We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Nantou County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

cant really fault the hotel or the staff.The breakfasts are also good.However we were there for 3 nights and ate in the "fusion western"restaurant on the first night.you can watch the chefs prepare the food which looks good but simply is very bland,good ingredients but the saucing was tasteless both on mine and my partners food.a shame!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 441 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

The design of this hotel is classic simplicity. It is the backdrop to a fantastic view over the lake, to my surprise more restful and impressive than the West Lake in Hangzhou. The rooms are large, with a great deal of mature wood. Relaxing in the room looking over the lake is a real pleasure. The pool is very long, and service beside it impeccable. Breakfast buffet excellent, particularly sitting outside in the crisp new year weather. Some floors are a little stained and old, but who cares when the hotel is such a wonder of good service, location and atmosphere?

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Oriental88traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The room has a stunning view overlooking Sun Moon Lake. The decor of the room is nice but tired. The service of the staff is good, just like what you would usually get in Taiwan. Food at the restaurant is tasty but forgettable.

Room Tip: All rooms hv a great view of the Sun Moon Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I love this hotel - because it is not an ordinary luxury hotel. The Lalu has incredible architecture and details in the design. If you don't appreciate architectural design in a big way, don't bother. You will have to sacrifice customary things such as bright lighting and nice carpeting and "like new" finishes. Yes, it's old and I am disappointed that it hasn't been maintained, that various things are showing their age. If you need everything to be shiny and new, this is not for you. The Lalu is about a quiet, contemplative space where you can really enjoy nature - from the walls/windows that can slide completely open to the large expanses of glass to provide views of the lake and mountains beyond.

Yes, all the floors and walls and ceiling are wood - unusual for this climate - so they show wear and tear. But your tactile senses will love it. When was the last time you wanted to caress a wall?

This is not a hotel full of tour groups and travel packages. It is meant to be exclusive and private. There are not a plethora of dining options. This is a great place to spend intimate time with love ones, without distractions of tourists.

Unfortunately, you can hear all those boats and their loudspeakers blaring. Still, you can walk into the nearby village and hike along trails.

There are also private villas with their own garden and pool - but I actually prefer the normal suite with their large balconies facing the lake. To me, this is a great hotel with elegant design - not one for those who want to rush around to sightsee and do the tourist things. It's more like a retreat.

Yes, The Lalu is an expensive hotel - but don't let that fool you into thinking it's a place to show off your wealth - it's not flashy and won't impress people who need to be impressed. It's subtle, elegant, modern design meant to allow you to enjoy the beautiful lake - whether from you room or from the infinity pool or the tea houses floating above a koi pond.

Room Tip: Some rooms have larger balconies with large sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a really good hotel with gorgeous view.The room is big and comfortable, with a large living area and a bathroom. The best part of the hotel--It's view of the Sun Moon Lake. Every suite's view is good. Simple indoor decor-it makes people feel relax. One of the best in hotel in TW!!

Room Tip: Higher floor--better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terencehuangtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent a night at The Lalu for our wedding anniversary. Hotel has got real breathtaking view of the lake and staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. We do not feel the need to get out of our room with the magnificent view and spent the day lazing in the room, enjoying the view. Thumbs up! If opportunity rises, we will definitely visit The Lalu again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ameldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The view is beathtaking and the service was impeccable. However, dining choice is limited and there isn't much to do but relax in your room or around the property. The infinity pool is a must [visit]!!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank jkk918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
1.1 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.1 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 134 in Nantou County
1,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#11 of 134 in Nantou County
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#9 of 134 in Nantou County
213 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon La...
#10 of 134 in Nantou County
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
#8 of 134 in Nantou County
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalu Sun Moon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Address: No.142 Jungshing Road, Yuchr Shiang Nantou, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range: $469 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalu Sun Moon Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lalu Sun Moon Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing