We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Cabanas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Location for Cabanas”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here a few times. The beach location is excellent and the whole place is well maintained. The experience of staying in a cabana is always refreshing from a normal hotel.
This is a great place to escape off the normal track of hotels.
The new 'modern style' cabanas are superb. Plus the new swimming pool is an added plus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritKyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Paradise C... T, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We have made an effort to be different from normal track of hotels. Glad you took your time off with us and enjoyed your stay . Swimming pool is always a delight in tropical Sri Lanka .
Thank you and appreciate your review
Rohan (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    186
    64
    25
    19
See reviews for
153
350
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spacious private bungalow, prive beach, only few tourists... a dream!
The resort is isolated, and is what we loved.
This place is perfect to relax and enjoy doing nothing, will suit any kind of travellers:couple, group or familly.
They only sell room + dinner + breakfast package. I found the it a bit pricy for the type of food we had for dinner (really simple), and the other hand breakfast was super great and huge!
For lunch we went for 1 of the 2 little beach restaurant, expensive $15 usd for 10 really small shrimps & not really good..., better stick to the fried rice and salads!

ADVISE: tangalle is about 2 hours from Galle and 5 from Colombo airport, better book your transportation in advance. siroshan@hotmail.com is a really safe driver/guide, and is only asking for $50/day.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fionlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Paradise C... T, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
What a rewarding review . We are so happy to know that it was a " dream" ? Believe me , it was a dream to have you with us as our valued guests . We invite you to dream of another holiday and we will be dreaming of having you with us again.
Thank you so much !,
Rohan (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Julians
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my second visit to Palm Paradise. My last trip - 19 years ago - was very enjoyable, so I was keen to return. The highlights I remembered from my first trip were the beautiful cabanas, the family of monkeys that visited us every day and the fabulous beach.

So fast-forward 19 years and I'm back, hopefully for more of the same. 3 weeks earlier I had tried unsuccessfully to book a cabana via internet. Undeterred, when we arrived in Tangalle we decided to just walk in on the off-chance, and to my surprise were offered a cabana for 2 nights.

The cabanas were just as I remembered, rustic and comfortable, and well-spaced out in a neat and tidy garden complex, close to the beach. Security seems to have been beefed up considerably since my last visit - there was even a 24-hour security guard posted in a small structure not far from our cabana. The need for the security became apparent over the next 2 days. Unfortunately, the monkeys were long gone.

I read a sign in reception which stated that the beach in front of the complex was public, and the management were not responsible for the actions of the people on the beach. In fact there are a couple of beach bars run by locals, where you can eat, drink, and rent beds/equipment. However, we saw how these guys dispose of their rubbish and old fish: They just dump it onto ever-increasing piles of refuse behind their huts and at the end of the beach. The smell on the beach was nauseating, and of course this drifts across the fence into the area of the cabanas. This is such a pity, as this beach is naturally beautiful, and swimming in the waves is amazing.

Time for dinner, then. The obligatory half-board menu gives you no choice: The first evening was traditional Sri Lanka rice and curry, de-spiced to European tastes (you could add sambal separately). Second evening was a beef stew with rice, third evening was fish fingers with noodles. Deserts included fruit fritters and bananas & custard. This kind of fare must be difficult for families with kids, and some of the adult guests were audibly unimpressed. It's all very unimaginative, cheap and bland.

As has been reported elsewhere, in the evenings loud disco music starts on the beach (courtesy of the beach bar), and continues well into the night (whether or not they have customers). This is particularly annoying, and made us suspect there was some kind of vendetta going on between the beach and the management.

2 days was enough for us, and we were happy to move on back to the real Sri Lanka. However, I'm giving the place 4 stars purely because of the cabanas and their proximity to the picturesque (public) beach.

Room Tip: Well away from the beach if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Paradise C... T, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to receive your negative comments but we believe that it is your personal experience this time as a repeater guest of PPC. We are dismayed by your comments about beach music during your stay . Please note that as management we have taken all possible measures to control the music which is totally belong the control of the hotel. We will continue to take further action in this regard.
Thank you again ! !
Best Rohan ( Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

In January this year we stayed at Palm Paradise Cabanas, Tangalle as part of our fortnight's visit to Sri Lanka - the hotel is exactly what it says on the tin: Paradise! We were in a deluxe room. It had a great large balcony. The room was spacious and perfectly arranged. The air con worked great at night and the beds were very comfortable. The pool was lovely - uniquely designed with trees surrounding, a real oasis with birds playing merrily - so different from the corporate feel of the big hotel chains. The beach is truly sublime and just a stone's throw away - a private escape, lush sand and clean water. You can hear the water lapping in the peace of the morning! The food throughout was good, a pleasing range of dishes and styles; polite and attentive staff - service with a smile too, which is always nice. And the managers Thushara and Ramesh really made efforts to get to know us personally. All for a bargain price of circa 100 euros. Amazing.

All in all - a pearl in the Indian Ocean!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank DavidHudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCTangalle, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
What a wonderful review ... Says it all. Extremely happy to hear that both of you had a lovely time staying with us . We had many special guests like you , who have already booked for 2014 adding to our repeater guests list . Thank you for your much valued comments .

Hope you are back in cold lovely England .

Best regards
Rohan ( Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The place is spotless and the food was excellent (they cooked chili free stuff for the kids). The staff are courteous, efficient and professional, most are friendly too apart from some of the waiters who seemed to be quite moody. Being German owned there are a number of set ways at doing things which it takes a day or two to get used to and the waiters seem to get annoyed if you don't know the system straight away. One drawback, lots of the guests are po-faced, chain smoking German speakers in the 40+ bracket, so as long as you don't mind them grimacing at your kids and being generally intolerant of small children this is a great place to relax for a few days.The beach is stunning too. 5 stars.

Room Tip: It can get a bit loud in the evening right beside the beach but the noise does not go on all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHJ_1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCTangalle, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for the generous review . To tell you frankly , we do not encourage smoking in our hotel , specifically in the restaurant . Unfortunately , randomly there could be one or two guests who are smokers and we can do very little to deal with their habits . We regret the inconvenience caused to you dear guest .
Glad that your kids were happy with less spicy food served specially for them , and here we send our warm regards to them ! and to your family.
Sincerely ,Rohan (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This time we stayed in their new Villas as no Cabana's were free, lucky us! Wonderful so spacious, airy ,windows on 2 sides views of the sea, animals and birds even peacocks walked past the door! The Villas were only finished end of Dec, still awaiting a few final touches fridge etc regardless would go back tomorrow .
They now have a super swimming pool as well, useful as sea can get a bit rough. Calm, restful, superb and even more so now the music as stopped at night from one of the little bars, that used to be the only downside but now all is perfect.
The food is good Sunday night Sri Lankan curry buffet is 2nd to none, service excellent always with a smile even your beer is served in individual coolers, about the only place this happens in the whole of Sri Lanka. This really is paradise!

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCTangalle, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you ! for your generous review . We believe in offering our guests "space" and not just rooms. Our aim is to provide the best and couples like you , all the way from Switzerland deserve the best ,
Thanks again.
Rohan (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Congratulations on creating your dream place and keeping improving it. The new swimming pool is stunning in its unique design and setting. Such space in the place, many other owners would capitalise and double the amount of cabanas, thanks for not being greedy. We had no problem with the beach bar and infact where treated to a stunning crab lobster and prawn dish one evening at no charge at all. It would be great if the two businesses could work together to everyone's satisfaction.
The staff at PPC are delightful and keen to talk. Excellent beach and waves. Paradise is what you get. Thanks we shall return.
Ps sorry not to have met Rohan who was having a well deserved break.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockinghorseMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCTangalle, Manager at Palm Paradise Cabanas, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
How nice to have your great review ! Your handsome tribute to the setting of our Cabanas and swimming pool endorse our efforts and vision to make your holiday a great one . I am so sorry that I could not meet you personally as I was away in Colombo . Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Thank you again !
Sincerely ,
Rohan - Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalle
0.2 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.8 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Turtle Bay
Turtle Bay
#1 of 1 in Kalamatiya
413 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#11 of 21 in Tangalle
88 reviews
5.7 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Paradise Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Paradise Cabanas

Property: Palm Paradise Cabanas
Address: Goyambokka, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tangalle
#2 Family Hotel in Tangalle
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Paradise Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PPC has 22 comfortable wooden cabanas on stilts and 6 air conditioned rooms in villas scattered around a beach side palm grove. The beach is safe for swimming. All cabanas have spacious verandahs facing the sea and thus catching the cool breeze. Villas have glass frontage with spacious terrace and balconies . Cabanas are equipped with tables, comfortable chairs, beds, fan, mosquito net, attached bathroom, hot water, electricity, lie lows, beach mats, etc. Air conditioned specious villa rooms are equipped with comfortable beds,table, chairs and free wifi. Entire resort is designed especially for nature lovers and guests who want to relax in a peaceful surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Paradise Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Paradise Cabanas Tangalle
Palm Paradise Cabanas Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing