We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Ranked #4 of 127 Hotels in Nantou County
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply Heavenly”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel may not be the newest in Sun Moon Lake, but it is the most beautiful. We had to book a suite with adjoining room for our family of 4. So our stay was quite expensive. But the views and the beautiful and spacious rooms more than make up for it. There was a message special for hotel guests that I booked with ease which was one of the best treatments I got. We would just sit in the room or on the balcony or sit by the pool and stare out into the lake. It was so serene and surreal, away from all the noises and the hustle and bustle created by all the tourists. The service was excellent, especially at the pool. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, and we lingered quite a long time to enjoy the food and the view. We definitely will stay here again when we visit Sun Moon Lake.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STJHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    91
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
128
138
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My friends from Taiwan told me everyone wants to stay in this hotel whenever they visit Sun Moon Lake. Just finished staying there for five nights and having been to Fleur De Chine (few years ago before they changed the name), I would recommend Fleur De Chine if you want a more modern hotel. Lalu has bigger room, has an interesting history, but I think overpriced.

You should ask to stay in the building not directly above the ferry terminal as the crowd can be noisy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milmil888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Recently stayed at this so called 5 star hotel for a friends 40th birthday. although the facility is nice looking and the views are good you would be better going to a 3 star hotel in the same area for a week rather than this place for 1 day. Upon arrival the staff took the credit card to secure a deposit and for some reason also took it upon themselves to take the fee off the card which is not international protocol even if you're a 1 star welfare hotel. The staff tried to assure us that no money had been charged to the card even though they had already tried to complete the transaction. I had to make several phone calls international to my bank and again to the hotel after our stay to clear up the mess. It took a week to get a response from the hotel after I have voiced my dissatisfaction and they only responded when I got a chinese speaking friend to help me deal with it. in the end they offered very weak apology and a complimentary upgrade on my next stay. after this kind of treatment there will never never never be a next stay. they want to call them selves an international 5 star hotel but they are a long way off. If you do decide to stay at the hotel if anything goes wrong just make sure you know all you will get is a polite middle finger. It might be okay for people that are fluent in chinese but when they say the staff is fluent ....not even close...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slappy19744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Nice location and beautiful view of the lake. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable,

The dinner at the hotel restaurants is okay, afternoon tea is better.

while in the area, I would recommend checking out the degustation dinner at Crystal Resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webkamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Fabulous hotel. Stayed 1 night as part of a tour. Perfect stay in every way. Very friendly and helpfull staff, nice view over the lake. Very tasty dinner served and great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel was amazing - the room could not have been nicer and the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. They speak English, Mandarin and Taiwanese. The spa was quite nice and overlooks the lake. It had a cold pool, a hot pool and two types of steam rooms. The food at the Chinese and Western restaurants was excellent, breakfast in particular. My only improvement suggestions are that the gym could be more extensively appointed and that it could use a Wifi connection. But, those are minor. You won't be disappointed if you stay here - we loved it!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are the largest and have extended balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sffil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer! Felt very pampered in this hotel. The room was beautifully designed with a relaxing balcony and beautiful view of the lake. The room is spacious and tastefully decorated and we had the most peaceful sleep here. Loved the touch with the fresh orchids! The breakfast was fantastic with a huge choice of foods. We also had dinner in the Chinese restaurant which was delicious and we felt not too expensive. Loved the touch of fresh hot facecloth, delicious tea and almonds on arrival which made up for the slow check-in. The service is superb and standards are very high throughout. We did use the outdoor pool which was refreshing on a cool morning. The hotel is expensive but definitely worth it for a special occasion. The location is also good and only a short walk into the nearby town so plenty of choice to eat out if you prefer. We found the staff delightful and very efficient. Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGWGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
1.1 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.1 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 127 in Nantou County
779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#10 of 127 in Nantou County
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#11 of 127 in Nantou County
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
#12 of 127 in Nantou County
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalu Sun Moon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Property: The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Address: No.142 Jungshing Road, Yuchr Shiang Nantou, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalu Sun Moon Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalu Sun Moon Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing