We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Hotel”
Review of Hotel Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Del Lago
Ranked #11 of 127 Hotels in Nantou County
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Value Hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

It is located right at the port of the Shui She (水社). The hotel has fantastic Sun Moon Lake view and you can choose the room with part or full Sun Moon Lake view to suit your budget.

I chose the room with part Sun Moon Lake View around $5,000 NT per night (with a King Size bed). This is weekday price. The weekend price will be much more expensive and has to book in advance.

The room is very modern and clean. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, free newspapers and also provides free Tea tour (if no rain) every week day morning (not too sure if weekend also included). The hotel also provides the bicycle for free to ride along the sun moon lake bike pathway (highly recommended).

If you want to enjoy a cup of good coffee, starbuck is a door side. If you want to take a boat tour to other islands on the Sun Moon Lake, only take you 5 mins to walk to the port.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ming S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    111
    30
    4
    7
See reviews for
97
66
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Excellent hotels. No complaints.

Pros:
-Best location in town, surrounded by shops and restaurants. Starbucks next door. 7-11 across the street
-Amazing views from the room
-One of the best hotel breakfast in Taiwan. Huge selection and all delicious.

Cons: None

Because of the amazing views, I think the price is worth it. However there are many much cheaper hotels around town within its 500m radius. They are not searchable or bookable online though.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for the view. Otherwise one may as well stay at cheaper motels around to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Pros:
- Large bathroom
- Nice views of Sun Moon Lake
- Convenient 7-11 right across the street
- Close to shops/restaurants
- Free wifi in rooms!!!
- Lots of toiletries (they even had floss and razors)
- Free soda in the fridge in the room
- Quiet
- If you like staying in to watch tv, there's a huge selection of channels to choose from

Cons
- Construction was taking place right in front of the hotel (pro was that it was not noisy)
- 4 way shower can get you in your face if you aren't tall (I'm 5'5 and I had to tiptoe/dodge the stream of water aimed at my face)
- Air conditioning did not work in the room. It was a bit cold at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macheteready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
386 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Wanted to stay at the Lalu but to save money ended up here, took the bus from Taichung high speed, 1.5 hr & nt$190 later (vs private car transfer @ nt$2600) got off a block from the hotel, decided to upgrade myself last minute to a lake view room vs townside, the weather was not good (rain & foggy) so the lake view was nothing special. (unlike Westlake that actually looks better foggy).  Did appreciate the extra tea room which was perfect for yoga in the morning & probably the most peaceful and pleasant dining room in town.  Facing the lake was a bonus even though everything was so grey.  I think it'd be too depressing facing the unattractive town in bad weather.  

After I checked in realized that there was not much to do at night around the hotel, the small restaurants opened did not seem very inviting (ie no one else inside) I found 7-11 to be the most happening shop here, with decent healthy cooked snacks that looked infinitely more appetizing vs the local places, don't get me wrong, I love Taiwanese local food stalls, just that the closest night market for food stalls was thirty minutes away in Puli.  

Was here for two nights before returning to Taipei for a wedding, went to the Lalu for a decent lunch also overlooking the busy lake, and had an amazing massage at the spa afterwards, there really was not much to so in this weather.  The Lalu's brasserie & the Chinese restaurant were opened to the public while the Japanese restaurant was closed.  I could understand why, with families incl energetic kids & babies at the restaurants, if I was a paying Lalu guest I would want some quiet time too at the Japanese restaurant.  

Back to the Del lago hotel. Overall good location (but right in the center of town = some noise) & decent rooms.  Liked the daily fruit plates, housekeeping forgot to replenish my teabags, the ancient safety deposit box did not work even with the hotel staff's help, no facilities to speak of, I was just one floor upstairs from Starbucks & their outdoor lounge chairs.   In sum, not good value at usd640 for two nights.   The weather had a lot to do with how I felt about this hotel but overall I didn't enjoy myself much.  Also glad didn't fork out for the twice as expensive Lalu which must have been beautiful ten /twenty years ago but is a bit run down now. 

In sum Del Lago is a decent but overpriced four star hotel for Sun Moon Lake but really an average place by global standards or Taipei standards.  

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The hotel is directly in the center of activities. The cruise boat ferry is just next to the hotel. Selections of Shops and restaurants are plentiful with a 7-11 just across the street. We drove here by car and the conceige and reception service were the best we ever came across. Due to the limited parking space the porter took over the parking of our car and immediately helped us to bring the luggages in. With a baby with us, we next proceeded to the seating area. Instead of us having to approach the reception, they walked over to us to arrange for our rooms with friendly speedy service. The porter even walked us to the sight seeing ferry. The usual printed ticket price was NT300 but we paid only NT200 being hotel guests. We had the lake view rooms and views were impeccable. There were even one set of crabtree and Evelyn toileteries. However, rooms were a bit old but clean and. Bed linens are old and slightly too worn for the room rates we are paying.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girder22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

How to go?
You can take a straight bus from Taichung THSR station. It takes around 1hour and 15 mins.

Rooms:
I booked the lakeview single and was given a higher floor room. The room has a good size. Once you enter, you will reach the bathroom and then the bedroom. You get a balcony where you will have the Sun Moon Lake view. The bed is quite comfortable but the pillow is a bit flat. There is a nice TV with many local channel. There are fresh fruits in the room. Complementary bottle waters are there. You also get two cans of free soft drinks. Complementary newspaper is offered and also free wifi in room.

Bathroom:
There is a bathtub and two cubicles where one is for bathing and the other house the toilet bowl. There is a sliding frosted glass door in between the bedroom and the bathroom. Once you close it, the main door and the bedroom is cut off. There is no rain shower. It has the hydro-massage shower head where water will spray at you aiming at different parts of your body. The bathing kits are from crabtree and evelyn. The towel is pretty standard size and so is the amenities.

Services:
The staffs in this hotel are quite friendly and helpful. When I arrived, the room was not ready. But they did give me a call afterward when the room is ready. Another is when I was leaving the hotel, it was raining and they did offer to use their hotel car to drive me to the tourist center which is just 5 mins by foot. However, the staffs over the restaurant seems a bit busier.

Breakfast:
There are quite a standard variety of food and seems good. You can choose to sit outside where u get fresh air and lake view while having your breakfast.

Hotel:
The location of the hotel is superb! I would say it has one of the best location. It is only less than 5 mins by foot from tourists center where you would take the bus. A 7-11 is just opposite. Tonnes of eateries and shops just along and across the road. Starbucks is just at the corner of the hotel. The ferry terminal is just 5 mins walk.

Verdict:
This hotel is strongly recommended due to its strategic location and services. The room is pretty comfortable and you get good views of Sun moon Lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Craze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was looking for a deluxe accomodation around the lake, that was affordable at the same time. The Luau costed upward of 1000USD per night, Fleur de Chine costed over 300USD, so in comparison the 180USD rate of Hotel del Lago seemed like getting 'a free ride'. The reviews on Tripadvisor solidified my decision to stay there, so I booked for one night.
The building is located lakeside, with the main entrance on the side of the street. Looks rather dull, almost unattractive from that side, especially when surrounded by a number of smelly cheap Chinese eateries.

Once you enter the hotel though, it is like entering another world. The lobby floor has an all glass side with a view of the lake + terrace (see pics), the furnishings are modern and stylish. As we were only overnighting, I didn't bother paying extra for a lakeview room, but I want to report that our room (overlooking the back street) was great too. It was a good size, had this very comfortable lounger, plus what looked like a king size bed (I think those were two twin beds joined together). Soft pillows, great mattress, good quality beddings, really - a perfect room!

We were travelling with a baby, so the hotel staff provided a bed for the baby (not a foldable cot, but an actual bed with linens and all) + a bathtub. That scored really high with me.
Service continued to be good throughout our short stay, the front desk staff were very helpful and accomodating, though I must say English didn't come very easy to them. I can't fault them for that; most tourists there either speak Chinese or Japanese; didn't see any that were of non-Asian origin while there.

Breakfast was included in the rate - pretty good selection, but Chinese oriented, so I stuck with the eggs and french fries w/ ketchup fare. We missed dinner because the restaurant closes at 9pm; I thought this was kind of early, but apparently that's normal for most hotels around the lake.

Wireless is free in the room, there are also slippers, robes and other standard amenities for a hotel this class. We had a plate of fruit + tea upon arrival; a couple of soft drinks + water are also provided complementary. The hotel offers a free early morning hiking tour (6am to 7:30am) but I did not take advantage and cannot attest to how suitable this tour would be for non-Chinese speaking people.
Parking is valet and is free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bulgarian_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
0.8 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.6 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#8 of 127 in Nantou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
#4 of 127 in Nantou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 127 in Nantou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
#12 of 127 in Nantou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Lago

Property: Hotel Del Lago
Address: No.101 Zhongshan Road, Yuchi Town, Nantou County 55548, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nantou County
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Del Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Del Lago is situated in Nantou County in the center of Taiwan, the hotel offers a breathtaking view of the famous Sun Moon Lake from its premier vantage point on the lakeshore. Proudly offers seven types of comfortable and 88 beautifully appointed rooms and suites featuring the ultimate in relaxation and comfort. All guest rooms made secure, private, and quite. Lakeview guest rooms have wide-angle French window complemented with patio set at balcony; provide an unobstructed 180-degree view of Sun Moon Lake. Popular with outdoorsy types, the hotel readily makes arrangements for outdoor activities such as hiking; biking, boating or fishing the luxury hotel is an ideal destination for nature and adventure lovers. The hotel provides amenities like Ballroom, Lobby, Reception and Smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Lago Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing