We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated, but good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Misty Villa Cingjing
Ranked #4 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Nantou
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Over-rated, but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Its location is the best thing about this minsu, as it is near to the few eateries at cingjing.
The owner and staff are all very friendly and helpful to make our stay pleasant. However, the room is quite basic and the bathroom is bare and uninviting, with a musty stench when we first entered. And as it was raining throughout our stay, it was inconvenient cos the blocks are not connected by shelter, but i guess most minsu in taiwan are built this way.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    64
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked two rooms for our 1N stayed in Cing Jing and turn out to be one of the best stay of our trip to Taiwan.
Rooms were clean and well maintained plus with a beautiful scenery and cold weather. The owner was very warm and friendly.
Our package which included a delicious dinner (local style cooking) is very worthwhile.

Room Tip: Prepare to carry your bag up to your rooms as they are all situated on the hillside. The higher room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for 1N on 28th Oct.
PLUS-
1. The room is very well maintained and clean. It is spacious as well
2. Location is perfect at the center of CJ. Within walking distance to Little Swiss Garden and the tourist recreation center
3. Breakfast choices are limited. BUT with good quality. The Soya is a must try
4. Very friendly owner (Nita).
5. Good View - our room enable us to view the sun rise.. very nice view

MINUS-
The only minus is the long staircase.. but this is easily overcome by using the backlane. The Villa will have a small car to bring the luggage to the room at the top floor.

In all, we love this villa. It is really value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuneLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
243 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My family of 8 stayed 2 nights and we took the villa for 10 people. The villa had 5 large rooms and 5 bathrooms (one of which has no shower facilities). It has a large dining and sitting hall. There a spacious balcony upstairs where you can view the sunrise. The villa is very clean and well equipped. There hot and cold water available in a machine just outside the villa. The villa is bright in the morning and there's enough lights to brighten the place at night. We enjoyed our stay as it was quiet and the surroundings were beautiful. You can take a morning walk to the Swiss Garden which is well-equipped with some shops including a Starbucks. Breakfast is not a big spread but has the basics of porridge with the condiments, salad and bread with butter and jam. Coffee or tea is available. One of the best thing about staying here is the dinner which is really very tasty and a generous spread and includes dishes like fish, chicken, pork, veg and soup. For the 2 nights, they gave us different dishes and I think they were at least 8 large dishes for 8 of us. As the fresh air and daytime activities made us rather hungry, we asked for an additional dish on the second night and they added bean curd with meat. However, do note that they prefer to serve dinner early at around 6.30 pm as kitchen closes at 8 pm. The only thing I was not too happy about are the many many steps to our villa. When we arrived at night, there were some people helping us with our luggage but when we checked out, we were told that their staff are busy with serving breakfast and can only help with luggage after 9 pm. All access to their villas need to be accessed via the steps and if your villa is higher up, you'll need to walk more. The lights are not very bright at night, so one has to be careful when walking up. All in all, we had a happy time staying at Misty although the steps were rather daunting for my elderly mother.

Room Tip: Guests do have to climb many steps to their villa. Make sure you can do that as I did not see any l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the family suite which was about 50 steps of upward climb, but it was not too tiring as the driver drove our bags up for us. The location of the villa was close to Misty Plaza so it was very easy to walk back from Swiss Garden / MOS / Starbucks. The room i stayed in was very clean and comfortable, there was supply of toiletries and hot & cold drinking water in the room. The breakfast was simple. I enjoyed my stay and would choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: higher rooms will have a better view, it is definitely worth the climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lineeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great service and location. We were upgraded to a better room due to some fault in the original room we booked. The B&B is located close to two 7-11 stores and just opposite the Little Swiss Garden. The owner will drive you up to Green Green Grassland which is the main attraction in Cingjing. From there, it's a pleasant and cooling 30 minute walk down back to the B&B.

The dinner provided is awesome - with 5 dishes and 1 soup. The owner is very attentive and will always make sure everything is ok.

Some tips:
- The B&B has some tie up with Carton King Restaurant (next to Little Swiss Garden) - get the discount coupon before heading to Carton King for lunch.
- In addition, if you spend more than TWD300 in Carton King, you will get free admission to Little Swiss Garden. Remember to get the redemption coupon from the post office below Carton King before your meal.
- The owner will offer to sell you Green Green Grassland tickets at a discount. If you have the Youth Travel Card, you will get it even cheaper at the counter in Green Green. Otherwise, take up her offer to buy the discounted tickets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wai005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The good:
- location near Little Swiss Garden, 2 different 7elevens, Carton King, MOS burger & Starbucks
- strong wi-fi
- clean rooms

The not-so-good:
- Slopes & stairs. To get to the 1st floor of the B&B (where the dining and check-in/out is), you need to climb a relatively steep slope. On top of that, we stayed on the 3rd floor so that was several more flights of stairs to get to the rooms!
- Wet toilet floor after anybody baths (there is no dividers between the shower area and toilet bowl/sink area
- beds too soft
- breakfast was passable, but not great compared to the other B&Bs we stayed at in Taiwan!
- very thin walls

Tips:
- buy Green Green Grassland tickets from the B&B. There's a bit of discount and it saves you from queuing at the attraction entrance
- the B&B provides one-way transport to Green Green Grassland at your request.
- we ate at Carton King and got free entrance to Little Swiss Garden. Some say the food at Carton King is not bad, some say it's horrible. We had the set lunch there and I thought it was not bad at all!
- went on the sunrise tour (TWD 400 per pax) and didn't get to see the sunrise cos of the fog. The lady said they would bring us to look at other things besides sun rise, but the other things were just bleah... I felt it was a waste of money and precious sleep (cos the bus came to pick us from 7eleven at 3.50am and went on to pick up tourists from other B&Bs along the way)
- took a taxi to have tea at The Old England. Be prepared to queue. Tea is served from 1-4pm. We reached just before 3pm. On hindsight, we should have reached at 1pm, have tea and then have an early dinner. The tea items were not too bad (not great!), but it was really more for the ambience. 1 tea set per person was really too much!

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs like mad, choose rooms on the first floor (more woody and olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank holplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou hotels
0.5 mi away
Star Villa
Star Villa
#12 of 646 in Nantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Julie's Garden B&B Cingjing
0.1 mi away
Shangrila Hanging Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ming Ging Farm
Ming Ging Farm
#13 of 127 in Nantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old England Manor
The Old England Manor
#6 of 646 in Nantou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cingjing Brilliant Twins of Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Villa Cingjing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Villa Cingjing

Property: Misty Villa Cingjing
Address: No.9 Rong Guan Lane,Ren-ai Township, Nantou, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Nantou
Also Known As:
Misty Villa Cingjing Hotel Nantou
Misty Villa Cingjing Taiwan/Nantou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing