We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place lovely warm friendly family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gems Garden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gems Garden Guest House
Ranked #70 of 98 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place lovely warm friendly family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Gem Garden. We saw the little garden out front and just by chance stopped. We had a wonderful stay the family were lovely. The rooms were very clean. The food was amazing, all home cooked. We planned to stay for two nights and ended up staying for six. If we were returning to Sri Lanka it would definately be on our list to visit. Thank you for a lovely time Brian and Jenni UK

Room Tip: We had room 1 it was so clean, the wet room was lovely and fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JnB3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
11
54
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Situated about 1.5 km along the beach road. This great guest lodge is right on the beach with a pretty lagoon just behind. Very friendly and helpful family will give you all the advice you require. Wonderful home cooked meals. Great restaurant with views of the beach. Loved lying in the hammock watching the amazing bird life. If you looking for a quiet, relaxing time in a beautiful setting with great hosts - this is the place. Easy walking distance to other restaurants if you do decide you want a change. Thank you Ruwan, Maisha and family. Keep up the great place and the garden is looking great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagabond1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mussoorie, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

"Gems Garden" it"s a lovely place to spend your holiday.
The room was absolutely nice and very clean.Amacing bathroom.
The coking,especially the home made curry was delicious.it"s a
very good place to relax on the beach.The family
is very nice and the food served was delicious.
too,and i like every single the cup of "the milk tea".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aji k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were traveling in a couple, in january 2013, and we arrived there a little bit by chance. We took the bungalo for 2 days, and we end up staying more than 1 week, and being really sad leaving.

First, the place :a few meters from the beach, in a corner of Sri Lanka which is still quiet. The bungalow was clean, we had a mosquito net and the bathroom was huge. The restaurant had view on the beach, with a few tables, and wonderfull food. (if you have the chance, don't miss the lobster). At the back of the guesthouse, just across the road, you have the mangrove. No crocodile there, but many lazy buffalos.

But the reason why we stay there is mostly the kindness of Ruwan, Manelle and there familly. They are always there for you. You can play Carrom with them (don't worry, we never won neither), or go for a swim (the see is quite rough, so, it's better to go with a local), pick up coconut or visit the city. They will show you how to ccok a curry or how to wear a sarrong. Staying there is a great way to knwo Sri Lanka and to understand the local.

Très bel endroit le long d'une plage pas trop fréquentée (en janvier). Nous avions pris le bungalow, très belle salle de bain, lit confortable. Le restaurant sert des plats locaux, préparés dans la cuisine attenante. On se sent vraiment chez soi. Et la famille qui tient l'endroit est adorable. Pour peux que vous vous débrouillez un peu en anglais, vous pourrez passer des heures à discuter avec eux, et vous apprendrez beaucoup sur le Sri Lanka. Je vous recommande une excursion le soir dans la mangrove.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fred503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ergue-Gaberic, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

guesthouse au bord d'une magnifique plage immense, propre et peu frequentee (restez vigilents pour la baignade car grosses vagues par moment comme sur la majeure partie des plages du sud et de l ouest). La famille est adorable et toujours disponible pour tout conseil et discussions... Le tout avec des grands sourires et attentifs a votre bien-etre. Nous etions dans la cabanas pendant 5 jours en fevrier.Notre chambre est tres propre et salle de bain recente avec 2 douches et wc . Les plats sont delicieux et genereux avec un prix tres abordable.

Guesthouse at the edge of a magnificent immense, appropriate(clean) beach and few busy (remain Watchful for the bathing because big waves by moment as on the major part of the beaches of the South and of l the West). The family is adorable and always available for any advice(council) and discussions... The whole with big smiles and attentive has your well - being. We were in the cabanas during 5 days to february. Our room(chamber) is very appropriate(clean) and room of bath recent with 2 showers and toilet. Foods are delicious and generous with a price very accessible(approachable).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the cabana here for 10 nights in January this year and had a lovely time. We turned up without booking which was risky but couldn't find a number to contact them on. Managed to haggle them down on price as the price was way too high for a stay of 10 nights but we didn't get breakfast included which disappointed us and wouldn't have cost them much as a good will gesture. The location was fantastic, right by the beach and backing onto the lagoon with birds flying in & out all day - so many it was hard to choose which one to photograph first! We didn't eat here much as the prices were not as cheap as we expected and they don't have the free WIFI that most of the surrounding guesthouses and hotels offer so we ate in various other places.
The young brouther and sister running this new place are very friendly and happy to help with any problems or enquiries and Ruwan will take you on a great boat trip around the lagoon at sunset to see all the birds coming in to roost.
The cabana was great, a large room with double bed but unfortunately not much other furniture which it could have done with - maybe a small table and 2 chairs to sit at. A huge bathroom with a very modern suite and shower. A porch at the front is a great place for watching the world go by and all the water monitor lizzards, buffalo and birds!!
All in all a lovely little place to stay for a couple of days or longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at gems garden (tel: 071-7103069 / 077-2191277). Food was delicious, home grown king coconuts in season and short tuk tuk (10mins) into town. A few mosquitoes and bugs because it's a little remote and off the beaten path & not much furniture in the cabana. It seems to be regarded as a great place to bird spot in the nearby lagoons. A blue kingfisher and herons were all we saw, perhaps early morning is best...rock temple impressed, don't miss the secret viewing spot on top, awesome...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Cabanas
Sandy Cabanas
#39 of 98 in Tangalle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 108 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sanrel Hotel
Sanrel Hotel
#64 of 98 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Guesthouse
Ibis Guesthouse
#18 of 98 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#2 of 98 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gems Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gems Garden Guest House

Property: Gems Garden Guest House
Address: Madilla Road, Marakolliya Beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka (Formerly Gems Garden)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family guest house on the beach with a great open-air Sri Lankan seafood restaurant. The restaurant and guesthouse are located at the famous Marakolliya beach of Tangalle where beautiful sunsets are no exception. With four rooms available, two regular rooms in the guesthouse and one separate two cabana, every guest will feel at home. The simple and clean rooms are all equipped with a personal bathroom, fan, mosquito net and will contribute to the beach vibe. There are Balcony,private entrance, seating areas,dressing table,Hot shower,2 large bed,mosquito net,towels in the separate cabanas. You will enjoy the very special family atmosphere and experience the relaxing holidays you were craving for. Can provide accommodate turtle visit,Lagoon visit, airport service, or any other further travels. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Gems Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing