We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest Inn, but Kind People”
Review of Tan Hsiang Yu B&B

Tan Hsiang Yu B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tan Hsiang Yu B&B
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This small guesthouse is located around 300 meters from Ita Thao Pier on Sun-Moon Lake in Yuchih district within walking distance from the Cable Car (ropeway) going up to NARUWAN Formosan Aboriginal Culture Village, the main attraction of this area. The rooms are decorated in Chinese style. As there is no elevator in the building, you have to climb a few stairs. The owners, a lovely couple with very little English knowledge, will give you a warm welcome offering you excellent tea from their own plantation. They also offered us to take us to the station of the Ropeway and to the boat station by Mercedes limousine. The breakfast is typically Chinese, but they will go out of their way to offer you fried eggs with toast. You feel almost like in a family.

Room Tip: Should you wish to have a room with a view to the lake side, you may have to pay an additional NT$70...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marc_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
There are newer reviews for Tan Hsiang Yu B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

I went there with a friend and stayed over for one night from 19th Sept to 20th Sept. The owners seemed really friendly. The lady boss told us that we could have just given them a call and she would send a car to fetch us from the visitor centre, which we thought was really nice.

This hotel could be a little difficult to get to if you didn't do enough homework beforehand. After we have alighted from the Shuishe Visitor Centre, we took a ferry across to Ita Chao Visitor Centre since we didn't want to spend too much time on transport as we were running behind our schedule. If you are not in a hurry, perhaps you can take the bus which I do not think would take you too long as well. However, there is a tour guide introducing the different parts of Sun Moon Lake to you if you choose to take the ferry.

Since this is a B&B, we thought we have to bring many amenities on our own, however the hotel did provide us with all the basic amenities hotels provide. There is a TV as well as free wifi.

The lady boss also spent some time sharing with us what are some of the things we could do on the island. When she heard that we wanted to go cycling, she introduced her friend's shop to us and told us not to accept the offer if he charges us beyond a certain amount. She also gave us bananas she has grown herself. Really friendly and sincere person.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Annaeric63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 住較高的樓層可看到日月潭
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 竣銘 張
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 3, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
0.7 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
1.7 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.7 mi away
Lealea Garden Hotels-Sun Moon Lake-Moon
Lealea Garden Hotels-Sun Moon La...
#27 of 128 in Nantou County
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#11 of 128 in Nantou County
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
#7 of 128 in Nantou County
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cherry Feast Resort (B&B)
Cherry Feast Resort (B&B)
#24 of 128 in Nantou County
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Hsiang Yu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hsiang Yu B&B

Address: No.233 Zhongzheng Road, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Nantou County
Price Range: $61 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Tan Hsiang Yu B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing