We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and comfortable stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Wonderful and comfortable stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

After a little bit of a difficult stay in Mirissa, I came to Tangalle hoping for a hotel that was clean and comfortable.
Nuga Sewana was the perfect antidote!

I arrived at the hotel and was taken to a lovely hotel with a massive veranda overlooking the view of Tangalle bay. The room had a double and single bed. It was pristine white, and incredibly clean. There was an air conditioning unit, and the television played a range of cable channels. It was incredibly comfortable- and I enjoyed a beautiful sleep on my arrival.

The bathroom was smaller than the room, but was again pristine. The shower is not separated though and so the bathroom is flooded when you do use the shower. I would suggest putting a shower cubicle in or something of the sorts to prevent this.

The activities organised by the hotel are great. They organised a wonderful tour to the Turtle Hatchery in the evening for me. I had a very filling breakfast the day after as well.

The down-sides are already things that the hotel are looking to fix. They are building a swimming pool, eco rooms/huts and a bar. This will make the hotel absolutely wonderful.

Overall- I had a great experience. Wonderful service, wonderful rooms and very relaxed!

Value- 9.6/10
Total Score- 78%
Sri Lankan Hotel Ranking- 6th out of 20

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBhatt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    104
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
40
177
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Originally we were only going to stay in Nuga Eden for 2 nights but the charming villa, wonderful views and friendly staff made us stayed for 3 nights. The staff and owners were exceptionally helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay extraordinary and comfortable. The food was delicious home cooked Sri Lankan style. Price was reasonable and the room was clean and spacious. They even clean our room and gave us new linen which is the first in our 3 weeks of holiday in Sri Lanka!

Paradise beach is about 15 minutes walk away and it's the most beautiful beach I've ever been to.

The staff also arranged for us to do a day trip to visit nearby places of interest at a very reasonable price.

Thank you Ganter, Clive and Asad for your hospitality. Nuga Eden is one of the best accommodation we stayed during our holidays. We look forward to returning to see the new additions of your pool and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alleycat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Never knowing what you will find at the end of your long day of travelling, I was immediately recharged when I arrived at this hotel. I immediately fell into the relaxed mode as I heard the waves of the ocean lap up onto the shore. It was dark, but at dawn break, more excitement filled my veins as I inhaled the natural beauty. Perched on a hill opposite the most beautiful beach I have ever seen, this hotel is a wonderful find, with sincere staff and yummy food to boot. Price is more than fair for the lovely accommodations that await you at Nugasewana Eden Hotel. This hotel is a real find. I was in awe when I woke up to a large male peacock strutting across the adjacent roof.The spacious rooms are well appointed with lovely Sri Lankan wooden furniture which adds to the authentic overall experience. Perhaps what stands out the most is the wonderful customer service. The owners really go out of their way to make sure all of your needs are met and that you leave with happy memories...which I did.I would definitely return and stay for longer.

Room Tip: Apt is fabulous value if travelling with a group of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destinyspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights (second night tonight) the hotel was a welcomed relief / change from the usual hard beds/thin mattresses we have become accustomed to on this trip...if this hotel is in your price range rest assured you won't be disappointed....lovely stay! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were travelling in Sri Lanka for 4 weeks and this was one of the outstanding experiences in this price range. Our room was newly built or recently renovated with new mattress and new bedding. The bathroom was very modern and we felt comfortable. The hotel is located just next to the main road and the beach is on the opposite side of the road. To get to one of the nicest beaches on the island you have to catch the bus or a tuktuk anyway. Breakfast was served with a nice view on the sea and every morning we woke up by the sound of 1000 of parrots! There are a few good but basic restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We originally planned to stay for 2 nights, but it turned out so well we decided to stay for 3. The hotel is more like a collection of villas and wow, the food was great. Breakfast was included and was delicious, we loved the Buffalo Curd.
The beach is over the road, but still very close, they are also in the closing stages of adding a pool which will really be welcome. The sea in August is rough, but there are child friendly beaches only a short Tuk Tuk ride away.
We stayed with our 2 young girls, and they loved exploring the nearby beaches. I would recommend giving yourself more than the 3 days we had here, great value for money and a lot to see nearby, was the pick of our holiday (and we stayed in 10 places!)
Thanks for a great stay guys.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have the best view and breeze, however their were some cute mud huts around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was a great experience! Staying at a hotel near the beach, having a beautiful view, is just WOW. No words can describe how beautiful the whole place Is!
It's a great place for anyone: families, couples, friends etc. It was really peaceful and the service was amazing. The food provided was lovely and the staff were really nice and helpful! The rooms were excellent. They were clean, spacious and comfortable and lets not forget that they had free Wi-Fi! I will definitely be returning to this hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalle
0.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
2.1 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 20 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#11 of 20 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Talalla Retreat
Talalla Retreat
#1 of 1 in Talalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 20 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
4.9 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle

Property: Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Address: Pallikkudawa, Mahawela Rd., Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka (Formerly NugaSewana Eden)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tangalle
#3 Family Hotel in Tangalle
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
#4 Spa Hotel in Tangalle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nugasewana Eden is a family-run independent hotel with 10 wonderfully comfortable and spotless AC rooms plus an open-air terrace restaurant with magnificent views overlooking Tangalle's most famously beautiful beach just a minute's walk down from your favorite room. Nugasewana Eden located on a beautiful garden over looking the magnificent view of the Tangalla Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nugasewana Eden Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing