We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Nantou County
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive but impressive”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We chose this hotel based on its location, the rank and especially SML Hotel has quad room for 4 of us. The room rate was expensive. Actually, all hotels room rate in SML area are expensive compared to hotels in the other city in Taiwan. We late checked in and the front desk guy was efficient. Just a few minutes we can go to our room.
Our "Deluxe Lake View Quad Room" was impressive. The room was clean, spacious, had big jacuzzi, tatami living room, also had balcony to see lake. We stayed only 1 night here, and spend all time at the room until check out time in the morning. The weakness was only on breakfast menu. Not much variety and the taste was average.
Don't forget to ask the front desk if you want to use internet, someone will bring repeater to your room.

Room Tip: Choose room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoTravelATW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, 經理 at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you very much for give us feedback so our hotel can serve our customers better

our hotel is the newest lake front hotel in the area and offer the most value to the price,
we are also the only bike trail connecting hotel in the area

please come stay with us again and let us pamper your next stay

thank you and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    82
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
72
59
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

When we looked at booking a hotel for Sun Moon Lake, we were willing to spend a little extra money to have a nice evening out with a gorgeous view. After paying twice the price of other similarly rated accommodations without the view, I can say that SML Hotel was a good experience, but nothing out of the ordinary for what we paid for.

Location: Great for the bike path. Close to town (walking distance 15 min) and Shuishe tourism center.

Services: The staff was great about picking us up from the Shuishe tourism center (this is where the bus drops you off from the Taichun train/HSR station). They were also great about finding a bus time back to Taichung for us and arranging the shuttle from the hotel to the bus stop accordingly. The hotel also advertised free bikes for us to use. However, this was disappointing, as we waited for over 20 min in the blazing heat to try and fix the bikes ourselves.

Food: At the end of our day long bike trip around the lake, we were too exhausted to return to the city to get food. We ended up eating at the hotel, which was a quite pricey, but it was worth it in our exhaustion not to venture out from the hotel in the rain. Would recommend eating elsewhere for dinner. The complimentary breakfast was bountiful and had all sorts of different foods and drinks!

Accommodation: Biggest bed I've ever seen. There was a cool sort of fancy remote system from the bed where you could adjust the settings of the light and music and TV, but sadly didn't work very well. The jacuzzi was nice facing the lake, but not what we expected given the reviews. Lake view also wasn't as nice as expected.

Tip: Get a room near the center! Ours was close to the corner away from the lake, which made me think we could have gotten a better room otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you very much for taking your time to write us a comment

we pride ourself as the only bike connecting hotel in the area, and we also the newest lake front hotel in the area as well

next time, please come stay with us again and let us pamper your stay

again, thank you for your valuable comment and we are looking for your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for a family trip with 2 kids. We booked a family room with a king size bed and 2 double beds. The room is nice decorated. The super big jacuzzi with TV and the rainforest shower head excited the kids. They enjoyed snacking and watching TV while bathing! We rented a car so we went down town for dinner. Breakfast was above average, with good variety. The hotel offer bicycle to rent. You shouldn't miss bike ride along the lake, really really relax and nice experience.

The check in experience was just average. But we were impressed after we checked out -- we left a pair of flip flop in room. When we drove back to check, the staff was so helpful calling housekeeping to look for it. He even ran back to pick up our stuffs. While waiting, we also saw a little boy hurt his leg when biking. A staff showed empathy and treating the wound with care. Good guest service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April_RRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel and glad you had a good experience with us

we pride our hotel as the only bike trail connecting hotel in the area and we are also the newest lake front hotel in the area

next time please stay with us again and let us pamper your stay

thank you again for your valuable comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Sun Moon Lake Hotel seems to be trying very hard to be a 4-star hotel. Other than nice lake-view balcony rooms and a well-equipped bathroom, the restaurant is trying very hard to offer fine-dining standards without investing in fancy dishes, food quality, cutlery and adequate staff training. Not bad for a small hotel like this.

Upon arrival, it was raining very heavily, the valet offered to park our car for us, after we unload all our luggage bags. The hotel has a outdoor car-park across the road opposite the hotel. At check-in, I was asked repeatedly about my reservation, seemed like they lost it, fortunately that was sorted out in 10 mins. Our reservation only included breakfast which had quite a spread and a strong Asian style of food. (Made me wonder if they are catering primarily to Mainland Chinese tourists.) Dinner was quite an expensive rip-off or maybe it was the usual meal rate for a touristy location. We had not much of a choice as there was nothing much around the hotel.

We adored the huge sunken bath with lake view and TV screen. The main control panel situated at the centre of the headboard glowed brightly while you sleep. (May be a disturbance for sleepers who need a dark night sleep) Service around the hotel was standard, nothing exceptional nor fantastic. Board walk outside of hotel was dimly lit and quite creepy at night.

Note: Flowers in room were pre-arranged and separately paid for.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view are a must! Suites are located at the corners allowing your room to have 90 deg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neo2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear customer

I would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel in the SunMoon lake area

we are the newest lake front hotel in the area and we are also the only hotel that connecting the bike trail

next time please stay with us again

thank you and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I chose mid-week and we were happy to have a quiet holiday with a beautiful lakeside view. Because it was a once in a lifetime visit,we paid more so the hotel,room or trip would not be a disappointment。The walk or bike ride to the township of Shueishe was very pleasant even on a warm day. Judy and front desk staff were most helpful even going so far (without request)as to make a copy of bus schedule to Xitou, knowing we were headed to the Xitou forrest area after leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear valued customer

I would like to thank you very much for taking your precious time to give us a feedback

we pride ourself in our Taiwanese hospitality way of treating customers and we take every customers needs serious

next time, please come stay with us again

thank you and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My mom and I took a 2 night, 3 day trip to Sun Moon Lake from Taipei. We had no idea what to expect, but mom chose this hotel from all the reviews on TripAdvisor. We loved the hotel, loved the location - and the hotel room was really clean and unique. It ranks up there with one of my favourite. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. One of the front desk clerks, Judy, was a great resource for us as she spoke English and could help with bus, cable car and ferry services. It was a short walk, or bike ride, to SheuiShe were you can shop or ferry to Ito Thao. We were a little disappointed in how neglected the park area was with trash in the lake around the trail. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the lake, and we also were able to utilize the outside porch on the ground floor. The breakfast had mostly Taiwanese breakfast, but did have scrambled eggs, bacon, and bread with American coffee. We chose to bring our own lunch and dinner items.

Room Tip: Service was usually self-service during breakfast in the restaurant (get up and get your own coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texas3bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you very much for your stay in our hotel

We pride our hotel for our Taiwanese hospitality and we are also one of the newest lake front hotel and the only bike trail connecting hotel in the area

next time, please come stay with us again and let us pamper your stay

thank you very much again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Wow factor was the jaccuzi tub in the bathroom (with TV but without view). Family room of 4 was spacious, clean & comfortable. Hand towel hanger was not found in the separated toilet so we just left it on the side of basin. Bath towel only provided for 2 instead of 4. Our room package include a 8- course dinner for 4. Food was Chinese & good. Flow flow of ice cream & children loved it. Free bikes were in good condition and suggest to ride early between 6-9am or in the evening as is cooler. Will return to this hotel if can't find another cheaper one of the same standard.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyYCHOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you very much for staying at our hotel

we pride our hotel as the newest lake front hotel in the SunMoon lake area and we are also the only hotel that connects to the bike trail

please stay with us again next time and let us pamper your stay again

thanks and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
1.3 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
2.1 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon La...
#10 of 128 in Nantou County
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
#13 of 128 in Nantou County
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#9 of 128 in Nantou County
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
#4 of 128 in Nantou County
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
#8 of 128 in Nantou County
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Moon Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Moon Lake Hotel

Property: Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Address: No.419 Zhongshan Road, Shuishe Village, Yuchi Town, Nantou County 55541, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nantou County
#6 Spa Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Moon Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Moon Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Moon Lake Hotel Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing