We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxed place”
Review of Eva Lanka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eva Lanka Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxed place”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Eva Lanka is a great hotel with a gorgeous view for the Tangalle sea. Service is absolutelly great, the staff is amazing, food is good, rooms are confortable and very clean, the swimming pools are nice, the decoration is natural and comunicates with the enviroment around it. You can be connected with the nature the most, waking up by the music of beautiful birds, walking around squirrels and enjoying the sun, all the green around you, the palm trees and even going to bed with the sound of the ocean. I truly recomend it!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilazago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    75
    40
    17
    11
See reviews for
96
91
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hotel Eva Lanka is a nice little hotel set in beautiful grounds just on the outside of Tangalle. It is nice to be tucked away from the hustle and bustle, and the fact that there is so much wildlife in between the rooms is great, because it almost feels like you are not in a hotel. The room itself had a great view, and lovely air conditioning, however the beds were a bit run down and the decoration a bit dated.

The staff were all great, very friendly and helped me organise a trip to Rekawa turtle conservation project in the evening which I highly recommend doing. Breakfast was nice, lots of choice. Didn't eat dinner there so not sure about that.

There was a beautiful "private" beach that apparently was just for the hotel guests. It's absolutely stunning, one of the best I saw, however far from the friendly conversation with the locals all over the rest of the island, the beach boys who work at the beach bar down there were kind of hawkers who I think make an effort to try and arrange tours or tuk tuks with every guest that wanders down to the beach. Lovely people but when travelling alone you just want your peace and quiet, so hopefully in the future the hotel guys can try and stop them from doing this so much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leone_eee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Not one of my favourite hotels. The food was edible but that's about it. After tasting the breakfast we decided to eat out for our 3 night stay. The hotel was probably really nice once but now it is really run down and needs money spent on it. It could be made into a 4 or even 5 star with vision and cash. Not an unfriendly place and the lower standards may well be fine for those not used to anything else.

Room Tip: Be sure you have a receipt with a description of what you booked very important in my view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

+ Great garden full of living creatures (made friends with a nice fuzzy chipmunk over a mango). You can see lots of chipmunks, birds, sometimes peacocks and monkeys. We also had a small monitor living under our roof.
+ Very nice and helpful staff
+ Isolated and quiet place with great desert beaches.
- The location is good if you flee civilization. The place is right in the middle of a fishermen's village, with no shops and restaurants around. If you need something you have to go to Tangalle which is around 10 minutes and 300 rupees by tuk-tuk. If you walk outside you get too much unwanted attention from locals.
- When you spend time at the beach you're always being molested by locals offering their service.
- The restaurant food is overpriced and half the menu items are missing, most of the others are frankly misleading (you can get "meet and cheese pasta" with no cheese at all or "fish, prawns and crab platter" without a crab).
- We had a small fridge (which is good) but it had an unpleasant smell.
- In the morning we had chipmunks' droppings over our pillows and bathroom.
- Sea-view chalets cost 25$ more but frankly not all of them offer a good view.
All in all it is a great place but definitely not a 4-star.
P.S. If you plan on sightseeing you should consider taking Suren's services (which are 2 times cheaper than the hotel offers and a lot of fun). He is a great and trustworthy guy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllieFresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Eva Lanka Hotel is located on a small hill in a very large and beautiful tropical garden just above small sandy beach. We were lucky enough to book the ocen view chalet with a magnificient view of the sea and sunrise every morning.
Rooms are bit dated, but very clean and everything was working fine. There are about 30 rooms, but the garden is so large that you rarely meet any other guests, it is a very quiet place, perfect to relax. Once this hotel gets renovated the price would be doubled if not higher. So do go there now as this place is a real gem!

We booked Eva Lanka hotel because I wanted to try the all inclusive ayurveda treatment and due to last minute booking, all ayurvedic resorts in the area were already fullly booked. Luckily for us as this place has an unforgettable location with excellent service. You receive the treatments in the middle of the garden, all you hear is just birds and the sea otherwise just peace and tranquillity.

The price for ayurvedic treatment is very reasonable (compared to other resorts) and the price/quality ratio is perfect. The therapists are great, knowledgeable, always nice and smiling.
The same must be said about all members of the staff, all of them are very nice, welcoming, always smiling and helpful!

The front office manager, Mandju, is a very funny guy, very nice, always helpful, he is able to arrange everything for you at a very reasonable price.

There are 2 small private sandy beaches, only guests of the hotel go there, however the beach boys at the beach just under the hotel can be quite annoying, but if you ignore them persistently, they will leave you alone.

There is a buffet breakfast and buffet dinner every day, the quality of food was fine, choice ok. I had a special ayurvedic diet so they prepared special meals just for me, I felt like a VIP as a personal waiter was always serving the food for me with an explanation of what I was eating!
The only negative thing was the price of a la carte menu and drinks which were quoted in USD and price were significantly higher than in other hotels.

Overall, it was an amazing stay and I can only recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miskos182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

In February we stayed at Eva Lanka in Tangalle for 3 nights. We had originally booked two nights through Agoda but our travel plans changed slightly and we arrived a day early and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Sea View room (19) which overlooked the ocean. The room was extremely spacious with an inviting sitting room and separate bedroom with ensuite. Like most of the hotels we've experienced in Sri Lanka, the double bed comprised of two single beds pushed together. We wished there was a mini refrigerator in the room and a TV would have been a nice touch to watch the nightly news.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and spacious, with two swimming pools and direct access to a stunning secluded beach, which seems to be one of the best in the area. The grounds were full of beautiful franjipani and hibiscus trees. The hotel is huge and can feel cavernous at times, with nowhere near enough guests staying to make the place feel anywhere near full or bustling. The barman however is very talented and whipped up some of the best cocktails we had experienced anywhere in Sri Lanka.

What really let the place down is the quality of food on offer and the pricing. The menu is priced in USD, always a bad sign unless you're actually in the US! The Sri Lankan rice & curries were $15, more than double what most other restaurants charge, while the poor selection of western food on offer was unappetising and similarly overpriced. We had lunch on our first day at the hotel which wasn't a great experience. A first choice of curd and treacle was unavailable, having "run out" during breakfast and not been replaced. The second, reluctant choice of chicken with mushrooms was a bland plate of thinly sliced chicken in a powdered gravy type sauce with mushrooms and onions. According to the menu it was supposed to come with a side of either salad, fried potatoes or boiled vegetables, but these failed to materialise. On asking the waiter he explained that the dish no longer came with sides, something which wasn't mentioned when we ordered. It would be suggested that the menu be re-printed to avoid future guest confusion. I wonder what other dishes from the selection are also no longer accompanied by a side?!

That evening we had a look at the sad buffet dinner selection and decided to give it a miss. It was pretty tired looking, with trays of nameless unlabelled dishes, which looked like a dry pasta bake, soup, rice, curry, noodles and some unappetising desserts.We ate out each evening at restaurants recommended on Trip Advisor which were a quarter or the price and much tastier. Breakfast was also equally disappointing, but as it was included with the rate we tried to make the most of it. Fruit, cornflakes, curd, toast and tea & coffee that tasted like dirt were about all we ate, the rest being overcooked eggs, slimy sausages, curry, noodles (possibly dinner leftovers from the previous night?).

We'd recommend that you stay at Eva however maybe give the food a miss!

Room Tip: Room 19 overlooks the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach3lHoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great choice for people, who first of all loves nature and appreciate opportunity to relax in solitude. Eva Lanka has desert clean beach and a beautiful garden, in which little cute chipmunks live. There are a lot of different lizards and colorful birds also. Sometimes it is possible to notice monkeys.
About nutrition: meals in hotel are delicious. It's better to take breakfast and supper in hotel, because there are few local restaurants. Our family visited Moon River, but we didn't like it at all.
Service: Leaders of Eva Lanka were friendly and always ready to help.
To sum up, Eva Lanka is the place you'd definitely want to return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekateryna_zv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.1 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.3 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#11 of 21 in Tangalle
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Jade Green Hambantota
Jade Green Hambantota
#2 of 5 in Hambantota
31 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
670 reviews
7.0 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva Lanka Hotel

Property: Eva Lanka Hotel
Address: Tangalle | Unakuruwa, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eva Lanka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like in Paradise: far away from hustle and bustle the Eva Lanka Resort is situated: On a little hill, surrounded by a wonderful tropical garden and bordered from one of the most beautiful beaches in the south of Sri Lanka. Descrizione The Eva Lanka Hotel is located in one of the most beautiful parts on the south coast of Sri Lanka, set in a secluded jungle-like area, near the little and typical fisher town Tangalle. Hidden under leafy trees, the big cottages are perched on a slide hill, overlooking a gorgeous piece of the Indian Ocean. The white-sand beaches surrounding the Resort, the clear water of the coral bay in front of it and the 30000 sq m hotel garden with thousands of tropical trees, plants and flowers, make a natural paradise of it. Informazioni generali The Hotel is 190 km distant from Colombo. You can book the transfer from Colombo Airport to the Hotel in one of the Hotels mini busses or an air taxi transfer offered by Sri Lankan Airlines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Eva Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing