We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like staying at a friend's place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gems Garden Guest House & Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 124 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Gems Garden. The beach in Tangalle is beautiful and empty! Best beach we saw in Sri Lanka! Although the waves and currents are strong and it's difficult to swim! Ruwan, the owner of the guesthouse, is always pleased to show you the best spots! We shared really nice moments with him in the mangrove, swimming in the ocean or playing carom. Gems Garden is a nice place to stay if you want to experience something local, and share true moments.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ija1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Gems Garden Guest House & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 94 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was very comfortable in our room in Gems Garden. It's further down on the beach than most of the guest houses in Tangalle and there are only two rooms and a cabana. We were the only ones staying there, so we had a very private and relaxing stay. Ruwan and his sister were very kind hosts and were eager to help us plan our days. The food is great - authentic Sri Lankan! For the price (2,000LKR for a room in the house), it was the cleanest I saw while traveling in Sri Lanka. We spent hours chilling on the patio which is on stilts above the sand. My only complaint is that I felt that the food and the lagoon tour given to us by Ruwan were expensive in comparison to the amount we were paying for a room. Regardless, we really enjoyed our stay there - it was a nice change of pace from the busier places we stayed in Unawatuna and Hikkaduwa, although the beach in Tangalle is rocky and not as good for swimming as other locations.

Side note: they have two dogs, which were puppies at the time that we stayed there. Just another aspect that made our stay homey and fun!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent a week at Gems Garden in April 2013 and it was bliss! while the rooms are not right on the water like some of the other guest houses (ganesh, sandy etc.), the family, location, quality of the room (we were in the cabana) and the relatively affordable menu totally compensated. we found that we were hardly in our room, other than to sleep, and ended up spending hours relaxing in the 'restaurant' and on the day beds/hammocks that they provide. it was a beautiful 10 minute walk to the mangrove beach cabanas/resort where the best swimming is - we spent most of our days there (highly recommended).

in short, if youre on a budget, gems garden is the ultimate choice! and while the gardens and beachfront at places like ganesh are more aesthetic, the people and atmosphere at gems is worth the choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissbrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Gem Garden. We saw the little garden out front and just by chance stopped. We had a wonderful stay the family were lovely. The rooms were very clean. The food was amazing, all home cooked. We planned to stay for two nights and ended up staying for six. If we were returning to Sri Lanka it would definately be on our list to visit. Thank you for a lovely time Brian and Jenni UK

Room Tip: We had room 1 it was so clean, the wet room was lovely and fresh
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JnB3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Situated about 1.5 km along the beach road. This great guest lodge is right on the beach with a pretty lagoon just behind. Very friendly and helpful family will give you all the advice you require. Wonderful home cooked meals. Great restaurant with views of the beach. Loved lying in the hammock watching the amazing bird life. If you looking for a quiet, relaxing time in a beautiful setting with great hosts - this is the place. Easy walking distance to other restaurants if you do decide you want a change. Thank you Ruwan, Maisha and family. Keep up the great place and the garden is looking great!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vagabond1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

"Gems Garden" it"s a lovely place to spend your holiday.
The room was absolutely nice and very clean.Amacing bathroom.
The coking,especially the home made curry was delicious.it"s a
very good place to relax on the beach.The family
is very nice and the food served was delicious.
too,and i like every single the cup of "the milk tea".

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aji k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were traveling in a couple, in january 2013, and we arrived there a little bit by chance. We took the bungalo for 2 days, and we end up staying more than 1 week, and being really sad leaving.

First, the place :a few meters from the beach, in a corner of Sri Lanka which is still quiet. The bungalow was clean, we had a mosquito net and the bathroom was huge. The restaurant had view on the beach, with a few tables, and wonderfull food. (if you have the chance, don't miss the lobster). At the back of the guesthouse, just across the road, you have the mangrove. No crocodile there, but many lazy buffalos.

But the reason why we stay there is mostly the kindness of Ruwan, Manelle and there familly. They are always there for you. You can play Carrom with them (don't worry, we never won neither), or go for a swim (the see is quite rough, so, it's better to go with a local), pick up coconut or visit the city. They will show you how to ccok a curry or how to wear a sarrong. Staying there is a great way to knwo Sri Lanka and to understand the local.

Très bel endroit le long d'une plage pas trop fréquentée (en janvier). Nous avions pris le bungalow, très belle salle de bain, lit confortable. Le restaurant sert des plats locaux, préparés dans la cuisine attenante. On se sent vraiment chez soi. Et la famille qui tient l'endroit est adorable. Pour peux que vous vous débrouillez un peu en anglais, vous pourrez passer des heures à discuter avec eux, et vous apprendrez beaucoup sur le Sri Lanka. Je vous recommande une excursion le soir dans la mangrove.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Fred503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Cabanas
Sandy Cabanas
#38 of 124 in Tangalle
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Pumpkin Cabana
Little Pumpkin Cabana
#29 of 134 in Tangalle
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chandi Gaya Guest House
Chandi Gaya Guest House
#37 of 124 in Tangalle
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#3 of 124 in Tangalle
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coppenrath
Coppenrath
#13 of 134 in Tangalle
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Garden
Tropical Garden
#17 of 134 in Tangalle
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gems Garden Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gems Garden Guest House & Restaurant

Address: Madilla Road, Marakolliya Beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka (Formerly Gems Garden)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range: $20 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family guest house on the beach with a great open-air Sri Lankan seafood restaurant. The restaurant and guesthouse are located at the famous Marakolliya beach of Tangalle where beautiful sunsets are no exception. With four rooms available, two regular rooms in the guesthouse and one separate two cabana, every guest will feel at home. The simple and clean rooms are all equipped with a personal bathroom, fan, mosquito net and will contribute to the beach vibe. There are Balcony,private entrance, seating areas,dressing table,Hot shower,2 large bed,mosquito net,towels in the separate cabanas. You will enjoy the very special family atmosphere and experience the relaxing holidays you were craving for. Can provide accommodate turtle visit,Lagoon visit, airport service, or any other further travels. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Gems Garden Guest House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing