We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming place with delicious food.”
Review of Ananda Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ananda Home Stay
Ranked #6 of 132 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

If you plan to spend some time in Tangalle this is the place to do it. Affordable, clean and welcoming Anadas Homestay makes a wonderful home away from home. The food here alone is incentive to stay, incredibly tasty and home made with love.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Danwhittenbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 123 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

We never actually stayed here, but on advise from another restaurant we wandered up for a curry. It was possibly the best food I have had while in Sri Lanka if not the best curry I have ever eaten. We liked it so much we came back the following day for some hoppers for breakfast and another delicious curry for dinner.
I also had a look around the house at the rooms on offer, they were large and one was facing the water.
It's very peaceful and the dinner alone is worth staying for.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

After a few minutes we arrived at Ananda Home Stay we were so relaxed that we both fell asleap. The sound of the ocean is wonderful. The family is so warm and friendly and they want to help you with everything that you need. It was clean, cosy and the food was great.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Pinkeltj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The family is super nice and the home made food was really wonderful. For breakfast, the pancake was super yummy. For dinner, vegi rice and curry(some are the best I had in Sri Lanka, I am a vegetarian, so really tried a lot vegi rice and curry), tomato soup(unbelievable good), fried rice(almost the best one I had in Sri Lanka), my husband also tried quite fish and shrimp dishes, all of them were very very delicious, he especially loved the french fries. I also took a cooking lesson with Harmony, and very satisfied. After that I bought some species in Tangala and want to try rice and curry by myself. Even thought you are not overnight here, it totally deserves to have food here. I also had nice talk with the girls and Harmony, very friendly family, make you feel comfortable and homy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the middle room for one night, it's large, the bathroom is also large, but no real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wuyanbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We did not stay here but came for a Cookery lesson with Harmony.
The family are delightful and very friendly and have a great sense of humour.
Despite the fact that all the vegetarian curries we prepared had mainly the same favouring we were amazed at just how different they tasted when we got to eat them! Very different preparation to Indian food and much less frying. It was a fun activity to participate in and eating it on a breezy veranda later in the evening with other travellers was perfect. ThAnk you Harmony.

Room Tip: We can not comment on the above as we came for a cookery lesson at this honestly.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JennieSokoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

we did not stay in the actual guest house as, they had trouble getting resident guests to leave, they did set up in a nice clean suite in a neighbours house just 10m away. we ate at the guesthouse a couple of times while we were there and enjoyed it very much. Roman who runs the place is very friendly and goes out of her way to look after you. She also offers cooking lessons.

Room Tip: They have a 7' bed in one of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23,433,257,783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nice Homestay with friendly Family.
I appreciated every Day as the Family was very friendly and helpfull. We had a lot of fun and Food was absolutely perfect. Rooms are simple but very clean. Would always come back and enjoy living in a real Sri Lankan Surrounding!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
0.0 mi away
Damith Homestay
Damith Homestay
#10 of 132 in Tangalle
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lagoon Inn & Restaurant
Lagoon Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 12 in Hambantota
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Voyage
Ocean Voyage
#33 of 132 in Tangalle
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Home Stay

Address: 65/1 Vijaya Road, Madaketiya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range: $12 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ananda Home Stay 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ananda H. S. consist of 4 double bedrooms, all fitted with fans. A veranda offers comfortable seating, a long table that can seat up to 8 people and great ocean view. Great food and friendly service make this small place ideal for short and long term staying being at the same time really close to the city centre and just off the chaos of the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ananda Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing