We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & promising experience”
Review of Suwaya Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suwaya Villa
Ranked #64 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location & promising experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent - situated between the lagoon and a beautiful beach. Rooms are comfortable and the swimming pool excellent. We were looked after well by the staff team and the residence manager Shan was excellent and effective as well as pleasant. This is a good place to chill out and an excellent base for safaries to the unforgettable Adu Valeve national park. this place has a great potential.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
24
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bateman Bay
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 3 nights and our room was lovely, the bed was huge and very comfortable. The pool is good as the beach is too dangerous to swim in. We used their canoe and had a paddle up the lagoon which was nice. The cook is very good with his Sri Lankan food, the curries excellent and the Sri Lankan breakfast fantastic. tea and coffee facilities in the room was a nice touch. The service is a bit kooky, but you can tell they are trying, with a bit stronger management and some training this resort could go along way. Eat there if you love Sri Lankan food, also the Lagoon resort just next door has good food as well and happy hour!

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe room near the pool ( the white ones). Buy the rooms on special which makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatemanBayJungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was amazing! It was a little on the pricier side but we thought it was worth it for the lovely beach that its next to, the swimming pool and the lake - you can literally chill by the pool and view all three! As the hotel was really quite, we had the pool to ourselves!! We found the staff and the manager really friendly. The manager helped us find a driver to take us to our next destination (Galle). The food in the restaurant was excellent and it had great choices on the menu. Our room had a kettle! The only negatives were that our air con didnt work very well so we just used the fan instead. The manager did say we could change rooms but it was our choice not to move as we couldnt be bothered with the hassle of moving all of our stuff! The only other negative was that there were quite a few ants around so make sure you cover up any food.

Room Tip: Make sure air con works properly and if not ask to change rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnishPasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Suwaya Villa DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!
We booked a deluxe room and ended up in a grey wash prison cell see photos we got out as fast as we got in!
They have older rooms which appear better near the pool but general comments from others was dirty and many faults. Our room was 4x3 meters including bathroom a wet room, best place to take your shower would be to sit on the toilet! A big bed dominated the bedroom with approx 20cms between that and the wall on one side the other side more space but a broken down small cupboard took up space. The whole room was covered in a grey concrete wash .
There was a communal balcony with a window looking on to it which could not be used, reason wooden shutters that opened but no glass in windows , no curtains and no bars so anyone had a direct view into the room or access, also a 1/4 of the window was blocked by the wardrobe. There were 2 chairs and a small table in the room.
This hotel has a great situation wonderful beach nice pool but service ZERO 8 tables for 25 rooms don't even think about it . Along one of the worst roads in Sri Lanka and having been to Sri Lanka many times over the past 35 years we know bad roads!!
Drive said their accommodation was also disgusting
This hotel has the situation to be great but best thing to do is knock to down and start again with new staff etc.

Room Tip: Don't go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tangalle hotels

Trequanda, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I spent a week at this resort greatly located near a beautiful, unspoiled beach in southern Sri Lanka. The staff is kind and, in particular, I wish to mention the helpful and friendly Mr Saman.

The Sri Lankan breakfast was excellent and abundant. I got a little discount in view of the fact that running water was not available in the (run-down) room for most of the days and nights.
Altogether my opinion regarding this place is positive although the price should be reduced to meet the real value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel looks nice in the pictures but didnt live up to my expectation. We stayed here for few nights and was glad to leave this hotel. Rooms are nice and comfortable, but times with no running water and dirty water coming thru the toilets. The A/C not cold so had to use fan aswell. Where do start with on restaurant side? Well...nothing's appealing on the menu, waited almost 45mins for the food and service very poor.
We travelled thru Sri Lanka and find most guest houses which are more personal and friendly than the mid range hotels.
For 9000r this place Overall is very dissapointing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utopiajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really liked this place .Well run by really friendly and organised staff. Stylish rooms and great access to the beach. Nice pool but could do with a little clean up as was a ltttle grubby.
Breakfast was a little disorganised but it didn't really matter as you are so chilled by the time you have spent a night here you don't really care

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.1 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#3 of 120 in Tangalle
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harmony Beach Bungalows
Harmony Beach Bungalows
#65 of 133 in Tangalle
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star Fish Beach Home
Star Fish Beach Home
#15 of 133 in Tangalle
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Guesthouse
Ibis Guesthouse
#18 of 120 in Tangalle
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#4 of 133 in Tangalle
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suwaya Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suwaya Villa

Property: Suwaya Villa
Address: Marakolliya, Medilla, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suwaya Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Suwaya Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing