We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Samagi Restaurant

Samagi Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 140 Restaurants in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We served fresh sea food,pizza,special rotti, rice & curry, spaghetti, also migito,cocktail, cookery lesson as well.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The owner Rohitha known to me for more than10 years now. I always stay at "Samagi" when I go the the southern part of the island. This time went with my family and stayed at his newly built upstairs.
He showed us the most interesting places around Tangalle. Beach,Blow hole,and two ancient temples.We all admire his & his family's hospitality very much.
I watched animals (in front of his house is a small jungle) such as Giant squirrels,Grey Langer monkeys and differnt kind of birds while I am relaxing at his balcony.
All types of utensils available there, for our own use which made us to feel a home away from home.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank ChamindaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valence, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just excellent : Food, Coffee, Internet, Welcome...”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I have been twice in Tangalle and the restaurant is a real nice place to have lunch or dinner, on the terrace upstairs !
Food is great, if you stay a couple of days you can ask ! the owner will cook what you want !!. Instead you have the menu which is nice : chicken, shrimp, fish, and a wonderful rice and curry.
Music is nice, you can check your emails or/and write your postcards.
Nice place, with the owner Rohita who can recommend you a lot of things....
Enjoy !

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank patiwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“only chipper !”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

food is not so good .. very nice please .. but owner is money jewel

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libourne
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The best value for money restaurant in the deep south of Sri Lanka. 300 meters from the Ocean, with a comfortable and intimate terrasse.
Excellent market food restaurant, well cooked by the gentle owner, who can advise you about almost anything concerning the island. Great discovery.
It's unusual aroud there, but the music selection is great. Lot of old blues, jazz, Stones, Dylan, Grateful Dead etc.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat !”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A very good place, where meals are home-made, tasty and you have a large choice : sri lankan meals or occidental food. You can also taste a very good Rice and Curry.
Moreover, the owner, Rohitha is very friendly and will talk with you, a good moment. You can also use Internet if you need (there is an Internet coffee). If you like coffee, there is a very good one in this place. A place to stop if you look for a restaurant in Tangalle !
To finish, the owner can offer you transport service, don't hesitate, Rohitha is a very good driver, we came with him twice for 6 days. I recommand this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank tongsetsrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samagi Restaurant also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Samagi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing