We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fall asleep...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Ranked #4 of 127 Hotels in Nantou County
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't fall asleep...”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you ask me, I would say, "What a disaster!"  We stayed in the pool villa.  My next-door guests had a party that started at 10 pm, and we'd been waiting until midnight for the hotel staff to deal with it, which took them 30 minutes, but after annoying sound, it was loud embarrassing sound.  You think it was the end, no!  A machine in the bathroom was out of order and keeping making an irritating noise. There were scooters and cars moving every five minutes coz our room was right next to the driveway!  Beautiful scenery but no sound insulation, not to mention the not so good food they provide.  I just need a quiet room to sleep.  Is this too much to ask??

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliacarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    91
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
128
138
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Entering into a serene lobby and overlooking the magnificent lake was confirmation I had made the correct choice. The service throughout the hotel is excellent. The rooms beautiful, Ah yes, the lake! The view from our balcony encompassed the infinity pool, gorgeous lake, and beautiful mountains. Modern with an Asian sensibility makes The Lalu a true gem .

Room Tip: 1507 is amazing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pricekarla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We travel a fair bit so have stayed in a good number of hotels. The Lalu was special and is one hotel that we will never forget. The view from our bedroom was beautiful and I particularly enjoyed seeing how changes in the light were reflected in the scene before us. The mountains make a lovely backdrop to the lake. Another reason we particularly enjoyed our stay was the outstanding service. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. When we asked how to arrange a boat trip on the lake, they immediately offered a driver and car to take us down to the pier. The hotel is very nicely furnished and maintained and somehow exudes an ambience of rest and relaxation. Visit and you will see what I mean. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the omelettes were delicious. My only criticism is the espresso coffee that I had one night in the lounge/bar area was very bitter. Apart from that though our stay was perfect and I would gladly return. Two nights was not enough! There is plenty to do and see in the area. Also we thought the spa was lovely and the prices very reasonable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Go, but be prepared for some imperfections. First impressions are fab as the view is the first thing you see and probably the biggest attraction of the hotel. The second thing that you see are the stained carpets in the lobby, when they sit you down for the welcome drink. Then there's the worn wood and broken umbrella stands. The frustrating thing is that there are easy and inexpensive ways to make improvements e.g. just switch the location of the most damaged items. You have to ignore it all, because once you do this is a really lovely place to stay. The room is beautifully designed and a very nice space to be in. The massage and scrub treatment in the spa was excellent. Breakfast also good, nice to eat al fresco on the terrace. Dinner in the western restaurant best avoided...just a single pecan in my salad, strange pesto and dessert was frozen in the middle. The hotel has a special charm; I really enjoyed my two night stay. You can hire bikes from the hotel and there's a nice cycle path along one side of the lake, takes about 90 mins. I thoroughly enjoyed staying here and felt relaxed and refreshed when I left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We just stayed for one night, which is a pitty... there would be so many tours you could do around Sun Moon Lake.
The rooms are huge and very beautiful, the staff very guest service minded and caring. We were there during the week, and not many other guests were there. So all the spacious buildings almost alone for us... Visit the tea-house, it's very beautiful.
We had dinner at the wonderful Japanese restaurant. Great food, great service.
The spa is HUGE and has separate changing/sauna/shower/steambath/whirlpool areas for men and women. We had a very good massage in big, airy rooms with view on the lake.
Even though the hotel seems to be a bit coming to age, it's still highly recommended for a romantic stay at the Sun Moon Lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlette004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I decided to splurge for a night and stay at The Lalu while visiting Sun Moon Lake in Taiwan.

All of the rooms in The Lalu offer the best views of the lake as they are all built on one side of the building. Every room has a spacious outdoor balcony with a day bed where you can enjoy an afternoon nap or read a book as well as a small table where you can drink tea or enjoy room service. You'll want to make use of the bath tub in the middle of the room and listen to some relaxing music on the Bose sound system! Room service came and entered our room before sunset to tidy up a bit, draw the blinds, and light some mosquito repelling coils allowing us to sleep peacefully that night.

Do take full advantage of all of the amenities while you are here (you are paying for it after-all). We had arrived several hours before check-in time and were given full access to the facilities. The infinity pool offers the same great view of the lake that you will also get from many of the restaurants. The full-body massages at the spa are worthwhile—look for a special rate including afternoon tea. The restaurants in the hotel are much better than the restaurants in the nearby towns without costing much more. The Chinese restaurants were quite delicious and there are also Western offerings as well. There is a walkway by the pool that goes down to the lake and has a path that is just a 10 minute stroll to the nearby town where you can take a boat to all of the other towns worth visiting by the lake.

Warning: There are lots of mosquitos in Sun Moon Lake, especially in the evening. Bring mosquito repellant and wear it whenever you go out!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Everything about this place is awesome. Immediately upon arrival you are greeted, given all the details you ned and shown to the room, where they even go over whats in the room. The views from the rooms are sectacular, and from the upper level, over the reflecting pols are even better. Expect even more tomorrow when the sun rises, so have settche alarm to ensure we dont miss it.

Room Tip: Higher floor numbers have better views, surprise... If you get room 1210 for example, that is floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyb999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
1.1 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.1 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 127 in Nantou County
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#10 of 127 in Nantou County
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#11 of 127 in Nantou County
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
#12 of 127 in Nantou County
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalu Sun Moon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Property: The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Address: No.142 Jungshing Road, Yuchr Shiang Nantou, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalu Sun Moon Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalu Sun Moon Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing