We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like staying at a private retreat”
Review of Coco Tangalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coco Tangalla
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Felt like staying at a private retreat”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We arrived and were the only guests, and had the beautiful upstairs verandah room, so felt very indulged here. A couple of other guests arrived the next day but it retained a wonderful sense of privacy and luxury. The staff here were exceptional- the best of our holiday- and the food just incredible! The chef and crew are excellent. We absolutely loved our stay here. The upstairs room is worth the extra- great views, spacious and almost too nice to leave!

Room Tip: if you can get it, the upstairs verandah room is worth the extra. Huge private verandah and sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozgirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    22
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
139
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Out of everywhere my husband and I stayed during our time in Sri Lanka this was simply one of the greatest. From the amazing cooking to the incredible hotel, with a view and an ambiance that will rival many of the worlds top hotels at a cost that is still affordable, Coco Tangalla was a piece of heaven. will always come back to this incredible place!

Room Tip: King Coco all the way!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The best hotel we ve been to on Sri Lanka. Very intimate with few rooms and outstanding service. Great indoor swimming pool, food (absolutely delicious sea dishes), outside terrace with views. There is no proper beach or ocean entrance in front of the hotel so you need to travel 10-15 min to the nearest suitable spot (but beware of garbage along the sea walk and many people on the beach itself). Fishing trip is not really worth doing whereas massage is very good.

Room Tip: Definitely tke their best room (slightly more expensive than standard) as it is several times more a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_Puteshestvennik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Coco Tangalla for 5 nights at the end of April, this boutique hotel is a little gem and was perfect for a chilled out break. The views were amazing and the rooms were lovely and clean and the hotel is very well kept. The staff were so lovely and welcoming and attended to our every need, they arranged our Safari and driver and even made us a packed breakfast for our early journey to the airport on our way home! They almost felt like family by the end of our stay and we wanted to take them all home with us especially Isuru who was our waiter. The food was exquisite and the menu catered for everyone, the Sri Lankan curries were amazing! Compliments to the chef and to all of the staff at Coco Tangalla for great service.
My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Coco Tangalla and we would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a relaxing break, there is a lovely pool and this would be ideal for families or couples as well as a getaway with friends, this truly is a piece of Paradise on earth and we will definitely be returning one day soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night & wished we could have extended our stay. A gem of a little boutique hotel, with gorgeous decor, tranquil communal areas overlooking the ocean & a great pool for cooling off & relaxing.
We didn't have a balcony room but it was still spacious, with an excellent bathroom.
The food was really tasty but was rice & curry for dinner (but disappointing as we'd had that a lot). We also ate lunch there which was superb... Fresh seafood! All very good value. Staff were discreet & very attentive.
As mentioned the beach is too rough for swimming but other bays such as Goyambokka are nearby which are fine for swimming. Would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becgham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Overall, this was a great find. The house it and rooms are beautiful. Staff are attentive, professional and their happy demeanor make you feel right at home. The sound of the waves rolling in is extremely relaxing. I'd highly recommend Coco Tangalla.

Room Tip: We had the ocean-front room with the balcony and were very happy with this choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2014

What an amazing little boutique hotel. Stayed for 4 nights and wish we'd stayed longer. Smiley and friendly staff who were always on hand to help out and not at all intrusive. The food was excellent every night and decent value at 2900 rps for 3 courses. There are of course cheaper places to eat in Tangalle but the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere so we ate there most nights. Worth noting that in terms of alcohol they only sell beer (presumably due to licensing) so if you want wine/spirits it's worth either bringing your own or asking one of the staff in advance to collect.

The pool area has a beautiful garden with a sea view and is a great place to unwind. The private beach is easily accessed through the garden though too rough to swim. Not an issue at all as there are some great beaches within a 5 minute tuk tuk trip that are fine for swimming. The room was spacious, modern and clean with a comfortable bed.

Easily the best place we stayed in Sri Lanka. The sort of place that would cost an absolute fortune in Europe but fantastic value here. Thanks Coco!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalle
0.9 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.3 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
325 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Turtle Bay
Turtle Bay
#1 of 1 in Kalamatiya
420 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#10 of 21 in Tangalle
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Tangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tangalla

Property: Coco Tangalla
Address: 355 Mahawella Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tangalla is a 6-bedroomed black and white colonial villa, this Tangalle beach hotel is managed by the owner of The Kandy House and The Last House. Book by the room or as a whole house, it is well suited for couples and families. The main house has four bedrooms and an adjoining annex with an additional two bedrooms. The interiors are stylishly decorated with a mixture of modern furniture and period antiques, local art, with infusions of colour and exotic fabrics. The living and dining areas introduce some art deco features. All to create warm and informal rooms to relax. For couples looking for their perfect wedding hotel in Sri Lanka, Coco Tangalla is a beautiful luxury beach villa in Sri Lanka, ideal as a stylish wedding venue, offering delicious food and exceptional service. With a variety of wildlife, cultural and heritage destinations to visit in the area, it is situated very conveniently to explore. From Coco Tangalla you can visit Yala National Park on safari amongst the world's highest concentration of leopards, or enjoy the company of large herds of elephants at Udawalawe Reserve, or visit the Turtle Conservation Area at Rekawa. Blue Whales have become a key part of any trip to the island. Whale watching Sri Lanka style can be organized with trips from Mirissa only 45 minutes away. Or for chance sightings while Dolphin watching Sri Lanka. Closer to home, get aboard our Fishing Boat to try your hand alongside Mawella's fishermen, dive off the boat to swim or snorkel, or just observe the Blow Hole at Kudawella from the sea. Alternatively a short trip away are the Mulkirigala Caves boasting a remarkable temple and monastery carved out of a large and sheer rock formation in the surrounding forest. Also nearby, fans of Bawa's architecture should visit Ruhuna University and Claughton House. There's the Dutch Fort at Matara to warm you up before a visit to Galle and its own UNESCO World Heritage Site at the Galle fort, also an oasis for some browsing and shopping in its' boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coco Tangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing