We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location - Terrible everything else.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Suwaya Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suwaya Villa
Ranked #61 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb location - Terrible everything else.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for a fee nights. Paid 6000 a night for a bungalow after haggling down from 9000! The bungalow was nice enough but there was no water for 15 hours on arrival so we couldn't shower or flush the bog.

Pros. The location is breathtaking. A stunning stretch of deserted clean beach at the front. And I mean stunning. World class. We walked a km and nobody passed us all afternoon. The back is a mangrove swamp complete with eagles, giant lizards and water buffalo etc.

Cons. The staff were untrained and next to useless. Having to ask for the menu three times at each meal and then wait 90 mins for mediocre food. All the other guests, heads in hands were discussing the bad service. The restaurant was unlicensed although we could get beer by the pool, which had not been cleaned for
months.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walgmoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
24
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

really good value for money and would definitely stay here again, fantastic spot on a beautiful beach we felt we had lucked out with this one!

We had a standard room as the superior ones had all gone when we booked but the room was to our taste with polished concrete walls and floor and beautiful dark wooden bed (lovely clean crisp linens) and furniture, only downsides were it was dark with very little natural light and the a/c struggled with the power fluctuations.

The whole place had a shabby chic rustic charm where you totally relax, pool was lovely although we did notice it needed cleaning around the waterline and the sunbeds and towels have seen better days but you overlook all that somehow and appreciate the location and tranquility.

The service from management was excellent, breakfast was a bit odd and we waited quite a while for tea and toast (longer than other tables that arrived after us) and I wondered if it might be better to have that as self service.

All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeEmmGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in December and had a great, relaxing time. We had booked two rooms in the Luxury private villas, The rooms had a small, nice veranda/balcony where you can unwind, but the room itself pretty dark and worn down and lacking storage capability. There was absolutely nothing luxurious about the rooms - except the location.
The pool area is nice and the staff in the restaurant were friendly, but room service and reception service seemed to be quite uninterested in us as guests. One day our room was not cleaned at all and we had to ask several times to get towels.

The location of the hotel is really nice and on the beach there are 3-5 small guest houses/restaurants where you can hang out. The lagoon is beatiful with a big 1,5 m legauan roaming around in the back yard. Unfortunately the hotel throws some of the hotel waste in the lagoon, which we saw with our own eyes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for one night and enjoyed two good meals. This is a good place to unwind. The staff were polite but the hotel needs investment and the rooms are basic and rustic. If you go armed with that knowledge, then you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamuelJames21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Do not hesitate to book a room here!! True that the road to the hotel isn't paved and when it rains, it can be difficult to near impossible to drive to, but we got out of the tuk-tuk while he drove through all the mud and then we got back in again!
While it isn't a posh, luxury resort, it is good value for money. We had been travelling Asia for several months (on a backpacker budget) and we felt truly spoilt by this place! We booked one of the budget rooms that had a view of the lagoon instead of the sea. We had a communal balcony (where the delux/luxuary rooms had their own) with deck chairs. Our room was of a good size and simply (but beautifully) furnished. We also had use of both AC and fan. The bathroom was also nicely presented - bothd hot and cold water and the best fluffy towels - along with bars of soap as well as liquid soap. Our room was clean and in good condition. It may be worth to have a look at a few rooms as I think there was one or two that was bigger than ours - but we spent all of our time at the pool and literally only went to our room to sleep.
The pool area is beautiful with deck chairs all around and if there aren't enough there, there are more at the beach as well as some hammocks to relax in!! The grounds are all clean and well looked after!
While we didn't get the greatest reception from the admin staff, the staff in the restaurant are exceptionally warm and friendly. Don't even get me started on the food - It is pricey, but SO SO worth it! The chef who prepares all of the meal knows what he is doing and his food is of an incredibly high standard. There is a variety of food on the menu but it isn't a huge menu - even a fussy eater like me was always planning my next meal!!
Our 2 night trip ended up being 4 nights as we felt really comfortable and well looked after here. The only negative thing was that we were unable to get wifi in our room - not sure if the more expensive rooms had access or not, but there was free wifi in the lounge/restaurant area.
Tangalla beach really is quiet and not much of a swimming beach - but it is THE perfect place to relax, lie on the beach, go for a dip in the gorgeous ocean and just unwind!! Bring a few good books and sit back and relax!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed for a few days in this resort and enjoyed it. The most exciting experience was the delicious food provided by chef Ruwan - by far the best food we ever had in Sri Lanka. Every day we discussed with him the food we wanted to eat, which was in particular seafood (collected at the fish market each morning), and also Sri Lankan curries. The dishes were always delicious and outstanding in every aspect, gourmet would call it fushion cuisine. We ate entire fish with vegetables, mahi-mahi fillet, calamari rings, Sri Lankan rice and curry with an assortment of many different Sri Lankan vegetables which were new for us (e.g. drum sticks). Ruwan is the ideal chef for a gourmet restaurant. - The spa with massages was also good. The beach is beautiful but it is not easy to enter the sea because of the wave breakers and rocks. Rooms were clean but a little bit degenerated, and mosquitos annoying (there was no mosquito plug in our room, as we have seen in another room). The pool is good. The last day it rained and the ground besides the lagoon was flooded, which allowed us to spot lapwings, orioles and kingfishers. Almost every day we saw a water monitor on the area.

Room Tip: We chose a room away from the restaurant/pool in order to get sea view, but the nearer ones may be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siegfried H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

As soon as we walked in, we realized that it was false advertising.

Starting with the approach: Its about 4km from the highway - this part of the path is not paved and depending on the weather (rain or not), this can be bumpy approach
We noticed that the pool bar was not functional. The dining is open (which is cool except you are surrounded by the lagoon so beware of mosquitoes).

As we noticed mildew in the first room (the curtains were black in color), we looked at 4-5 rooms all with the same problem. The bathrooms didn't work (didn't flush) nor did it have a working lock. The interior was not clean. It looked like the room hadn't been cleaned prior to our visit. The internet didnt work - was only an issue as we wanted to find another place to stay. We ended up staying for about 30 mins before we went to a different place in Tangalle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genesispop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tangalle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.4 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 20 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandy Cabanas
Sandy Cabanas
#42 of 114 in Tangalle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#2 of 114 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
0.3 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 121 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lonely Beach Resort Tangalle
Lonely Beach Resort Tangalle
#24 of 114 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suwaya Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suwaya Villa

Property: Suwaya Villa
Address: Marakolliya, Medilla, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suwaya Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suwaya Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing