We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff and nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Ranked #9 of 127 Hotels in Nantou
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and nice room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The room itself was spacious and clean. It came with a very nice tub with the lake view. There was a well-equipped gaming area at the basement. Dinner at the Chinese restaurant was fantastic - the food was delicious and the staff was very attentive.
The concierge was extremely helpful - they picked us up at the city center within minutes after calling them. We left our stuff at the hotel room and they shipped them back to us to Taipei the next day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roncr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Guest Relations Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear customer

I would like to thank you very much for taking time to write us a comment

we are the newest lake front hotel in the sunmoon lake area and we are also the only bike trail connecting hotel in the area

next time, please stay with us again

thank you and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    80
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
69
59
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This high-rise hotel offers great accommodations in a recreational area with so much to do and see that you’ll be torn between being out and active or being lazy and enjoying your hotel. I stayed in room 912 and, while not officially a lake-view room, I could still see the lake off in the distance. Right outside the hotel, the bikeway is built above the water and connects to the 23 km path that goes all the way around the lake. Bikes can be borrowed for free from the hotel (small selection) or easily rented from multiple dealers in town. The hotel also has a workout room, but no pool.
Of the 106 rooms in the hotel, 80 face the lake and 26 do not. Lake views are about $100USD more expensive than those without. There is also a large conference room suitable for groups up to 150 people on the roof level. Surrounded with windows, and equipped with a decent sized stage, this would make an impressive presentation area.
My room came with two double beds, coffee/tea service, mini-bar, flat screen TV, and a low, Japanese style tea table and chairs. A large, wall hung desk and shelves made a very workable area to spread out my paperwork and the Wi-Fi worked well.
The bath has a huge, slate-tiled soaking tub – similar to those found in the mineral springs resorts. Topped with a wooden cap, it’s a great place to relax with a cup of tea. A large bowled sink, standard toilet, and additional, separate shower round out the bath.
Check directly with the hotel for special packages that include high tea or full dinners in addition to the complimentary breakfasts.

Room Tip: Room 912 was not considered a lake view, hence about $100US cheaper. Beautiful, comfortable space an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWriterDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Guest Relations Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear customer

I would like to thank you very much for taking your precious time to write us a commant,

we pride ourself in Taiwanese hospitality way , and we take every customers needs serious

next time, please come stay with us again,

thank you and good bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We took the HSR from Zhoying then the bus from Taichung; took us approximately 3 hrs. Upon arrival @ Sun Moon lake bus terminal, a call was placed to the hotel and the shuttle van arrived within 5 mins. The ride to the hotel is about two minutes; we would not recommend walking if you have luggages. The hotel lobby offers nice view of the lake and mountain ranges. Hotel staffs informed us that check in time is 3pm and since it was only 1 pm, we decided to have lunch at the town center. Hotel bellhop offers us the ride to the town in the shuttle van. We decided to walk via the pedestrian bicycle path; which is located at rear of the hotel and took us 10 mins. We had lunch at local stand; cheap and reasonably priced. Most restaurants located in the center of town are over priced. We walked back via the same path (remember to apply mosquito repellant if you decide to utilize in the evening hours. We checked in exactly at 3 and the mountain view room is nicely furnished and spotless. The hotel offers free bicycles for the guests; we enjoyed the ride. Next morning we had breakfast; serving both Chinese and western items. It was okay. After spent a day doing the tourist things, we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The Asian fusion dishes were okay, $60 USD for two persons. We returned to our room and house keeping did a really great job with the room. I know it is not customary to tip in Taiwan. However, I would suggest you do tip house keeping due to the fact that most them are hard working aboriginal people and every little bit helps. Although we only spent two nights at this hotel, I agreed w other reviewers that two nights is quiet enough for Sun Moon Lake area. We like this hotel based on the fact that the price was quiet reasonable, the staff/house keeping and location/view of the Sun Moon lake.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Front Office Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear customer

I would like to thank you very much for your valuable comments about our hotel

we pride ourself for the Taiwanese hospitality,

please come stay with us again and let us pamper your stay

thanks again for staying with us,

hope to you see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel lobby is clean and elegant however the wow factor was in the room. We stayed on the ninth floor and the room was beautiful and modern. The view from the balcony was stunning making you want to spend time just sitting and taking it all in. The bed was massive and there was a control pad on the bed board which allowed you to manage everything from the piped music to the lighting and tv.

The bathroom was very well designed with a bath tub allowing you to sit and take in the view.

Overall, this is a highly recommended accommodation, our only regret is only having 2 nights here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGypsyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Value customer

I would like to thank you for taking your time to give us a review,

we pride ourself for our Taiwanese hospitality and we take every customers needs seriously

next time, please come stay with us again and let us pamper you again

thank you for your stay and see you next time soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was by far the best hotel we stayed at during our entire tour in Taiwan, probably the most expensive too! We heard about it and we totally agreed that it lived up to its name. We enjoyed the buffet dinner in hotel as well as the free cultural showcase of the local dancers in the evening.
Hotel may be a little dated but all the Staffs made us feel welcome throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rejoiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you very much for your continue support of our hotel

our hotel offers the only bike trail in SunMoon lake and we offer free shuttle bus to and from the Bus station

again, thank you for your support of our hotel and we are looking forward in your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had problem looking for hotel in Sun Moon Lake as the hotels/minsus are either too expensive or cheap with not-so-good reviews. Finally decided to splurge a little and booked Sun Moon Lake Hotel. Booked 3 rooms (2 twins and 1 triple) through a third party website, called the hotel to check on my booking to ensure that extra bed for the triple room is included in the booking, staff who answered my call was very courteous and friendly and she even helped me to put in the request to have all 3 rooms on the same floor.

Upon check-in, the staff were already expecting our arrival and keys were all ready, were only waiting for our passports to register. We were all allocated on the same floor, next to each other. The rooms (including toilets) are very spacious, clean and cosy. The extra bed for the triple room is nicely set up (tatami style) in a little cosy corner. Beds are spacious and comfortable for a good night's sleep. Loved the jacuzzi in the bathroom where you can soaked and watched TV at the same time. There's a panel beside the bed to control all the lightings in the room. Free internet access. Superb lake view with private balcony. Breakfast was also the best I had so far in my Taiwan holidays. Plenty selection from Western to Chinese to Japanese style.

As we toured around Sun Moon Lake, we came across some hotels/minsus that I considered booking and told my family, they were glad that I didn't book those as they do not look as comfortable and some even looked dark and remote. Sun Moon Lake hotel is no doubt the most expensive hotel that we stayed for our 8-day trip, but it was very worth it. We even find that one night stay was not enough. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blessedwoman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you very much for your support of our hotel

our hotel is the only bike trail connecting hotel in the Sun Moon lake area, and our hotel is the newest one amount them,

our hotel also offers sunken style bath tub for your little ones

we pride ourself in our Taiwanese style service

please come visit us again in the future, and we are looking forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Sun Moon Lake Hotel is about 1.2km away from Shuishe Visitor Centre 水社游客中心 & it provides free shuttle to the hotel, so that is really convenient especially if you have big luggages.

However you may also choose to walk or cycle by the lake. There is proper footpath, take a stroll, enjoy the breeze, the serene beauty of the Alpine Lake. It's quiet, peaceful and romantic. The hotel provides complimentary bicycle, so that is really nice. Try cycling around the lake, not only you enjoy the tranquility, but also keeps you fit & have lots of fun too.

Staff is helpful, friendly, efficient & always smiling, ever ready to provide assistance. Delicious breakfast, free wifi, spacious room with modern design and a Japanese style living area. That is the way to enjoy and relax sitting by the balcony, having a beer & some snacks, losing the track of time as one is immersed in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ongtay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lwdavid, Manager at Sun Moon Lake Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued customer

i would like to thank you very much for your time to give us feedback so we can improve ourself

we pride ourself in our Taiwanese style hospitality and we try to improve our service through feedbacks and comments made by our customer

please come stay with us again and we looking for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou hotels
1.3 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
2.1 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
0.6 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#10 of 127 in Nantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
0.4 mi away
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
#4 of 127 in Nantou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.6 mi away
SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Lakeside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Moon Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Moon Lake Hotel

Property: Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Address: No.419 Zhongshan Road, Shuishe Village, Yuchi Town, Nantou 55541, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nantou
#5 Spa Hotel in Nantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Moon Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Moon Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Moon Lake Hotel Taiwan/Nantou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing