We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint and rustic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Tanjuro

Villa Tanjuro 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Tanjuro 1
Villa Tanjuro Mawella Beach...few kilometers away from villa tanjuro
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
49 reviews
Villa Tanjuro 1
Villa Tanjuro
Mawella Beach...few kilometers away from villa tanjuro
Garden and Private Bungalow
Villa Entrance gate
Beach next to Villa Tanjuro, less than a minute walking distance
Beach next to Villa Tanjuro, less than a minute walking distance
Villa lounge area
Villa lounge area
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Delicious Sri Lankan cuisine
Breakfast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great location but in need of some TLC”
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Villa Tanjuro is in a great location and a short walk from the beach, restaurants and Tangalle centre. It is a spacious villa with a large garden and pool but everything is looking tired and needs updating. The villa is surrounded by a wall and various trees which makes it very private and secure but the downside to this is you get very little breeze. Jayentha and Pryenka who manage the villa are outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble for them and Pryenka makes some of the best meals in the whole of Sri Lanka, her chicken curry with Roti (no coconut) is to die for.
We had a great time at Villa Tanjuro

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2018
Thank you Charles for your valuable feedback. I will travel to sri lanka in may and will surely look into ways to fresh up the villa. Warmest regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint and rustic”
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The villa is close to the sea and to the town of Tangalle. Priyanka cooks the tastiest meals and is delightful. We took a safari to Uda Walawe reserve which was excellent.The villa itself is comfortable but needs a little updating and it should be made clear that while there are 3 double bedrooms, 1 is in a separate annexe so might not be suitable for a family with children. Priyanka and her husband, however, made the stay memorable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrisi M
Berkeley Vale, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An oasis of tranquility”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Our family of 4,with 2 teenagers, aged 14&17, stayed at villa Tanjuro for 5 nights at the beginning of our Sri Lanka trip. The villa is lovely- private and set in a beautiful garden, visited by langur monkeys at dusk and peacocks at dawn. The villa is a 3 minute stroll down the lane to the beach and a 3 minute stroll to the local town where there are good bakeries, a supermarket and banks to change money. (Don’t forget if you’re changing your own currency to have undamaged notes.)

What really made the stay perfect was the presence of Jayantha and Priyanka, who kept the villa tidy, arranged trips for us and cooked the most amazing, generous meals. Priyanka made us breakfast each morning, and we got to sample some new Sri Lankan delicacy each day, along with eggs, toast, fruit and juices. She cooked us 2 dinners too- a delicious selection of curries- and plenty left for lunch the next day. Having a teenager who wasn’t overly fond of spice, we ate out along the beach a few nights. Although the ambience of dining on the beach was lovely, the quality and quantity of the food and the service in no way compared to Priyanka’s amazing cooking and ever-smiling face.

We spent most of our time chilling by the pool, but Jayantha organised transport for us to go to Rekawa, to view the turtles laying eggs, half a day in Galle, and a trip to Gayambokka beach, which was a lovely bay, good for swimming. We headed off to see the turtles about 8pm -once a turtle had been spotted it was a long walk along the dark beach, and some waiting whilst the turtle decided where to lay. We were there probably about 4 hours, but it was worth it to see the turtle laying her many eggs. We loved Galle Fort- quite upmarket boutiques and cafes -a one and a half hour drive from the villa. The local beach is a bit rough, but there are some lovely bays a short tuk tuk drive away. But, really, we were mostly happy to stay by the pool at the villa a lot of the time, and just relax. Absolute paradise! Hope to get back again one day.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathyrobm...
Cuddington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous Christmas/New Year!”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We spent Christmas/New Year in this lovely villa and had a really brilliant time! We had 8 other family friends staying in a hotel nearby and Jayantha and Priyantha were absolutely brilliant and cooked for us all on Christmas night! They looked after us and the villa so well and we really enjoyed the pool and the garden and the surrounding area which is lovely so would love to return one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junkster
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed December 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very tropical and private home a short walk to the beach and to the town. Also has a lovely pool. The highlight is having Priyanka and her husband to cook for us. The best food we have had in Sri Lanka and certainly lots of it. Perfect place to relax and unwind.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacq S
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven!”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Tanjuro is great for many reasons. Firstly we were looked after like royalty by Pryanka and Jayantha, who visited the villa daily to maintain the pool and grounds and cook us some fabulous food to order (breakfast or lunch or dinner) based on our plans. We got a real feel for Sri Lankan living, visiting local shops, wandering down to the beach to watch the sun set, chatting to the very friendly people and most of all from hiring our own self-drive tuk tuk. This was arranged by Jayantha and was amazing! We pottered around the local area (rock temple, blow hole etc), and had the most fabulous time.
The villa is well appointed, and the pool is spotlessly clean. The gardens are beautiful and we were visited by a troupe of langur monkeys, some very vocal bird life, including hummingbirds, as well as bats and butterflies. The owner contacted us to ensure we had arrived and all was OK, which was much appreciated. It's rare we want to go back to a place, but would love to visit this peaceful oasis again to unwind and kick back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EandFmelb
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

After a full on 10 days of travelling around Sri Lanka, to base ourselves at Villa Tanjuro was exactly what we needed. We even extended our stay!
The house was great and the pool a welcome relief from the warm weather. Nearby beaches not really swimmable but the pool and the surrounds made up for that.
The manager Jayentha helped us arrange tuk tuks and was able to offer lots of suggestions on trips. And his wife Prianka's cooking was amazing! My 10 year old daughter watched and helped her cook every night.
Communication with Romain was seamless and he was extremely accommodating.
We had a wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Thank you Melanie for your warm words and feedback. Mich appreciated. Romain and team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing