM until around 5pm. So the best time to see the lake is around early morning before all the hussle and bussle.
We drove a car and the reception and the bell boys were friendly and helpful. Our luggages to our room swiftly and gave us a fast enough check-in at around 2:30 (check-in time 3:00pm) Everything was fine and dandy until we arrived in our lake-view suite. When we got to our room (building B 3rd floor) it looked ok. We were on the 3rd floor so the lake view was a bit covered by foliage but still had good view. and then comes the strange part. As the reception personell was introducing the room, the post card wasn't in place + slippers wasn't in place. After that i took my girl to the bathroom and the toilet stinked of dried pee. We went swimming later and there was no pool side menu to order from and only gave us two glasses of warm water! (we wanted to order cocktail). After the swim we ordered room service which was fast and tasted fine. And after dinner when i tried to find some teabags, there were none!! But the big problem was when we tried to sleep, we found out the bed sheets (like some of the previous travelers have stated) were very coarse. They weren't bed sheet. they felt more like table clothes! I actually compared the room service table clothes to our bed sheets and table clothes were even softer!! So of course we didn't sleep very well.
Next morning, when my daughter woke up, her face was all swollen from allergy. And then under the bright morning sun light, I saw dust all over under the bed!!! So after breakfast (which was ok, like other good hotels) we checked out very quickly. Didn't have a good experience and will not come back again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

An excellent hotel. Amazing view over a stunning lake; too bad Taiwan is so far from here. I would go to heal myself again.
www.thelalu.com.tw/en/menu_e.htm

Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovenfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Loved...
- the gorgeous views from the balcony, visible from the bedroom & lounge area too. Well worth waking up early to catch the sunrise.
- the spacious room with bedroom and lounge & dining area separated by a TV console with revolving TV set (v considerate!).
- thoughtfulness of staff who spotted my birthdate from my passport and showered me with birthday wishes and a cake on the house.
- top notch chinese restaurant - apart from suggesting dishes from the menu, staff recommended to try a rare (to me at least) vegetable found on the compound, how cool is that? tasted really good too. Overall food quality was delicate and tasty without being overpowered by spices.
- nice breakfast buffet spread that includes organic vegetables and lots of fruits.
- easy access to the lake trails and boat tours (hotel had its own jetty).

Not so great...
- really coarse bed linens as mentioned in some of the earlier reviews. Hope the management has done something about it?
- we took a red eye flight to Taipei followed by 2.5 hr commute to Lalu. Was hoping for an early check-in but was kept waiting till well after 2pm. We saw a tour group and other guests who came after us being checked in first. That was kind of frustrating, given that we were exhausted.

All in all, I wd go back to Lalu again. It was such a restful stay and I felt very much rejuvenated.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

First impressions of the hotel - it was impressive, modern construction with a sleek look and has an excellent views of Sun Moon Lake, arguably the best of all the lake-side hotels. Further inspection led to disappointments...

The entrance looks very chic with it's wooden beams/columns. The bird cages hanging outside is such a nice touch, especially as they have beautiful birds. Unfortunately the welcoming at the reception was cold (worst service among all hotel staff) and unpleasant. We arrived at noon in the scorching sun hoping to be swiftly escorted to our room to freshen up. But we were told check-in is at 3pm (so late?!?) and we would have to hang around the hotel for 3 hours. They did not offer us another room or facility to change/shower until our room was prepared. So what do you expect your guests to do, sweating it out in the lobby (there is air-con but since there are many doors which are left open, so it's quite warm and swarming with mosquitoes)?!? We arrived on Tuesday, so I highly doubt the hotel was fully booked the previous night and there were absolutely no rooms which wasn't yet prepared.

After much discussion with the reception, they finally manage to find a room for us at 2pm. The room is quite nicely decorated with suitable sized flat screen TV and open style bathroom with sliding partitions to provide some form of privacy. Upon further inspection, you will find the room has not be thoroughly cleaned and there are dust bunnies in the corners. The shower unit has a wonderful water pressure and rain bath but the grout between the tiles are greyish instead of it's original white (mold / lack of proper cleaning?!?). If you plan to take a long shower, be careful the water will flood into the toilet area. Also, as the shower and toilet share the same sliding glass door, if someone is using the shower, the other person will have to be comfortable going to the toilet without the door being fully closed. Clearly the design is for intimate couples!

The balcony offers a great view of the swimming pool below and the lake itself. But remember to close the door promptly if you go outside as the property/area is infested with mosquitos. This is mountainous / lake area, so be warned of insects! Highly recommend long pants and insect repellent!

The sheets are just out-of-this-world. No, not luxuriously soft and 600 thread-count type, but linen sheets that feels like sandpaper! Oh my god! For such an expensive hotel, you would expect decent sheets! No, sleeping in them feels like their spa giving you a free body scrub! Ouch!

Turn-down service by housekeeping staff was very nice. They offered us an extra blanket in case we feel cold at night (it does get a little chilly in the evenings up in this area) and lighted candles which also helped to keep the mosquitoes away. Actually, the service of all the hotel staff (apart from reception) was very friendly and helpful.

The most attractive and best point about this hotel - the infinity pool! It's sooooooo long, the view is gorgeous, it's pretty much perfect! Definitely pack your swimming gear because even if you are not a swimmer, you will be tempted to try out the water! It opens at 7am and there will definitely be people taking a morning dip. Lovely spot for taking photos, especially during sunset.

We had a dim sum lunch at their tea house, which was nothing to shout about, The dim sum was only average quality although the prices were very reasonable considering it's a hotel restaurant. Dinner at the Chinese restaurant was much better and the food was lightly seasoned using very fresh ingredients. Again, the service quality of the waiters was excellent, catering to your every request. On the dinner menu, it states minimum spending per person is TWD 1,000 (approx USD 30) which was a bit odd considering the relatively low prices of most of their dishes. But the waiter clarified that as long as you are a hotel guest, there is no minimum spending per guest.

Breakfast was standard fare, a good variety of breakfast items, both Asian and Western style. A selection of fresh juices in small glasses were nice as then you could try a couple of different flavours. One point to note, it's quite bright for the tables by the windows, so I do suggest sitting further inside the restaurant unless you want to squint (or be very cool and wear sunglasses indoors) at your breakfast companions. Also, as mentioned before, we stayed during a weekday, but the breakfast restaurant was quite full already during 9am. Therefore during weekends/high season you might have to go a bit earlier for breakfast to avoid queues/crowds.

All-in-all, it's the "best" hotel at Sun Moon Lake area (the nearest competitor is Fleur de Chine Hotel - which we visited and it was a very generic hotel, no distinguishing points and catering mostly towards families with young children). Lalu looks fantastic in the photos but there are too many flaws to make it worth the money. It's a very couples orientated hotel. If you want to stay overnight at Sun Moon Lake and can afford the crazy prices they charge (booking via travel agent would probably be cheaper than booking via the hotel directly), then it's worth considering if you don't mind all my above mentioned flaws.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
1.1 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.1 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 127 in Nantou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#8 of 127 in Nantou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#11 of 127 in Nantou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
14.1 mi away
Shante Hotel Chitou
Shante Hotel Chitou
#3 of 127 in Nantou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalu Sun Moon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Property: The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Address: No.142 Jungshing Road, Yuchr Shiang Nantou, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalu Sun Moon Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalu Sun Moon Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing