We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangrila Music Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangrila Music Villa
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Nantou
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

There are many choices in this location. I am attracted with its building decoration.
Hotel staff is very nice and introduce the hotel and room in details. It is a relaxing environment with smiling people. This hotel is a good choice.
On the other hand, till now, I still do not understand why the staff remind us not to flush toilet paper in the lavatory but drop it in the rubbish bin due to the flushing water is not powerful. A bit weird - I do not see any problem to flush the paper...

The location is a bit inconvenient than other hotels. It is fine for us as we rent a car for sightseeing.

A reminder: Do expect it is a home-feel hotel
Last but not least, I like this hotel not because of any outstanding facilities but just because of the sense of peaceful and relax I had during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Was here a few years ago and decided to stay a night again on Christmas Eve this year. The beauty of this place is just as good as my first encounter - the atmosphere, the room, the staff and the music in the air.

Meals (except breakfast) are now only available at 'The Old England' - undoubtedly the best and number one must stay once in a life time hotel!

Each room is a double-level unit for maximum 4 persons and the uppermost level is as usual - freezing cold. But put on more blankets if you must and you should be ok.

Room Tip: If you are afraid of the cold temperature, stay at the lower level as the heater is situated here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stay here from 16th to 18th Oct. The staff are very helpful, special thanks to Shirley & Tony for their assistance in all the transport arrangements. They made us feel like VIP the moment we check-in.

Shangrila has 3 hotels - namely Hanging Garden, Music Villa & The Old England. You could ask any of the staff from any of these hotels to arrange for transport to the various places of interests or to the other hotels (under Shangrila) if you are their guests & happened to dine or visiting one of their hotels. They hv designated pickup timing but they are always happy to arrange for special pick up (if you have a big group or your timing happen to coincide with a big group). Their transport arrangements really make it very convenient for us, we have the best of both world. The convenience of transport to the places of interests as well as the serenity of the our hotel, which is really peaceful & quiet, away from the crowd.

The room that we had is fantastic, double storey, the upper storey consists of 2 single beds but we only used the double bed on the 1st storey. We asked for a room with a view & indeed we could see mountains & part of a river from our balcony. They even hv a coffee machine (complete with coffee powder) & snacks. As they do not have a kitchen in this hotel, they provide free instant noodle after 11pm. From 9pm-11pm, they provide free drinks (with 2 types of nuts & 3 types of cookies per table) at their lobby. You could choose your drink from the drink menu provided. They would call you at about 8.45pm everyday to remind you that there are free drinks at 9pm. Good Personal Service !!

We went from Taichung to Cingjing by a rented car which charge us NT2000 per car. We had some idea on how to return to Sun Moon Lake which is our next destination but not 100% sure. We were really glad to learn that they could even arrange transport for us to Sun Moon Lake & charge abt NT450 per pax if to XinShe Information centre & abt NT 500-550 per pax if to your designated hotel. These rates is only abt NT100-150 more expensive to the rate charged by some of the tourist buses. From the Free-Go website, I think they are charging NT400-450 per pax. But do note that you have to share the car with some strangers (which is perfectly fine with us).

If we were to visit CingJing, we will definitely stay with them again & may even try out their Old England.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SoHengHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not that close to centre of Cingjing, this stay is located at lower end of the area. The atmosphere is exotic, not to say too much as you may look at some pictures shared by other users here. It needs consideration of transport since this takes 5 minutes by car from the nearest bus stop. Better rent a car with driver and drive you to the spot without hassle. The stay has offered shuttle service to shops on the first day and to the farm on the second day, but the one to the farm may be quite early for some travellers (8:40am), just after breakfast. Almost all have to check out at 8:30am and put the baggage at the Villa (partner stay). It's much better to offer one more shuttle to the farm at about 11:30am, especially for those who watched the sunrise at 4:00am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kennethkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I picked this hotel after seeing the "autumn leaves" photos of this location. As we stayed there in June, there was no autumn foliage but the area around the Music Villa was still pretty with summer flowers. It was really lovely to enjoy a cup of tea outside at the room balcony, watching the sea of clouds rolling in. A walk around the area would reward you with great views of a river and the surrounding mountains.

We had a duplex room for four, with a King bed downstairs and 2 single beds upstairs. My friend had a duplex room for five with King bed downstairs, a Queen bed and a single bed upstairs. Each room has a patio and some have a balcony. The rooms were decorated in a European style, with free amenities such as coffee, tea, snacks, soft drinks, notepad and colour pencils (for kids). The beds were comfortable and the rooms were decorated with nice touches such as an French coffee press and " fireplace". However the bathroom was tiny and very worn. The bathrooms really needed a renovation.

Breakfast was served in the main dining room next to the reception, and it was a semi-buffet. Eggs and the sandwich were prepared individually. As there are no shops nearby, you have to make plans for dinner using your own transport or eat at the sister property Shangrila Hanging Gardens. We were given the menu at check-in (around 4pm) and we have to pre-order (and make payment) if we want to dine at the Hanging Gardens. The hotel offered free transportation to the Hanging Gardens but the *latest* dinner arrival time was 6.30pm. Dinner at Hanging Gardens was a semi-buffet with western main courses such as fish, pork knuckle , chicken or beef. The buffet included a variety of salad, soup, bread, pasta, a variety of hot and cold drinks, fruits and cakes. Dinner was 600NT per head with a charge of 200NT for kids who were not ordering any main course. The main course servings were very large. The German pork knuckle was good but the others were average. The restaurant was full when we were there.

Hanging Gardens is situated higher up in the mountains compared to Music Villa, and it is also an interesting place to visit or stay. Both these properties are built on hillside and you have to climb many steps (no lift) from the car park to the main lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Classical European styles of interior and outdoor design, sophisticated furniture and collections are unique, musical CD  and high end  stereo/speaker system are particularly unforgettable. An easy getaway from metropolitan Taipei and Taichung.

Room Tip: Room with cabinet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docjjpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

For mature couple, It is, no doubt a place you can easily reignite the feeling of love and togetherness. It is a place where city-folk may find peace and true relaxation, away from the usual busy and forever rushing pace of life in the city. Transport could pose a major challenge. You may have breakfast at the hotel, dinner at its sister hotel nearby: Hanging Garden (i must say the food there is fantastic, the ambiance was even great). So what about lunch? Oh, this you got to figure it out yourself and make your own arrangement. The kitchen here is not cook-worthy and that's explain why the hotel does not cater for meal. Rich library of music CDs and reading materials (chinese novels if you like). The outdoor air quality surely is excellent, but the hotel could improve on maintenance (leaky toilet) and cleanliness (settled dust on flat surfaces).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casey9759949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantou hotels
18.4 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.2 mi away
Florence Resort Vilia European Manor Nantou
2.0 mi away
Naluwan Villas
Naluwan Villas
#86 of 127 in Nantou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old England Manor
The Old England Manor
#5 of 641 in Nantou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ming Ging Farm
Ming Ging Farm
#12 of 127 in Nantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cingjing Brilliant Twins of Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Music Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Music Villa

Property: Shangrila Music Villa
Address: No.34 Rongguang Lane, Ren'ai Township, Nantou 546, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Nantou
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Nantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Nantou, Cingjing Xiafei Music Villa is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Small Swiss Garden, Cingjing Farm, Evergreen Grassland. At Cingjing Xiafei Music Villa, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. Top features of the hotel include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, express check-in/check-out, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas, car park. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's recreational facilities, which include garden are designed for escape and relaxation. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Cingjing Xiafei Music Villa hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shangrila Music Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangrila Music Villa Hotel Nantou
Shangrila Music Villa Taiwan/Nantou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing