We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Paid 2 nights accomondation 01/01/2013 to 03/01/2013 checked out on the02/01/2013 , Staff and Management was rude and unhelpful, spoke little English, room was dirty and foul. as I was the only TOURIST OF COLOUR AND MOST OF THE GUEST WAS WHITE , I detected a little racism AND resentment towards me , both from Management and Restaurant staff, questions were ignored, menue was just thrown at me "A" waiter said to me in broken english "it was my problem" and just walked away - THIS WAITER who was just a about 18 or 20 was speaking to me A 65 years old MAN in such a manner I was shocked - Forget about the Food it was ********** awful, terrible, discusting - THOMAS from Australia

Room Tip: need I say more
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QUEENSLAND1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Paradise C... T, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Thomas
I am dismayed by your comments and wish to convey my apologies to you if you felt so discriminated by your color. The fact remains that it could not be possible for such discrimination or racism towards you as we both are dark skin and so as our entire staff. I am sorry to be accused on this kind of serious allegation that does not exist within our organization in our 33 years of existence.
I do not want to say that you are wrong in your judgement for your self Thomas, but our reputation is well displayed by so many " excellent" comments that our guests have written in the past .

Sir , your booking has been made by a travel agent . In this trade many travel agents mislead their customers by promising different things that are not there . You may be a victim of one of those travel agents, but we got penalized for that .

Thank you Thomas ,

Regards from Rohan (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    181
    61
    25
    19
See reviews for
149
342
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Above expectation. About 24 wooden cabanas situated near a small idyllic beach with plenty of private garden space, this is what the Sri Lankan beach feeling is all about. Sea is rough but good for swimming which is rare for this area. The bay/ beach is an public area but during our stay it wasn't really crowded and most visitors were staying at PPC. There are 3 beach cafes/restaurants: we tried both the most left (which was good) as the middle restaurant (which was great, the best for Sri Lankan style grilled fish!).

Regarding the food of PPC: we read on TA that the food (which was included in our price) was good but simple, but this is not our opinion. Food was excellent, and we have had one of our best curries here during our 22 days trip in Sri Lanka.

Service of Rohan and his team was great, they helped us out with booking traintickets from Ella to Kandy which was a struggle in the Singhalese new year period.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: cabana on the right side (fronting beach) is better because of possible music/noise from beach resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst_Merel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Paradise C... T, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Ernst
We are thrilled to receive your generous review . Thank you ver much . Me and my staff always doing our best to make our guest to have a relaxed holiday and value for their money . Goyambokka beach is well known in the South coast of Sri Lanka , so you have been at the right place Ernst .
Best regards
Rohan (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Cabanas are well sized and beautifully simple. The adjacent Goyambokka beach is great and has independent bars which can be lively at nights (a local band visted twice during a 10 day stay). Overall Palm Paradise is very relaxing. The compulsary breakfast + dinner package is a little restrictive but the food is good. Service for the rooms and at the restaurant was excellent.

The cabanas have 24 hr security guards. The peace at night was occassional broken by barking and fighting between dogs belonging to the owners and strays.

Room Tip: If you're wanting a quieter stay ask for a cabana further from the beach since music from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Paradise C... T, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Rory

Thank you for taking time time to write a review about us. Glad you had a wonderful time staying with PPC .
Goyambokka beach is known as best beach at Tangalle and you made the right decision to visits PPC during your holiday .
We wish to see you again.
Kind regards from Rohan ( Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We made a booking and paid in advance for our stay at Palm Paradise and on arrival they had misplaced our booking with only 1 night of 3 with a room available!

Our first afternoon was therefore spent searching the area for alternative accommodation. To be fair the management at PPC were very apologetic and put us up for free in one of the luxury villas of which we were extremely grateful.

The villas are lovely, secluded, large and ideal for families. They have great views of the sea and you get to see monkeys swinging from the trees in the morning. It was a great experience staying in this room.

The resort however felt quite confined and a bit soulless . It's very large and feels like a complex rather than the idyllic beach side cabanas I had imagined. I felt quite penned in and was pleased that we weren't staying there any longer than one night as I imagine you could start to feel a bit claustrophobic as there is very little to do..

The food was average and really only has one option to chose from, due to the half board nature of the resort. They do have another menu but when we tried to order off this we were given very limited choices. I think you have to order the morning before if you want to deviate from the set menu at all.

In terms of our checkout we did have a bit of a battle to get the refund for the nights we had booked and were unable to stay. Despite it being their error they were reluctant to give us a full refund expecting us to still pay booking charges which equated to over £50. After lots of negotiation they finally acknowledged it was entirely their mistake and gave us our money back.

Overall PPC is nice, clean and spacious but in my opinion lacking soul and feels to much like a confined complex.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairesmithlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Paradise C... T, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. I still regret for what happened with regards to your on line booking . It has never happened in my 15 year service at PPC except this time . We investigated and found the reason . Over booking has happened due to a synchronization error between our reservation system and on line booking system . It is now rectified by our IT provider and I will make sure that it will not happen again.
All what I could do was to offer you complimentary night on that particular day . Few minutes delay in refunding your money was due to the fact that your booking being on line booking even at the time of refund , payment had not been credited to our account . It took few minutes to determine the refund amount .
I am extremely sorry for the inconvenience madam .
Glad that still you liked the villa you stayed .

Thanks again!
Sincerely Rohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here a few times. The beach location is excellent and the whole place is well maintained. The experience of staying in a cabana is always refreshing from a normal hotel.
This is a great place to escape off the normal track of hotels.
The new 'modern style' cabanas are superb. Plus the new swimming pool is an added plus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritKyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Paradise C... T, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We have made an effort to be different from normal track of hotels. Glad you took your time off with us and enjoyed your stay . Swimming pool is always a delight in tropical Sri Lanka .
Thank you and appreciate your review
Rohan (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spacious private bungalow, prive beach, only few tourists... a dream!
The resort is isolated, and is what we loved.
This place is perfect to relax and enjoy doing nothing, will suit any kind of travellers:couple, group or familly.
They only sell room + dinner + breakfast package. I found the it a bit pricy for the type of food we had for dinner (really simple), and the other hand breakfast was super great and huge!
For lunch we went for 1 of the 2 little beach restaurant, expensive $15 usd for 10 really small shrimps & not really good..., better stick to the fried rice and salads!

ADVISE: tangalle is about 2 hours from Galle and 5 from Colombo airport, better book your transportation in advance. siroshan@hotmail.com is a really safe driver/guide, and is only asking for $50/day.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fionlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Paradise C... T, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
What a rewarding review . We are so happy to know that it was a " dream" ? Believe me , it was a dream to have you with us as our valued guests . We invite you to dream of another holiday and we will be dreaming of having you with us again.
Thank you so much !,
Rohan (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Julians
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my second visit to Palm Paradise. My last trip - 19 years ago - was very enjoyable, so I was keen to return. The highlights I remembered from my first trip were the beautiful cabanas, the family of monkeys that visited us every day and the fabulous beach.

So fast-forward 19 years and I'm back, hopefully for more of the same. 3 weeks earlier I had tried unsuccessfully to book a cabana via internet. Undeterred, when we arrived in Tangalle we decided to just walk in on the off-chance, and to my surprise were offered a cabana for 2 nights.

The cabanas were just as I remembered, rustic and comfortable, and well-spaced out in a neat and tidy garden complex, close to the beach. Security seems to have been beefed up considerably since my last visit - there was even a 24-hour security guard posted in a small structure not far from our cabana. The need for the security became apparent over the next 2 days. Unfortunately, the monkeys were long gone.

I read a sign in reception which stated that the beach in front of the complex was public, and the management were not responsible for the actions of the people on the beach. In fact there are a couple of beach bars run by locals, where you can eat, drink, and rent beds/equipment. However, we saw how these guys dispose of their rubbish and old fish: They just dump it onto ever-increasing piles of refuse behind their huts and at the end of the beach. The smell on the beach was nauseating, and of course this drifts across the fence into the area of the cabanas. This is such a pity, as this beach is naturally beautiful, and swimming in the waves is amazing.

Time for dinner, then. The obligatory half-board menu gives you no choice: The first evening was traditional Sri Lanka rice and curry, de-spiced to European tastes (you could add sambal separately). Second evening was a beef stew with rice, third evening was fish fingers with noodles. Deserts included fruit fritters and bananas & custard. This kind of fare must be difficult for families with kids, and some of the adult guests were audibly unimpressed. It's all very unimaginative, cheap and bland.

As has been reported elsewhere, in the evenings loud disco music starts on the beach (courtesy of the beach bar), and continues well into the night (whether or not they have customers). This is particularly annoying, and made us suspect there was some kind of vendetta going on between the beach and the management.

2 days was enough for us, and we were happy to move on back to the real Sri Lanka. However, I'm giving the place 4 stars purely because of the cabanas and their proximity to the picturesque (public) beach.

Room Tip: Well away from the beach if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Paradise C... T, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to receive your negative comments but we believe that it is your personal experience this time as a repeater guest of PPC. We are dismayed by your comments about beach music during your stay . Please note that as management we have taken all possible measures to control the music which is totally belong the control of the hotel. We will continue to take further action in this regard.
Thank you again ! !
Best Rohan ( Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalle
0.2 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.8 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 20 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 20 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#11 of 20 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
12.0 mi away
Talalla Retreat
Talalla Retreat
#1 of 1 in Talalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
5.7 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Paradise Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Paradise Cabanas

Property: Palm Paradise Cabanas
Address: Goyambokka, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tangalle
#2 Family Hotel in Tangalle
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Paradise Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PPC has 22 comfortable wooden cabanas on stilts and 6 air conditioned rooms in villas scattered around a beach side palm grove. The beach is safe for swimming. All cabanas have spacious verandahs facing the sea and thus catching the cool breeze. Villas have glass frontage with spacious terrace and balconies . Cabanas are equipped with tables, comfortable chairs, beds, fan, mosquito net, attached bathroom, hot water, electricity, lie lows, beach mats, etc. Air conditioned specious villa rooms are equipped with comfortable beds,table, chairs and free wifi. Entire resort is designed especially for nature lovers and guests who want to relax in a peaceful surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Paradise Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Paradise Cabanas Tangalle
Palm Paradise Cabanas Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing