We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amanwella
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eva Lanka Hotel(Tangalle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Tangalla(Tangalle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last House(Tangalle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Jaya Homestay(Tangalle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
236
75
34
18
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
75
34
18
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolaman resortscoconut groveocean suitesri lankathe general managercrescent shaped beachmain restaurantprivate beachbeach restaurantlarge terraceeach guestroom numbermain poolmosquito repellentindian oceancrashing waves
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 365 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you get chance to visit this little piece of heaven then do so. Although the journey from the airport is far too long, once you get there you will love it. It's not for those wishing nightlife or a party, but peace and quiet with good accommodation, good and very reasonably priced food and drink, great location and a fantastic beach. The management and staff are charming and very helpful. The pool is lovely and has a fantastic view overlooking the beach and crashing waves. Very little negative to say except maybe the positioning of the plunge pools and the proximity to other villas. Not as private as one would like but neither intrusive to spoil things. One of the better priced Aman hotels. Take my advice and give it a go; probably the best hotel in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Take an ocean view villa higher up. Great views and just a little more remote.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X19SPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We love Aman Resorts and booked a few nights here during a Sri Lankan holiday. The beach is second to none. Soft sand, deserted, crashing waves. The waves can be a bit rough, but a life guard will stand on the beach and make sure you are ok. Service was good. Rooms were ok, but I do agree the plunge pools are poorly located. Also, we could not get any wi-fi in the room even though there was a small contraption. The butler said many people could not get wi-fi. If you go to the Library, you can get a signal, but for what you pay, it should work in the rooms. Also, food was average. Much better at other high end resorts like the Tea Trails. Thai food was not very Thai, fish and pork overcooked, porridge was good. Very nice black lab on the grounds. Overall, a bit disappointed.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TysonConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I visited this fabulous place while we went on a hotel inspection tour and the place was................................there's no words to say.I can say this the best place/hotel/boutique in Sri Lanka.Calm,quiet,beautiful and so on...so on....We were welcomed and given delicious King Coconuts and we were thrilled from that,The pool,suites were amazing and i was clearly amazed by this wonderful place.What i can say is come visit this nice country and if you come here do not forgot to visit this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lasindu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I'm reviewing Amanwella as an interloper, an intruder who stayed up the coast at the Teak House and couldn't resist regular fixes of this hotel's charm, cocktails, swimming pool and WiFi. The service was unfailingly courteous and helpful, the cocktails expertly mixed and the WiFi not so bad either. We had a couple of very pleasant lunches by the pool, and a lovely candle-lit dinner; the cooking is pretty good compared to many of the restaurants in the area, so we became regulars during our 2 weeks in the area.
And then, there is the location on the promontory overlooking Silent Beach, beautiful, peaceful and instantly relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Chique, boutique style hotel resort. The area of Tangalle Amanwella is situated in, is extremely beautiful and picturesque, with the view from the infinity pool and dining area during the day (particularly at sunset and sunrise, if you wake early enough!) absolutely mesmerising. The rooms are extremely spacious, the Ocean suite we stayed in had a great view of the ocean, which in June is rough, due to the SW monsoon period on the island. Nonetheless, the beach restaurant had an amazing location nestled amongst palm trees, where the food (especially the fresh seafood) and endless drinks list, make for a relaxing place to casually dine. The more sophisticated dining restaurant in the main building was excellent, with great waiting service and delicious food. All of this however, isn't cheap, but is certainly worth it. Though to really appreciate it, two nights is a minimum.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews