We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be part of the Amanwella Family - its wonderful!!”
Review of Amanwella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanwella
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2007

We stayed at Amanwella over the Christmas and New year period 2006/2007 and had a wonderful time. The setting is very peaceful and serene and you can literally escape from it all.

We had a suite on the hill which was a lot more private, and we would recommend those, rather than the beach villas – they have a bedroom and then a separate dressing and bathing area with roll top bath and separate shower. At the entrance, you are met with a plunge pool, which is wonderfully refreshing after a hard day at the beach!! There is also a lovely balcony which faces the sea, and you can hear the waves crashing onto the beach (these are large waves, and quite noisy during the night – but hey, it’s the beach!)

Raymond and Janet are the managers, and are the most fantastic people who drive their team hard to provide outstanding service. They are very visible, not like most hotel managers who sit in their office, and they make sure that your every need is catered for. Most evenings, we got a small present, like a wooden carving, and a handwritten note from Raymond and Janet wishing us the best for the following day, from the ‘Amanwella Family’. This is just how it felt – it is more like being invited to stay somewhere rather than actually paying for it!! Their team are just the most helpful people you will ever have the benefit to meet. These guys are very hardworking and absolutely fantastic – another plus for this resort.

The food was nice, but simple, with not much choice, but you can ask the chef for any dish and they will do their best to prepare it for you for dinner. Once we knew this, we readily asked for changes to suit our Western palettes!! During the day, lunch is mainly served at the beach club, which serves freshly caught fish through to burgers and chips, all served with the best service, a large smile and the sound of the waves.

On an evening, there is not much to do but for us this was ideal – we literally played cards, and then went to bed to re-energise for the hard slog on the beach. We also took a DVD player & DVDs with us which came in quite handy for the evenings.

Venturing out of the resort is pretty limited, but is worth it to see what life is like in the surrounding area – we went to a local wildlife park to see the elephants – it is marvellous to see that they are trying their best to force through conservation. There are also talks during the evenings in the reosrt – and if you are lucky enough and go at the right time of year, you may be able to go to see the turtles hatching on a local beach.

The location is wonderful, but if you find it difficult to get round, there is quite a walk from your room to the restaurant and numerous steps all over the resort – but for most people this is the best way to walk off those extra pounds from your meals!!

Downsides: The journey from Colombo is arduous. Luckily we caught the Air Taxi – the one and only plane that was working from Colombo, which meant 40 minutes by plane rather than the 6 hours in the car done by most other people. The Sri Lankan government really do need to invest in their infa-structure and I would agree with the comments before about probably doing another resort further up the coast and then making your way down to Amanwella - it would be ideal.

Another downside were some of the other guests. Please come to this resort if you are nice and are not rude to the staff!! They will bend over backwards for you, but do not need to be sworn at – as some friends of ours overheard!!!

We went from here to Tea Trails in the Cultural triangle for 5 nights. It took 6 hours by car, so again, you need to think about onward journeys.

All in all, I would recommend here for a relaxing ‘get away from it all’ time and do nothing but laze by the sea and have gloriously relaxing evenings with a slow drink. Perfect.

(just a note on the scoring - we would have marked this a 5 out of 5, but then we went to Tea Trails, and the setting and food were possibly one notch higher, which was difficult! But we have compared the 2 and hence have marked this a 4 out of 5)

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Coffee&applepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 350 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Warsaw, Poland
125
Reviewed March 27, 2006

We stayed 6 nights at Amanwella with our baby daughter at the end of October 2005. We booked two nights at Ocean Suite and then moved to a Standard Suite on the hill and we liked the Suite on the hill much better as it had fantastic view of the sea and had more privacy than the Ocean Suites which are located lower on the hill and hence closer to all major hotel amenities, the beach and palm grove.

We have visited and stayed at other Aman properties in Asia and North Africa, hence we would like to share some of our experiences from Amanwella.

Location
This is one of the most beautiful beach locations in the world. It was not peaceful in October with powerfull waves operating all day and night but combined with an empty crescent beach, palm groves, view of simple amanvillas on the hill and their tile roofs and local villagers chatting by the boats the amanwella's location exceedes expectations and leaves a long lasting impression of a perfect place to which one would like to return every year.

However, Amanwella will not be easy to reach from Colombo until regular flights link Colombo International Airport with Tangalle or Kogalla. Hence it is the best to make it part of your more extensive tour of Sri Lanka, stay or have a short break in AmanGalla another Aman property in Sri Lanka (this is a must see landmark hotel in Galle; it serves excellent lunch or dinner) in Galle or prepare yourself for a 6-7 hour long drive by car on an interesting but very narrow and busy coastal road. However if one manages expectations properly the trip is interesting and a highlight in itself as it allows to appreciate part of the damage made by tsunami which does not seem to have affected Amanwella at all.

We booked an "air taxi" flight from Colombo to Kogalla (some 50kms from Tangalle) but it was cancelled. However we were treated to the famous Aman service and within one hour Aman arranged a car with a driver who took us from Colombo International Airport to Tangalle via Galle where we had excellent dinner at AmanGalla and were allowed to relax and change in one of the beautiful hotel rooms, courtesy of the General Manager.

Property
It is extremely large (the private crescent beach is at least 500m long) and one may feel of being totally separated from the world. The hillside location and layout of main facilities add to the beauty and peacefullness of the place. At the same time one can hear the sounds of the local village and see local villagers and fishermen coming to the beach and lanunching their boats for the sea or returning from the sea. This in no way distracts Amanlike privacy but allows for a very limited but desirable interaction with locals and reminds where we are without taking us out of the perfect beach holiday.

Those who have visited other Amans may be surprised by the minimilistic architecture which reaches its apogaeum in the reception area. However this sets us properly for the simple and minimalistic style of all buildings and villas of the resort.

Villas
Villas are spatious and elegant with very large bathrooms, bedrooms, open walk-in-closet and a private pool (the latter located for some reason on the back rather than ocean side of the villa). However, compared with other Aman properties the villas are somewhat more rigid, simple and are not as perfectly finished (e.g. we do not understand the purpose of a 1.5m by 1.5m metal tank on the balcony which remained empty during our stay, and the sliding doors need some additional work too) which may dissapoint some seasoned "amanjunkies" given the relatively high price Aman charges from November 2005.

Food and Amenities
Food is simple and the menu list is not long similar to other AmanResorts but it is excellent and service is extremely attentive, i.e. meeting expectations before they are spoken. We liked to have shrimp barbecue at the Beach Restaurant for lunch and dinners at the main restaurant or in the room where we could listen to powerful waves and enjoy sounds of the nearby village gardens and jungle.

As all other Amans the hotel has a library (smaller than at other Amans and not as peaceful as it is located on the path to the main restaurant!!!???), and an elegant open bar cum launge which is separate from the main restaurant. The main pool (of almost Olimpic pool size) below main restaurant is an excellent place to spend an early morning or evening. Also the views of the palm grove and the ocean from the main restaurant are truly unforgetable.

Other comments
We found Amanwella perfect for a holiday with our small daughter as the place was clean and peaceful, the staff extremely understanding and helpful (sometimes even too attentive), the villa spacious with all neccessary amenities and... our baby daughter loved fresh juices prepared especially for her and regular food served from the menu, hence we had to leave all jars with babyfood we brought with us.

However this is by no means a place where you would find children disturbing a perfect and peacefull holiday. The property is so large and villas offer sufficient privacy for one not to see and hear other guest between breakfast and dinner.

We do hope to able to return to Amanwella for another perfect beach holiday sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2005

We stayed in Amanwella last month for 3 days. After seeing their webpage I thought I was gonna get board, but NO! It was the most relaxing vacation I had in my life! The setting of the hotel is beautiful. Rooms are big,modern and elegant(classic aman)

The food was excellent. Everything was made from fresh food, the chef was a fab Aussie.

Last night we had an amazing dinner at the beach club which was reserved only for us.

There is a small bug problem in the rooms though...

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dxb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2005

We stayed for a week at the end of a superb tour of Sri Lanka and although the wind was strong and we couldn't swim in the sea, we relaxed totally during our time at the Amanwella. Although the food was a bit limited sometimes, the overall atmosphere and the villas were perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ants8670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2005

We stayed at the Amanwella for 3 nights in mid October. I have never been to a better beach location than this. The view is magnificant, empty beaches, palmtrees etc.
The local people in the hotel are extremly friendly and helpful.
The Villas are very nice, but spend the extra money for seaview, its worth it.
However, as it is in the middle of nowhere you need to be a bug lover. If you do not like ants or bugs in your villa, than stay away from this place. Its in the middle of nature, so you can every kind of bug. At the beach club you can also find a snake here and there. If you like nature, this place is great, but if you are a real citybuff - think twice.
Also, the villas still need some impovements. We stayed in 202 and it was easily possible to get into the villa without a key and the cleaning stiopped, where dust can easily be spotted.
Just to come back to the beginning, we loved the place, but there is room for improvement

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikezens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2005

We stayed at Amanwella for six nights in April 2005. The hotel exceeded my expectations in terms of location (right on the beach), room decor (very luxurious and spacious with a huge bathroom, private plunge pool and large terrace), service (veritable army of warm and friendly staff though still finding their legs), food (excellent quality of seafood at a reasonable price).

We were upgraded from a pool suite to a ocean pool suite.

The main pool was incredible with excellent service in that area. It was almost deserted except for us and loads of staff.

The beach club served excellent grilled seafood during the day.

Hotel sits of 800 m long beach, though not a private beach as none are in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AJDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2005

Super! Spent 4 fantastic nights at Amanwella last week. We had a fabulous time. All the villas had their own private plunge pools (6mx4m)!! The infinity pool was incredible (45m long). The beach is pristine and the ocean blue. Service and food were impeccable.
Landscaping to be completed after the monsoons. A few minor problems persisted, but any newly opened resort would have them. I'm sure they will be sorted out soon.
All in all a wonderful experience. Great location. A must for all Amanjunkies!!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.5 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
1.4 mi away
Coco Tangalla
Coco Tangalla
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 23 in Tangalle
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sooriya Resort & Spa
Sooriya Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Rekawa
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
285 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel
Ceylon Sea Hotel
#12 of 23 in Tangalle
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanwella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanwella

Address: Bodhi Mawatha, Wella Mawatha | Godellawela, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tangalle
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tangalle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range: $869 - $1,356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanwella 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a mature coconut grove fronting a crescent-shaped beach, Amanwella is a seaside resort offering 30 contemporary suites, each with private plunge pool and terrace. The resort's suites are linked by pathways along a landscaped rise with beach and ocean views. Guests can relax on the expansive terrace surrounding the main pool or on the sand beach. The seaside town of Tangalle is nearby and a short stroll will reveal village life and Sri Lanka's diverse flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanwella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanwella Hotel Tangalle
Amanwella Resort Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing