We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel, great views over the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Del Lago
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Nantou
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, great views over the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were only here one night, the room was nice with a lovely view over the lake.
Free WIFI, tea/coffee, spacious bathroom.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel, which was nothing special but good enough.

For dinner we went to Sun Moon Restaurant a small locally owned restaurant run by a young couple. The English spoken was more than good enough to communicate and the menu had photos and English translation. The food was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandE7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
阿杜0212, Manager at Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
First, thank you for your coming Sun Moon Lake and choosing Hotel Dellago. And then thank you for your comments. We really hope you can come here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    109
    30
    4
    7
See reviews for
96
64
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Freiberg in Mähren
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed twice in this hotel and taken a lakeview, townview and corner room (on our second visit we took a townview room but upgraded to a corner lakeview room). There are other hotels nearby in the immediate area of lower price and quality but I would return to this one simply because it is probably the best for the price. This is not a 5-star hotel and the price is a bit higher than a mid-range Taipei city hotel due to the location. The lake view rooms are the best and worth the extra cost - they are quieter than town-facing rooms, have a balcony, better bathroom and better toiletries. Overall, the interior decor of the lake-facing rooms is higher standard and sitting on the balcony to watch the fog rolling across the lake is memorable. Views of the Ci-en Pagoda, Ita Thao town and Lalu Island can all be seen from your balcony.
There is only one restaurant and the menu is limited but you will probably only be staying here for 2-3 days anyway so should not complain. There are small cafes in the street outside although you will need some reasonable Taiwanese or Mandarin to get by. A Starbucks and 7-11 are also within 50 feet of the hotel entrance. The bus stop to the Taichung high speed rail station is about 1 minute walk. The bus is hourly but I have found buses are not 100% reliable. If you are in a group of 3-4, it may be better to negotiate with a taxi driver for return transport from Taichung to the hotel - they won't go by meter. The hotel also provides this service, but naturally this is at higher cost.
There is no swimming pool or fitness center but bicycle rental is free. Wifi is free in the rooms. Bottled water is provided and you can easily buy more in the 7-11. Sitting at the restaurant outside tables in the afternoon is very pleasant. The tourist guidebooks and signage is orientated towards Mandarin-speakers first, Japanese second. Consequently, staff do not have good command of English. Most of the tourists are Taiwanese or from mainland China.
The hotel is well-situated for getting around the lake - you can walk, take a boat or the bus. I advise against the bus because they do not run to schedule and you will waste a great deal of time. The ferry boats are just outside the hotel. There are many different tour operators. If you are not interested in the extras, just take the day ticket which provides unlimited trips between the three ports around the lake and walk to see sites from there. I found that signage for English-speakers is not great so you should prepare your itinerary in advance ie. know what you want to see and where it is.

Room Tip: Always take the lake view. The town view rooms are noisy and look directly at the hotels across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Psychochicken_Freud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
阿杜0212, Manager at Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
First, thank you for your coming Sun Moon Lake and choosing Hotel Dellago. The above review you mentioned. We will improve receptionists "English-speaking ". Hope you can come here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Del Lago is located right by the pier for boats traversing the Sun Moon Lake in Shui She. It is roughly 5 minutes walking distance from the Shui She Tourism Office, which is also where the Nantou Bus picks up and drops off passengers. We opted for an inside room, as we had learned that the breakfast dining area offered beautiful full lake view. The room was spacious, with separate shower and bath, and a mini-fridge. The staff was quite caring. I requested slightly later checkout as my daughter was having stomachache. Front desk immediately agreed and inquired how she was doing, whether there was anything they could do to assist. Buffet breakfast was quite sumptuous, with a good selection of western and Chinese dishes. A particular favorite of mine was fresh handmade tofu, which was richly flavored, tasted substantive yet felt very light. The hotel has free bicycles for guests, available for the day even after you’ve checked out. While we thought the hotel was good, it simply did not merit the price – 1/3 more expensive than the 5-star hotels in Taipei! Perhaps because we were there during the summer peak season but, no matter what, NT$8000+/night for a non-lake-view and average-décor room was quite outrageous!! I beg to differ with other reviewers regarding its value since we had a direct comparison with the B&B that we moved to on the second night. It was obviously nowhere as plush, being a private residence, but its location was only 1 minute away from Del Lago, and the rate was less than 1/5 of that at Del Lago, Included in the rate was 2 boat tickets, free wi-fi, simple Taiwanese breakfast. A huge surprise was bed, blanket and pillows that rivaled those of any 5-star hotels - very comfortable - and an extremely helpful owner who gave us detailed info about the area and tips on what to do, and supplied us with sun-brella and mosquito repellant cream.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
阿杜0212, Manager at Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
First, thank you for your coming Sun Moon Lake and choosing Hotel Dellago. Our hotel is located lakeside. You can see the wonderful view of Sun Moon Lake from Hotel Dellago. The view is a priceless treasure. Hope you can see the beautiful view again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hotel located at 水社碼頭, just aside from sun-moon lake. Very convenient to take boat and walk at street to shop or find restaurant. Lake view room is very recommended, you can see the lake view in the morning when you wake up.

The complementary breakfast surprised me, I was expected simple breakfast only, but the breakfast buffet is rich and you can sit outdoor to eat breakfast and enjoy the lake view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
阿杜0212, Manager at Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
First, thank you for your coming Sun Moon Lake and choosing Hotel Dellago. And then thank you for your compliment. Hope you can come here to see beautiful views again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Aside from its great view (Sun-Moon Lake), this hotel gave great value. This is because of the following:
- Free WIFI (fast speed at the lobby, but slower in the rooms)
- Starbucks is just beside the hotel (sip coffee while watching the lake)
- Complementary Fruits, Soda and Water
- Clean bathroom and fresh towels
- 7-11 is just across the street
- 10% Discount Coupon for NT$600 Massage (50 minutes) at a spa about 100 meters away.
- Great taiwanese restaurants around the hotel, a set meal is only for USD5.30
- Bus Stops about 50 meters away

Although there were a few kinks here and there, it was all in all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janandmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Though I thought this hotel was a bit expensive (~NT6750 a nite), but I guess based on the location and the comparable hotels nearby it was probably a bargain. The location was excellent, literally a minute walk from the bus stop and right next to Sun Moon lake. We didn't get the lake view rooms but the view from the lobby and dining area was spectacular and just a elevator ride away. The room was very nice and I really like the shower they had, mainly because it was the same one that I had at home. It also came with complementary fruit and drinks. The staff was very nice and explained all the amenities which also include bike rental. I highly recommend biking around the lake. Finally the breakfast here was the best we had in Taiwan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuttlfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Hotel Del Lago was a pleasant experience. The hotel is new, clean, comfortable. The staff is warm, knowledgable and are very good with English. The location is within short walk of good quality local restuarants. The breakfast had many selections. I would recommend this hotel to others visiting sun moon lake.

Room Tip: Lake view is much nicer than city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPCLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou hotels
0.8 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.6 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#10 of 126 in Nantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
#4 of 126 in Nantou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
0.0 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Lago

Property: Hotel Del Lago
Address: No.101 Zhongshan Road, Yuchi Town, Nantou 55548, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Del Lago is situated in Nantou County in the center of Taiwan, the hotel offers a breathtaking view of the famous Sun Moon Lake from its premier vantage point on the lakeshore. Proudly offers seven types of comfortable and 88 beautifully appointed rooms and suites featuring the ultimate in relaxation and comfort. All guest rooms made secure, private, and quite. Lakeview guest rooms have wide-angle French window complemented with patio set at balcony; provide an unobstructed 180-degree view of Sun Moon Lake. Popular with outdoorsy types, the hotel readily makes arrangements for outdoor activities such as hiking; biking, boating or fishing the luxury hotel is an ideal destination for nature and adventure lovers. The hotel provides amenities like Ballroom, Lobby, Reception and Smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Lago Taiwan/Nantou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing