We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, peaceful and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have stayed in Palm Paradise Cabanas on three occasions and the fact we have returned there is indicative of the fact we are happy with the place. It is ideal for a stop when travelling along the main coast road in the south of Sri Lanka. The wooden cabanas are clean and comfortable. The beach is right alongside the grounds of the hotel. Some previous reviewers have commented that wi-fi is not available, but I have always been welcomed into the office to use my computer so this has been no problem. The menu is wide ranging (eastern with plenty of western choice) and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 713 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in new villa for 3 days and it was so lovely tasting a bit of paradise what they call it . Very charming and peaceful setting allover the property . Room was very clean , comfortable and very spacious . Good facilities, hot water and internet free . Birds singing was our morning wake up call . Staff was wonderful and helpful. Sri Lanka smile on their faces.
swimming pool was refreshing during hot sunny days and nice trees cool you up . Restaurant is open air and good food good service , some time a bit slower. Can hear the sounds of waves from the restaurant if you sit on the right side . This place has wooden cabanas in the same property .
This was our 3 days with Palm Paradise

Room Tip: if you are couple up stair rooms have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeMV2346BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Except it's not. At 10 to 20 USD PPCabanas would be fair value; at the online rate of 60 EUR it's extortionate and at the rack rate of 100 EUR it's delusional.

Positives: clean rooms and helpful, attentive service. Negatives: these are rudimentary beach shacks which do not correspond the hotel's photos (which are of a relatively few number of renovated rooms); tiny beds (if you're over 5'2" you'll feel cramped); school camp ambience; crap breakfast and forced dinner menu (no a la carte). The beach is ok: fine if you want to lounge about on the grubby recliners provided by the 3 unassociated bars/restaurants that serve mains at about 1000 LKR and beers at 350 LKR and which are open into the evening with a beach bonfire and the local kids channeling Bob Marley. Other than at the corners it's a dumping break and not suitable for surfing.

Overall: backpacker hostel taking advantage of limited competition in the mid to flash market; poor value; and, in need of substantial investment to make it a pleasant place to stay. Probably paradise if you've never been anywhere nicer.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Itzaripoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Beautiful wooden cabanas with views of crystal clear waters. A few feet walk takes you to a cove of a beach with blue waves, warm ocean and palm trees in the background. Sip a rum and coconut cocktail whilst tanning and listening to the sound of paradise. The staff are very friendly and the breakfasts were fantastic. Definitely worth staying in the cabanas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtz1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 days in the resort and I would totally recommend it to everyone, also if you are sophisticated. The huts are charming with a beautiful garden all over. The food was delicious and we tried many Sri Lankan specialities. The staff is very nice and helpful and I do not believe any of the negative ratings. The beach is used only by the guests of the resort, so not crowded at all. On the beach there is a very nice bar, try coconut rum :). In 4 days we had zero bad experience with the service. The best place we have visited in Sri Lanka, so go ahead!
Eva and Tomas, Czech Republic

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ewullkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

In short I was highly disappointed with my most recent stay in Palm Paradise. The most notable reason would have to be how rundown the rooms, area, environment and restaurant have become, and the price is not reflective of this. The wooden beach cabanas have lost their 'flash packer' charm and become dirty, old, and damp, reminiscent of budget, much cheaper, backpacker beach cabanas found elsewhere in Sri Lanka. Palm Paradise was almost 12,000 rupees half board and for that price one can find far better in Sri Lanka.

Without dwelling too much on other negatives, I would have to echo other reviewers and say the service was pretty morose, we weren't offered a choice of SL or Western breakfast, the pool was unclean, and, even with the clear feedback on tripadvisor, the hotel is still burning rubbish next to the pool.

Finally, although this is not the fault of the hotel, the general environment / ambiance has suffered as the beach at Goyambokka is no longer untouched, it is full if tourists and sun loungers, and the area looks like a building site with Palm Paradise and other hotels building further along the bay. Moreover there were several dead fish and crabs on the beach when we were there which made me uneasy about going into the sea.

With Sri Lanka encouraging tourism on a large scale the number of tourists on beaches and the price of hotels is expected to increase. So long as the standard of service / accommodation reflects the increase in price by ensuring decent standards then I can't see a problem with this. However, having stayed in Palm Paradise twice before, I was highly disappointed in my third visit because they have not maintained the charm, rustic beauty, cleanliness or friendliness that they once had.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmseColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is comprised of rather rustic, but fun, cabanas and more substantial enclosed "villas" just behind and a longer walk to the beach. We stayed in Cabana D, which was not far from the kitchens, and therefore, got all the kitchen frying oil smells. The room had a double bed with mosquito net, a couple of chairs, a lockable cupboard, and some nice tea-planters' chairs on the verandah overlooking the gardens down to the beach. The first night here was uneventful, Compulsory half-board is a bummer, as the set meal was disappointing and reminded us of "stalovaya" in ex-soviet countries, i.e. stodgy cafeteria food that gets plopped on a tray for the masses.

The beach was nice, the sea a little rough but pleasant enough. The beach is crowded with private bars.

But the second night, New Year's Eve, was something never to forget. Dinner was moved to the lawns and an open buffet with simple but well cooked fish and prawns and some side dishes and desserts. Some traditional musicians provided excellent backdrop.

Later that evening, shortly after 11pm, the privately owned bar on the beach revved up its supersonic acoustic amplifiers and loudspeakers and until 5am literally blasted us with non-stop acid rock and heavy metal music, with throbbing percussions that actually shook the walls of our cabana. We were both dealing with colds at this time, so did not appreciate the fact that we were unable to sleep even one minute the entire night and then left for Colombo at 7 that next morning. The staff of the hotel apologized but said there was nothing they could do.

Apparently the same beach bar holds nightly musical jamborees but at least are closed up by midnight. So beware, particularly if you are looking for a peaceful night's rest. You will not get it here.

WiFi is only available near the main office block, and is quite a distance particularly if you are in one of the villas. It doesn't take much effort to at least extend the modem booster up to the dining area so one can sit and have a cup of tea or coffee while checking emails.

Because of the New Year's bookings, this was the only beach-side accommodation we could find that was available, and our travel agent really searched the entire coastal region to find something suitable.

The staff were friendly, and the kitchen help likewise did everything they could to cater to our needs.

All in all, a very mixed experience.

Room Tip: As far away from the beach as possible, if you want to get any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJCardinalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.8 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 23 in Tangalle
333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sooriya Resort & Spa
Sooriya Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Rekawa
22 reviews
2 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#12 of 23 in Tangalle
103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coco Tangalla
Coco Tangalla
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Paradise Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Paradise Cabanas

Address: Goyambokka, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tangalle
#2 Family Hotel in Tangalle
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tangalle
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range: $75 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Paradise Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PPC has 22 comfortable wooden cabanas on stilts and 6 air conditioned rooms in villas scattered around a beach side palm grove. The beach is safe for swimming. All cabanas have spacious verandahs facing the sea and thus catching the cool breeze. Villas have glass frontage with spacious terrace and balconies . Cabanas are equipped with tables, comfortable chairs, beds, fan, mosquito net, attached bathroom, hot water, electricity, lie lows, beach mats, etc. Air conditioned specious villa rooms are equipped with comfortable beds,table, chairs and free wifi. Entire resort is designed especially for nature lovers and guests who want to relax in a peaceful surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Paradise Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Paradise Cabanas Tangalle
Palm Paradise Cabanas Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing