We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, lovely family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gems Garden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gems Garden Guest House
Ranked #70 of 96 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Just had a lovely time at Gems Garden!
A family run guest house, only a few meters off the beach, where you can sleep hearing the ocean waves. Stayed in one of the two cabanas, which has two double beds and is very reasonably priced at around 27€ in high season (probably much cheaper in other times) and can sleep up to 4 people. There are also two cheaper rooms in the guesthouse. The cabana was spacious, clean with a big and clean bathroom.
Food was also great: seafood and curries, all fresh and homecooked. And you can enjoy it sitting in the veranda overlooking the sea.
Not only a great place, but also a lovely and welcoming family, always helpful and friendly.
I definitely reccommend Gems Garden to everyone wishing to enjoy a relaxing time in Tangalle.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank franferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
11
54
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

How lucky we were to find this little place run by a very helpfull and friendly family. Small, clean, quiet, directly on the beach and with deliciuoa food. On top of all this are the prizes really low! Stayed much longer than planed. Also get a Scooter and enjoy Sri Lankan traffic and the beautiful beaches and spots in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxVanBaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Gems Garden and stayed longer than originally planned. The guesthouse is located on a private stretch of the beach with a lagoon at the back.

Ruwan and his sister were very welcoming, and cooked us some very tasty curries in the evening.

We recommend hiring a canoe in the lagoon for wildlife spotting and go swimming in the luxury swimming pool down the road (it's free!)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tishtash67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here in the beach Cabana and Found the place really welcoming. The Cabana itself is very large, if a little dark, with a great fan and the best shower we have used yet in Sri Lanka. The owner and family instil a great atmosphere and are incredibly friendly, which really made our stay here. Breakfast and dinner were served on a raised veranda area overlooking the beach, with some cool lighting and somewhere to play your own music (or the music left here by many a previous traveller) which was nice in the evenings. The included breakfast was a little basic, but we were impressed with the rice and curry served for dinner which was very good! Definitely a place worth staying if your planning a trip to Tangalle.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Callum G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hi, we just showed up at Gem's Garden and we had a great stay. We have spent nights here in the end of August but we could have easily stayed longer. The cabana was really nice and we loved the bathroom. Really very clean, large and great shower. Also the hammocks on the beds are very nice, They have a great design which makes them very comfortable. Usually we prefer an aircon room, but the fan was just great. Breakfast was included and also very good. Actually we did not see the menu but we just discussed with the family what we liked to have and they aranged it for us. They also prepared a great Sri Lankan meal, which was just amazing. The guesthouse is right on the beach which is really comfortable. We have used the pool at a nearby resort (800m) which was also very comfortable. We came here with our 2 year and we were welcomed as we were family. We had great chats, great laughs, it is a very special place with special people. We loved it!

Room Tip: We would recommend to book in advance, to be sure to be able to stay here :-).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Hello everyone,

We stayed at the Gems Garden Guest house for two nights. We had the cabbana, so we can only rate this.

The cabbana itself was nice and big for a price of 3500 with fan and hot water (off season). Breakfast was not included.

They have their own part of the beach with several beach beds and chairs to sit on.

The owner and his sister were always there for us to help us in every situation. The best of our stay at Gems Garden was definitely the food! We had traditional Sri Lankan breakfast in the morning and a whole fish for dinner, which was one of the best dishes we had during our stay in Sri Lanka.

In summary, we can recommended this place. You might get cheaper rooms in Tangalle but you shouldnt miss the food there. Best regards,

Sarah and Alex

Ps. I had some trouble to find the phone number to ask them in advance if they have a room free. After searching a while in the internet, I've found the following number:

0094717103069

Hope it will help others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ao38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at Gems Garden in June. I stayed in the garden cabana which has two double beds, a fan and is extremely clean - I actually asked whether the place was brand new. The cabana was great value with rooms inside the guesthouse even cheaper. Breakfast was great and the rooms / restaurant are situated about 20 meters from the beach. I was there during off season so there was practically no one on the entire beach which was amazing. There are a few other guesthouses that are slightly more expensive and closer to the beach a bit further up. However, if you're lookin for value for money a clean room and decent food I can't recommend this place enough. There are a few bugs due to being close to the mangrove but nothing the mosquito net couldn't sort. We ate at another guesthouse on one night - the food is basically the same at each place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFC579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Cabanas
Sandy Cabanas
#39 of 96 in Tangalle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 108 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#2 of 96 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sanrel Hotel
Sanrel Hotel
#64 of 96 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
0.1 mi away
Ibis Guesthouse
Ibis Guesthouse
#17 of 96 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gems Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gems Garden Guest House

Property: Gems Garden Guest House
Address: Madilla Road, Marakolliya Beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka (Formerly Gems Garden)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family guest house on the beach with a great open-air Sri Lankan seafood restaurant. The restaurant and guesthouse are located at the famous Marakolliya beach of Tangalle where beautiful sunsets are no exception. With four rooms available, two regular rooms in the guesthouse and one separate two cabana, every guest will feel at home. The simple and clean rooms are all equipped with a personal bathroom, fan, mosquito net and will contribute to the beach vibe. There are Balcony,private entrance, seating areas,dressing table,Hot shower,2 large bed,mosquito net,towels in the separate cabanas. You will enjoy the very special family atmosphere and experience the relaxing holidays you were craving for. Can provide accommodate turtle visit,Lagoon visit, airport service, or any other further travels. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Gems Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing