We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing sea views, delicious food - what more...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Saffron House

Looking due south across the veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking due south across the veranda
Exceptional views and sea breezes Pool steps
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Looking due south across the veranda
Exceptional views and sea breezes
Pool steps
Two horizons
The Dikwella-Hiriketiya headland
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Saffron House looking east
A storm coming in
The Croquet Lawn
Entrance steps
Looking towards the central courtyard
Hiriketiya Bay; a few minutes stroll down the lane
Fishing boats on Hiriketiya beach
Hiriketiya beach from the bottom of the lane
The Penguin and Japanese Araliya
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
The sitting area
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom One Bathrrom
South east from the terrace
Bathroom shower
The Sea Bedroom from the east
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Penguin by the pool
Nighttime across sthe pool to the coconut tree
Mater Bedroom One shower
Looking south west from the veranda
The Veranda Sitting Area
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
Desk in dining area and cloakroom
Bougainvillea on the drive
Heliconia
Master Bedroom One desk and chaise longue
Master Bedroom One
Master Bedroom One Bathroom
Master Bedroom One
Master Bedroom Two
The Courtyard Bedroom Bathroom
Master Bedroom Two and Japanese Areliya on the terrace
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom Two
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom One Bathroom
Japanese Araliya around the terrace
Nightime across the pool to the courtyard
Peacocks on the rocks at the bottom of the garden
Dikwella beach in the evening
From the terrace to The Sea Bedroom
The Sea Bedroom from the swimming pool
South east through the coconut trees
Gardens from the top of the drive
Lilies in the Koi Pond
Courtyard from Master Bedroom Two
South west across the Koi Pond
Looking south east from Master Bedroom Two
Heliconia in the flower garden
Whales occasionally pass the bottom of the garden within 400 meters.
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
Path up to the staff house
Looking south across the main lawn
Heliconia around the staff house
Looking south from the vegetable garden to the Croquet lawn
Looking west on the rocks towards Dondra lighthouse
More Heliconia in the flower garden
Looking West by the Croquet Lawn
The Croquet Lawn
Looking south west to The Sea Bedroom
From the Courtyard Room lawn
Side entrance from Dickwella side in the rain
Dickwella Beach to the west; a short stroll.
South east from the terrace
Looking south from Master Bedroom Two
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Dikwella-Hiriketiya headland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex H
1 review
“Amazing sea views, delicious food - what more could you ask for!”
Reviewed September 24, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The location is amazing. Sea views, incredible pool, extremely comfortable rooms, friendly helpful staff and the FOOD wow! Chris and her team ensured that our stay at Saffron house was perfect. We had six meals in the villa and each and everyone was AMAZING. Paul was incredibly fast and extremely helpful to respond to all my questions when I was booking the villa. If you're looking for somewhere to really relax and enjoy what Sri Lankan has to offer then please book Saffron House. We can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2018
Dear Alex,
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Chris and the other staff will be thrilled. Come back again soon!
Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moish123
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best place that we have ever visit - great view, great staff, amazing property.”
Reviewed August 19, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

we even supersized our self.
we had a great 7 nights.
the design of the rooms is perfect - i liked the under sky bathroom with its small garden.
the pool was just in the right size and the right temperature.
easy walk to the nearest beach.
it is very safe place - all surrounded by a fence and you feel like in a 5 star island.
4-6 persons took care for all our needs, all with gentle and kindness.
a real place to come back

Date of stay: August 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2018
Dear Moshe,
Many thanks for the nice review. I know the staff really enjoyed looking after you. They said you were lovely guests! Thanks for choosing us and maybe we will see you again one day.
Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah d
2 reviews
“Wow-factor villa with wonderful staff, beautiful gardens and breathtaking views”
Reviewed March 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had such a fabulous stay at this wow-factor villa, set in beautiful tropical gardens with panoramic sea views. The layout and design has been really well thought out and the whole place is nicely kitted out. We loved the huge canopied beds and indoor/outdoor bathrooms and beautiful gardens... and the views are really something special. The villa is set high on a headland looking out to miles and miles of sea, if you are lucky you might even spot dolphins or a whale in the distance. To the left is Hirikitya Bay (also known as Horseshoe Bay) a beautiful little cove with laid-back bohemian charm and chilled out cafes and beach bars. To the right is Dikwella beach, a long and deserted stretch of golden sands. Utter paradise.... you'll find it very hard to leave.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2018
Dear Sarah,
What a very kind review! Many thanks and I know the staff will be very pleased you had a good time. We all hope you will visit us all again.
Best wishes, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flip2018
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“THE most relaxing week's holiday!”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We could not have enjoyed our stay at The Saffron House more! From the moment we arrived, to the warmest of welcomes, the staff took such good care of us and were utterly charming. They really are an exceptional team, ably headed up by Chris. We had asked for typical Sri Lankan food and were not disappointed; it was absolutely delicious.
We decided against doing any day trips as we all wanted to relax and unwind during our week there and left feeling utterly refreshed.

Date of stay: February 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2018
Dear Flip,
What a lovely review! Many thanks and I'm really pleased you all had a good time. Chris and the team will be thrilled with your comments. You must come back again to do a few day trips! There's lots to see close by.
Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroline...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“I'd go back to Saffron House tomorrow....”
Reviewed January 27, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Amazing location between two stunning beaches, incredibly beautiful villa set in stunning gardens.

Chris and her staff looked after us brilliantly all week. Superb food and they were so friendly and kind.

The rooms are extremely comfy, huge beds with nice sheets and modern polished concrete bathrooms.

Good day trips organised by the staff too. All in all 5 star in every way.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2018
Dear Caroline,
Thanks you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you .... I hope you can find your way back to our little patch in the future.
Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal74...
1 review
“A piece of paradise, an amazing villa with fantastic service.”
Reviewed December 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

It was a privilege to stay in this amazing villa. If you're looking for peace & tranquillity, friendly service and amazing food, Saffron House is the place to stay.
Chris and the team made our stay truly wonderful.
An excellent hub to explore the area, including whale watching, surfing, nature reserves, Galle Fort, and much more.
We would certainly stay there again. Thank you Paul, Chris and the team.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2017
Dear Lyn & Rob,
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Chris will be thrilled (and still can't stop talking about you all!). I'm obviously pleased you had a good time and we look forward to having you back again.
Have a great Christmas,
Best wishes, Paul
PS: I haven't forgotten the maps ... should be with you before Christmas I hope
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayran...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house with a quiet beach and surfing very nearby”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Staff are lovely and their cooking is fantastic. Owner's are a delight and very easy to deal with. Great location which is not too far from Colombo that you are tired by the time you get there. Recommend Saffron House to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Hi Ranulph,
Many thanks for such a nice review. When the highway extension opens in 18 months the journey should be 30 mins less ... so look forward to seeing you back again!
Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing