We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is awesome!”
Review of Ming Ging Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ming Ging Farm
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Nantou County
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“This hotel is awesome!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is awesome! Even though it may not be centrally located but the hotel offers shuttle service that brings you to 小瑞士花园 area where mos burger, 711 and the rest of the Cingjing's attraction are at.

Ming Gin hotel staffs are polite and friendly. My friends and I reach the hotel at 2pm and understood from the hotel staff that the show at 青青草原 starts at 230pm. Instead of sending us to the usual free shuttle drop off point, the driver from the hotel was kind enough to send us to 青青草原 entrance without any charges.

We booked hotel room 2205 for 4 pax and is extremely delighted when we check in. The room looks exactly like what it was featured on their website, is clean and well furnished. We totally love the room to bits! The beds are comfortable, TV has many programs, wifi connection is good, balcony good enough for us to chill, room and toilet spacious enough.

I have search through tripadvisor and have had many friends recommendation. But I am very glad that I chose Ming Gin as it is the best! Ive seen pictures of other Mingsu and dont think they will match Ming Gin's standard. The breakfast spread at Ming Gin is also good enough and satisfying.

Would definitely come back if I am to visit CingJing again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasmine6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
27
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here for a night at Block D because of I wanted a room with L shaped windows overlooking the lake and mountains.

Very nice and clean whitish room. Transportation to main lobby via shuttle bus as Block A's restaurant is situated at a higher level and climbing up the slope is a big challenge.

The surrounding garden and farmland could be better maintained but overall a good experience if you want great views just outside your windows.

You will find mainly Hong Kong citizens who tend to speak louder than many others. In fact, the owner even hired a Cantonese speaking receptionist to serve the Hong Kongers.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at Block A which is on the highest level of the slope and you can get the best view. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S'pore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Ming Ging Farm. I booked the room 3300 at Block C which is for 8 pax. It is at level 3 & we have the whole level to ourselves. The room looked exactly as what was posted in their website. There are 2 individual bedrooms (queen size bed) with toilets and 2 queen size mattress at the big spacious living area. So, the 4 adults took up the 2 bedrooms while the 3 girls slept at the living area. Rooms & toilets are clean. For both nights, we ate instant noodles & some food which we bought from the nearby Family Mart. It was so cold when we were there & luckily there was heater system in their rooms. Breakfast was good & fresh. We love the porridge & their fresh vegetables & fruits. They do have western style breakfast like french toast, pancake, waffles, hashbrown, sausages, etc. The staffs were friendly enough. Only disadvantage is the place is abit out of the way and my aged parents have some difficulties climbing up their stairs & walking up the slope. But overall, we love staying here. It was a great experience for us & the place is really very beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thhoon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were glad we managed to book this minsu as we have only planned for this trip just a week ago. Response was fast and prompt via email but not exactly very helpful.

We were asked to wait at the Information Centre(Starbucks) till 3 pm thou we arrived at 11.30am. We were fine with that because we didn't make any prior arrangement with them. However, they didn't turn up and only after we have made a call to remind them, then did they send a grumpy driver to pick us up 30 mins later. Apparently they have forgotten about us. The driver did not speak a single word throughout the journey to the minsu. The check in service was efficient but don't expect the usual friendly service like those in Taipei. And they didn't bother to explain why they didn't pick us up. They also didn't offer to provide any information.

The room itself was big, bright, clean and rather pretty thou a tad too far from the main building. They do offer shutter service in between buildings but you have to ask. This minsu is also rather far from others amenities.

With so many other choices of minsu in Cingjing, we most probably won't recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharleneKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

High up in the mountain above a sea of clouds, and that was how we were greeted in the early hours when the sun rose. It was beautiful!

The website of Ming Ging Farm has beautiful pictures of their rooms with interactive Adobe (Macromedia) flash interface. I chose room 1207 which is the corner that has a bathroom with a large window overlooking the lake and valley. Indeed, it was an amazing view from the bathroom.

The room looks old although clean. There's a wooden TV console with a drawer that keeps opening by itself. Sounds eerie doesn't it? Ha! Afraid not. That's due to the unbalancing of the console, and the handle adds an extra weight on the front side of the drawer. When you walk near the console, the wooden flooring dips a little due to your body weight and unbalances the console further, resulting the drawer to slide out.

The bed is comfy and keeps you warm. There's a centralized heater that turns on at 10pm each night and off when the sun rises. It was very cold when we were there in late November and the heater helps, keeping us warm throughout the night.

There were some annoying encounters during our 2 night-stay. Let me list them for you to decide if they are annoying.

(1) Buzzing.
There is almost always a constant buzz every minute or so. The type of buzz that your mobile phone makes on vibration mode. The buzzing was soft but quite annoying and we had no clue where it came from.

(2) Noise.
The house keeping storage room is right next to our room, and if you intend to be lazy and wake up late, I doubt you can with noises from the hotel staffs moving and arranging things. Well, they do housekeeping pretty early.

(3) Music.
The restaurant is situated on the ground floor with an outdoor area. They play music throughout the day until late at night. This can be quite annoying because you can hear them with the balcony door shut and curtains drawn.

(4) Curtain.
The white curtains are not exactly useful in the morning. They do block off the direct sunlight but the room will be brightly lit nonetheless. So say bye bye to your beauty sleep if you intend to wake up late. Unless, you can sleep with bright lights.

(5) Drips.
It could be due to mists or light rain, but you can clearly hear dripping sound. Water dripped onto a hard surface in the middle of the night. I tried to investigate but could not find the source. I thought it came from near the balcony door. I'm sure it was around there but I cannot pin point exactly where and neither did I see the drips. The dripping sound stopped after an hour or so as the mists cleared and I could go back to sleep peacefully.

(6) Dinner.
This is not annoying but ridiculous. Apparently, we have to make reservation with the reception for dinner. We were not informed when we arrived at the hotel. It was the waiter who asked us if we had made reservation when we went to the restaurant at 7pm, then we realized that we have to. We got a table nonetheless.

(7) Transport.
I don't think that this is a big issue but worth the mention. The hotel is located far and high up from the main road and no where near any convenient stores. From the main road (entrance) to the hotel will take about 5 minutes drive up the winding and steep slopes. It may be possible to walk up but I think you would be flat out, drained of energy by the time you reach the hotel. We wanted to go to a 7-11 store to buy food, drinks and snacks, and so I asked the receptionist how do we get there. I was informed that I would have to take a cab and that will cost me $500 for the trip (to and back). We had to agree to the fee since it was after sunset and impossible for us to walk there. There were no cabs available and so the receptionist requested the driver from the hotel to drive us there. It was a free ride! Should I be happy or mad? We were dumb founded by this situation.

(8) Smoke.
The air ventilation in the toilet is not efficient. We could smell cigarette coming from the toilet's air ventilation. We are not smokers and absolutely hates it.

Generally, the staffs were friendly and polite. I would like to commend 2 staffs whom we interacted with are outstanding. The lady receptionist from Hong Kong and a driver in his late-thirties.

The driver was extremely polite and friendly. He should receive and award for his excellent attitude. We arranged for transport to go to the sheep farm. Along the way, he guided us with directions on all the attractions and what should and should not avoid. At all times, he kept saying thank you to us and other guests for everything. He is the same driver who drove us to the convenient store.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on 13 Nov and out on 15 Nov, and stayed in Block C Room 3103 on the first night and Block A 1207 on the second. This place is about 80 mins from the Tai Chung High Speed Rail Station.

I must admit that Room 3103 is well decorated with small outdoor balcony. However, it is not suitable if you have a kid with you. It is quite cramped and not much space for movement indoor.

On the other hand, Room 1207 is very spacious even though it does not look new. It comes with an outdoor balcony with 2 beach chairs and a table, overlooking the mountains.

You will be invited for a free afternoon high tea, if you are staying for a minimum of 2 nights.

They do provide free shuttle service if you plan to visit the Cing Jing Farm 青青草原,and the return pickup is at the carpark area infront of Starbucks Coffee (do not worry, there is only one there). Please note that the meh meh show is not available on weekdays.

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Do feel free to approach them for any help/advice. They helped us to arrange for dinner at 伊拿谷, which provides free 2-way transport to the restaurant. Set dinner for 2 is around NT580 and it is of reasonably good quality. They are famous for their chicken which they cooked in groups of 4, in each gigantic jars.

On our second night, we had our dinner (set dinner) in the hotel (around NT890 for 2). They are known for their pork knuckles (around NT680) so if you are coming, do give it a try.

Do note that moving around in Cing Jing area is a challenge if the hotel does not provide any free/paid shuttle service. Generally taxis here charge by per trip, or per day booking.

On our last day, we booked our transport and was given a Mercedes S350 for our journey to Taipei Taoyuen Airport as we have 2 x large luggages, 1 x 18kg box, 1x stroller and 3 of us.

Kiity and her team of colleagues have provided great services (from making reservation, dinner recommendation and linking us up with the transport company) to make our stay a memorable one.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ErvinKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We took a cab to the Qing Jing, which we found out that the taxi driver is actually illegally getting customer. If you intend to take a cab, go to the taxi stand to prevent this. The taxi driver still drives us up safely, but just might over-charge us. Our stay at Ming Ging Farm is to take a walk around the Qing Jing Farm takes about 1/2 day and the hotel's van pick us up from to the hotel. It is really gotten be a long upslope without them. The rooms are comfortable and it is exactly as what the photos shown, clean and nice. Although we did not managed to see the stars at night due to the fog, we manage to see it at 3.30am while we wait for the pick-up to see the sunrise. It takes 40min to drive up to venue, bring along extra clothing or gloves. Jacket is provided by the driver but my hands cannot take the cold. The hotel also offered a tour around the gardens in the hotel and the gardener will introduce some of the plants and flowers. Fruits and vegetables are given too. It's a great view from the hotel too. We are not that picky and find the food served is pretty decent and good. It's a bit expensive but the trip is definitely worth the price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank imjiahao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
0.1 mi away
Shangrila Music Villa
Shangrila Music Villa
#18 of 127 in Nantou County
61 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.2 mi away
Florence Resort Villa (Italianate Cingjing Nantou)
Florence Resort Villa (Italianat...
#98 of 127 in Nantou County
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cingjing Brilliant Twins of Seattle
0.9 mi away
Star Villa
Star Villa
#17 of 654 in Nantou County
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Qingjing Farm Guest House
Qingjing Farm Guest House
#19 of 127 in Nantou County
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Ging Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Ging Farm

Property: Ming Ging Farm
Address: No.43 Rongguang Ln., Renai Township, Nantou County 546, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ming Ging Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ming Ging Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Ging Farm Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing