We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as all the reviews say!”
Review of Coco Tangalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coco Tangalla
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a 6 night stay at Coco at the end of our tour of Sri Lanka. We initially had a very small room with no view at all (a small window looking out onto a chain link fence about a metre away). I was really disappointed but we had reserved a room with a balcony for the last 4 nights of the stay so we put up with it. The beds and bedding were all very good quality and we slept really well. The hotel itself is lovely, only 6 rooms in all. The pool and the food were lovely. The staff are possible the hotels best asset; helpful, ,friendly and very efficient. There is free wifi but only in the reception and lounge area.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony is definitely worth the extra money. The room we were in first was rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinnyStaffordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at Coco Trangalle for three nights and had a fantastic stay. Dinuka and his crew made our stay both comfortable, personal and relaxing. Chef did a grate job - the food was both delicious and composed as artistic works every day.Waking up listening to the waves was just perfect and the location near Trangalle made it easy to stroll down the street observing the every day life of the locals. Very stylish design - both cosy and stylish. But - the overall experience was made perfect by Dinuka and the other personell - their service were personal and at all times very helpful. The fact that there were only 6 rooms also made it a very relaxing stay! Coco is part of the Manor House concepts and already before we left Norway we decided to stay at Case Heliconia: http://www.casa-heliconia.com with just two rooms!
I grate thank you to the owner of the Manor House Concepts for making such pearls for us who search for uniquness rather than big hotels with no charm. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Only one room with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010Emil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at Coco Tangalla for a couple of days in May and was delighted by the experience. Stunning location, super-stylish design (love the polished white concrete), great service, delicious food and the crashing sound of waves at night made for an awesome experience. For me, the real benchmark of a great vacation is how vivid the memories are after the tan fades. I can close my eyes and still see the view from the pool. Can't wait to get back to this little piece of paradise. Congrats to Ananda and team on a great job. Thanks again, David Hessler

Room Tip: All the rooms look good, ask for an ocean view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbum93108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Arriving in Coco Tangalle and being greeted by a super nice sincere Team set you in the right mood. We were ask to choose our room on arrival, the check in was smooth and welcoming.
we headed up for a great lunch overlooking the bay & property.

what to remember:
The manager I forgot his name he use to work at the last house owned by the same company the team / smile / generosity / dedication / Food / great music

what to forget
the bedding / smell in the room

A must see place

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordonray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our Sri Lanka trip and it was a really welcome bit of luxury and relaxation. The place is beautifully decorated and our room was very romantic, with French windows leading out onto a sizeable balcony and down to the infinity pool in the garden and to the golden-sand beach and sea beyond. The sea was a bit too rough and rocky for swimming, but did have a paddle and enjoyed lying on the sand. It's all surrounded by bending palm trees and feels quite secluded.

We had a great time down by the pool, on the comfy loungers with fresh towels and swimming in the refreshing and very clean water. We also had very good food, and beer, and enjoyed walking along the beach after dinner, lit up by the moonlight. We didn't see any turtles unfortunately, although apparently four guests saw one by the gate to the garden a week before us.

Tangalle itself didn't seem to have that much to offer to tourists - I think everyone eats at their guest houses or hotels. One afternoon we went by tuk-tuk up the road to the Hummanaya Blow Hole though, which was really good to see, although the ticket price seemed a bit high for what it was.

At night the staff lit citronella oil lanterns in our room and let down mosquito netting around our four-poster bed and we slept very well.

Room Tip: We had one of the deluxe doubles and it was lovely. Very clean and romantic, with great views from i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice guesthouse near Tangalle with a super friendly staff and cozy rooms. We had a bathroom outside which was a bit strange in the beginning but turned out to be perfect for a shower in the sunset after a day on the beach. The food is very nice and they are very flexible about the time of breakfast/lunch/dinner. You can also ask for assistance with excursions or a driver. Special thanks for the roomservice - we really enjoyed the nice flowers on the bed :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkoepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in Coco Tangalla for 6 nights and we had a wonderful and relaxing time! We stayed in the Premium room and enjoyed the extra space this room has and also having the place to our selves for most of the time. Being Dutch Sri Lanka specialized travel agents my wife and I over the years have stayed in lots of hotels in this beautiful country. Some of them have this extra! A combination of how the place looks, feels and how the staff provides you with the right service.
Coco Tangalla is one of them!

Frieda and Andre, Singhareizen.nl

Room Tip: Premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreladenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.9 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.3 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 22 in Tangalle
350 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sooriya Resort & Spa
Sooriya Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Rekawa
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 22 in Tangalle
288 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Last House
The Last House
#8 of 22 in Tangalle
130 reviews
1 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel
Ceylon Sea Hotel
#12 of 22 in Tangalle
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Tangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tangalla

Address: 355 Mahawella Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Tangalle
Price Range: $199 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tangalla is a 6-bedroomed black and white colonial villa, this Tangalle beach hotel is managed by the owner of The Kandy House and The Last House. Book by the room or as a whole house, it is well suited for couples and families. The main house has four bedrooms and an adjoining annex with an additional two bedrooms. The interiors are stylishly decorated with a mixture of modern furniture and period antiques, local art, with infusions of colour and exotic fabrics. The living and dining areas introduce some art deco features. All to create warm and informal rooms to relax. For couples looking for their perfect wedding hotel in Sri Lanka, Coco Tangalla is a beautiful luxury beach villa in Sri Lanka, ideal as a stylish wedding venue, offering delicious food and exceptional service. With a variety of wildlife, cultural and heritage destinations to visit in the area, it is situated very conveniently to explore. From Coco Tangalla you can visit Yala National Park on safari amongst the world's highest concentration of leopards, or enjoy the company of large herds of elephants at Udawalawe Reserve, or visit the Turtle Conservation Area at Rekawa. Blue Whales have become a key part of any trip to the island. Whale watching Sri Lanka style can be organized with trips from Mirissa only 45 minutes away. Or for chance sightings while Dolphin watching Sri Lanka. Closer to home, get aboard our Fishing Boat to try your hand alongside Mawella's fishermen, dive off the boat to swim or snorkel, or just observe the Blow Hole at Kudawella from the sea. Alternatively a short trip away are the Mulkirigala Caves boasting a remarkable temple and monastery carved out of a large and sheer rock formation in the surrounding forest. Also nearby, fans of Bawa's architecture should visit Ruhuna University and Claughton House. There's the Dutch Fort at Matara to warm you up before a visit to Galle and its own UNESCO World Heritage Site at the Galle fort, also an oasis for some browsing and shopping in its' boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coco Tangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing