We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room and that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 127 Hotels in Nantou County
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful room and that's about it”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have travelled around Taiwan for nearly two weeks. This hotel had a wonderful spaciousness room with excellent views of the lake but the front desk service was terrible. It lacked the smiles, cheer and over all helpfulness we have become used to throughout our stay in Taiwan. This may have been made more difficult due to the lack of English. The bikes were free to hire but need a service as we spent time putting chains back on and making sure the breaks worked. The shuttle only ran at the most inconvenient times and no allowances were made even through we were the only people onboard. We would have been happy with a smaller room and amazing service, not hard to come by in Taiwan. We would recommend staying in Itashao as it has a much nicer feel despite the seemingly unauthentic aboriginal facade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redbeanbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, 經理 at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear value customer

I would like to thank you very much for leaving us a comment so we can improve ourself and make ourself better

I will point out in our next meeting that our front office personnel need more smile, and we will improve our staff with more conversational English so we can better serve our overseas customers

Because of high volume of customers coming in to our hotel recently, our hotel maybe under staff at times so no staff is onsite for bike check and rental, I will make note of it and make sure the customer will have better experience next time

Our shuttle bus make round trip every hour to the bus station, and if there are more customers , we will run more frequently, we will try to meet every customers needs, but since there is only one hotel shuttle, we can only serve the the needed customers at certain time of the hour, I would like to apologize if we didnt meet your expectation

Again, thank you very much for leaving us a comment and please come and try us again next time,

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    82
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
71
59
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is lit up at night like a low end Vegas hotel, it is one of the better ones in the area, and is a short walk to the centre where there are many restaurants, a visitor centre and the bus station. It has a bar which will serve cocktails, but there are not cheap however good. They offer cycles for hire and the hotel backs onto the walkway surrounding this part of the lake. The views across the lake are good. It should read like a school report "Could do better" It was difficult to fault but there were still elements that could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteLightinX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, 經理 at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear customer

I would like to thank you very much for taking your time to write us a comment so we can improve ourself and make our custimers happier next time

Our hotel is the newest lake front hotel in the area and we are also the only bike trail connecting hotel in the Sunmoon lake area

The intention of our exterior LED light is for our customer to easily find us at night,

Thanks again for your comment and we welcome you to visit us again in near future

Thank you and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was slightly disappointing as believe it is classed as 2nd best hotel for the area. There is no lounge to have a cup of coffee in the evening - you have to sit at dining tables. When we checked out we pre-booked a taxi to take us to the visitor centre which we knew cost $100 but hotel wanted to charge $250. However, there was a very enterprising doorman who solved our predicament and needs to be congratulated for using his initiative. Hotel is clean and modern and staff do try and be as helpful as possible, but not yet to western standards

Room Tip: You have presumably come to this area to see the lake and therefore should book a lake view room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grenofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, 經理 at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear valued customer

I would like to thank you very much for taking your precious time to write us a comment so we can improve ourself.

our hotel is the only bike connecting hotel in the area and one of the newest lake front hotel

by popular demand, our hotel is designed as a family oriented hotel, and our first floor coffee area is designed to fit the whole family so no lounge chair is planned and added,

please try us again next time and I am sure we will pamper your stay

thanks again for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We chose this hotel based on its location, the rank and especially SML Hotel has quad room for 4 of us. The room rate was expensive. Actually, all hotels room rate in SML area are expensive compared to hotels in the other city in Taiwan. We late checked in and the front desk guy was efficient. Just a few minutes we can go to our room.
Our "Deluxe Lake View Quad Room" was impressive. The room was clean, spacious, had big jacuzzi, tatami living room, also had balcony to see lake. We stayed only 1 night here, and spend all time at the room until check out time in the morning. The weakness was only on breakfast menu. Not much variety and the taste was average.
Don't forget to ask the front desk if you want to use internet, someone will bring repeater to your room.

Room Tip: Choose room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoTravelATW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, 經理 at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you very much for give us feedback so our hotel can serve our customers better

our hotel is the newest lake front hotel in the area and offer the most value to the price,
we are also the only bike trail connecting hotel in the area

please come stay with us again and let us pamper your next stay

thank you and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

When we looked at booking a hotel for Sun Moon Lake, we were willing to spend a little extra money to have a nice evening out with a gorgeous view. After paying twice the price of other similarly rated accommodations without the view, I can say that SML Hotel was a good experience, but nothing out of the ordinary for what we paid for.

Location: Great for the bike path. Close to town (walking distance 15 min) and Shuishe tourism center.

Services: The staff was great about picking us up from the Shuishe tourism center (this is where the bus drops you off from the Taichun train/HSR station). They were also great about finding a bus time back to Taichung for us and arranging the shuttle from the hotel to the bus stop accordingly. The hotel also advertised free bikes for us to use. However, this was disappointing, as we waited for over 20 min in the blazing heat to try and fix the bikes ourselves.

Food: At the end of our day long bike trip around the lake, we were too exhausted to return to the city to get food. We ended up eating at the hotel, which was a quite pricey, but it was worth it in our exhaustion not to venture out from the hotel in the rain. Would recommend eating elsewhere for dinner. The complimentary breakfast was bountiful and had all sorts of different foods and drinks!

Accommodation: Biggest bed I've ever seen. There was a cool sort of fancy remote system from the bed where you could adjust the settings of the light and music and TV, but sadly didn't work very well. The jacuzzi was nice facing the lake, but not what we expected given the reviews. Lake view also wasn't as nice as expected.

Tip: Get a room near the center! Ours was close to the corner away from the lake, which made me think we could have gotten a better room otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you very much for taking your time to write us a comment

we pride ourself as the only bike connecting hotel in the area, and we also the newest lake front hotel in the area as well

next time, please come stay with us again and let us pamper your stay

again, thank you for your valuable comment and we are looking for your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for a family trip with 2 kids. We booked a family room with a king size bed and 2 double beds. The room is nice decorated. The super big jacuzzi with TV and the rainforest shower head excited the kids. They enjoyed snacking and watching TV while bathing! We rented a car so we went down town for dinner. Breakfast was above average, with good variety. The hotel offer bicycle to rent. You shouldn't miss bike ride along the lake, really really relax and nice experience.

The check in experience was just average. But we were impressed after we checked out -- we left a pair of flip flop in room. When we drove back to check, the staff was so helpful calling housekeeping to look for it. He even ran back to pick up our stuffs. While waiting, we also saw a little boy hurt his leg when biking. A staff showed empathy and treating the wound with care. Good guest service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April_RRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel and glad you had a good experience with us

we pride our hotel as the only bike trail connecting hotel in the area and we are also the newest lake front hotel in the area

next time please stay with us again and let us pamper your stay

thank you again for your valuable comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Sun Moon Lake Hotel seems to be trying very hard to be a 4-star hotel. Other than nice lake-view balcony rooms and a well-equipped bathroom, the restaurant is trying very hard to offer fine-dining standards without investing in fancy dishes, food quality, cutlery and adequate staff training. Not bad for a small hotel like this.

Upon arrival, it was raining very heavily, the valet offered to park our car for us, after we unload all our luggage bags. The hotel has a outdoor car-park across the road opposite the hotel. At check-in, I was asked repeatedly about my reservation, seemed like they lost it, fortunately that was sorted out in 10 mins. Our reservation only included breakfast which had quite a spread and a strong Asian style of food. (Made me wonder if they are catering primarily to Mainland Chinese tourists.) Dinner was quite an expensive rip-off or maybe it was the usual meal rate for a touristy location. We had not much of a choice as there was nothing much around the hotel.

We adored the huge sunken bath with lake view and TV screen. The main control panel situated at the centre of the headboard glowed brightly while you sleep. (May be a disturbance for sleepers who need a dark night sleep) Service around the hotel was standard, nothing exceptional nor fantastic. Board walk outside of hotel was dimly lit and quite creepy at night.

Note: Flowers in room were pre-arranged and separately paid for.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view are a must! Suites are located at the corners allowing your room to have 90 deg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neo2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear customer

I would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel in the SunMoon lake area

we are the newest lake front hotel in the area and we are also the only hotel that connecting the bike trail

next time please stay with us again

thank you and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
1.3 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
2.1 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
0.6 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#11 of 127 in Nantou County
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
#12 of 127 in Nantou County
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
#4 of 127 in Nantou County
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 127 in Nantou County
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Moon Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Moon Lake Hotel

Property: Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Address: No.419 Zhongshan Road, Shuishe Village, Yuchi Town, Nantou County 55541, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nantou County
#6 Spa Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Moon Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Moon Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Moon Lake Hotel Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing