We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Beautiful”
Review of Coco Tangalla

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Tangalla
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked Coco for the last 2 nights of our 3 week trip to Sri Lanka as a treat and that's exactly what it was. It is a beautifully simple colonial house with white walls, pale polished concrete floors throughout with very simple yet elegant furnishings. It's difficult to find fault with this place. The uber comfortable daybeds beside the restaurant look out over the azure pool (which was very warm due to the sun being on it all day) and the gardens leading down to the beach, which is the perfect place to relax day or night and have the gentle breeze and sounds of the waves to listen to. It was made all the more special by the fact we had it all to ourselves and it was just so peaceful - we actually want to live there!!!!!!!!!!! The food prepared for us was delicious the staff were very attentive without being intrusive. I could quite happily have spent more time there. It's also a 10 minute stroll into town if you need anything or just want to stretch your legs. A truly gorgeous place.

Room Tip: It would be a wonderful place to rent the entire house and have some friends stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    22
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
135
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've just returned from a honeymoon in Sri Lanka (well, not just a honeymoon, ours...) and our final 6 nights were spent at Coco Tangalla (confusingly the town is actually Tangalle but local pronunciation and dialect mean that sometimes people just have a bit of fun with the spelling). After a pretty amazing and life-changing two weeks travelling around this beautiful and fascinating country we really thought we'd experienced the best service and accommodation around, but then we found Coco.
Sometimes a place just has an atmosphere and ambience that makes you go 'yes, we'll be fine here thanks', and as soon as we glided into this elegant house, all whitewashed walls and polished concrete floors, tastefully decorated with a mixture of local sculpture and designer furniture, we knew we'd struck gold (with proof coming from a passion fruit cocktail thrust into our hands).

Dinuka leads a brilliant team of polite, helpful and interesting staff who make every desire their personal quest, and nothing is too much. The food is wonderful, the setting is unbeatable, and th longer we stayed the harder it was for us to leave.

Without wishing to denegrate any of the other places we stayed in Sri Lanka, this place knocks them out of the water (or into the water, depending on where you are). We stayed in a deluxe room for 3 nights, which we loved, but then we were told everyone else was leaving so we had the place to ourselves. Dinuka suggested we take the big room with the terrace (and though normally more expensive let us stay there for no extra charge). This room was just beautiful but you'll have the same experience in all of the rooms. You won't be in the room for long, as the pool and beach will beckon you to lie horizontal all day, with the flatness of your posture interrupted only to be fed three times a day. It's true that most Brits moan about not being able to find a decent cuppa away from home, but you'll find it here, in the home of tea, and for those who can't go without porridge, they'll do that too. In fact, ask for pretty much anything and your wish is Coco's command. Supper is more of a set menu, but always beautiful and always somehow what you wanted. They even gave us free wine (you can bring your own or ask them to source you a bottle locally).

We've realised we don't want to say in hotels on trips like these: you'll always feel like a bit of a spare part and after some slightly tense exchanges with exasperated managers, this felt like we'd come home (except to a massive version of our home with people cooking for you and perfect weather all day).

You can hire the whole house if you feel like going with a group of friends or family, and hopefully we'll be back next year to do just that.

I could write more but all you really want to know is this: GO TO COCO.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, though do splash out on the superior deluxe room for the private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffShadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

What an amazingly beautiful hotel. The setting, the decor, the view - it's all picture perfect. And yet it's also such a relaxed place you easily find yourself lounging on one of the sofas, legs hanging over the back, drink in one hand, book in the other, just like I would on a Sunday afternoon back home. Of course the view is much better here!

It's a small hotel, only 6 rooms so even when it's full it doesn't feel crowded in any way.

The staff are all so friendly and helpful and the food is delicious. Of all the places I've stayed in Sri Lanka this is the best place by a long way. Everything just seems naturally perfect. It feels like a secret idyll you've discovered that you don't want to share! Lovely lovely lovely...

On a side note we found a brilliant local tour guide - Sriyanga Sanjeewa, tel +94 (0) 77 850 5336 / email sawsiritango@yahoo.com. We went to Yala National Park for a very good price and he was brilliant. We even saw the elusive leopard. Wished we'd booked our whale watching trip with him too.

Room Tip: We had one of the 2 rooms facing the pool and could hear the waves on the beach as we slept. Perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Those four days, what we have spent in this hotel, were so relaxed and beautiful. We will never forget this stay in such a nice place with very nicely designed interiors and carefully cleaned rooms. It looks like you immerse yourself into a luxury, but still feeling free and have nothing to worry about. The meals was great (both: Eastern and Western cuisines) and put on the table in a stylish way.
We chose this hotel for our wedding and can hardly imagine we could find a better place in Sri Lanka for such an occasion. Dear Annie and all Coco Tangalla team, you are amazing and the best, thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Thanks to trip advisor we found this little gem. We stayed for two nights and wished it could have been more. During our two week stay in Sri Lanka we stayed in some very smart and in some cases very expensive boutique hotels but none quite matched the Coco. It's simple charm, spotlessly clean bedrooms and bathrooms and wonderful staff won our hearts. They could not have done more to help us unwind. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented.There is no bar/ drinks licence so bring your own or in our case the staff went to the supermarket nearby and shopped on our behalf. As I said nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My partner and I just had the pleasure of staying with Dinuka and team at Coco Tangalla and we can't recommend it highly enough. It's a cute boutique hotel tucked away on the beach of Tangalla. If you're looking for a respite from the real world, then this is the place. It's great for relaxing, rejuvenating and enjoying good food and comfort.

Our travel agent booked it for us and I had not read anything about it prior to our arrival, but once we walked in we knew it was special. Dinuka and his team were gracious hosts and made our stay a great mix of good service but not doting over us. We were lucky in that we had the whole place to ourselves for the entire 4 days, a treat one cannot count on, but it made it even more special.

We will return to Sri Lanka just to stay at Coco! It's that good. Great job to Dinuka, Chomil, Isuru and the rest of the Coco team!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms and they'll let you choose from the available ones when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFscott413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed here 2 weekends back to back. When we first pulled up to the house we were a bit surprised by how close it was to the main road, but from the second we pulled into the entrance it was like entering another world. The house is small and very cute. The furniture and decor is modern and chic. We always felt like we were at home especially when we were the only guests and had the whole house to ourselves! The staff were very friendly without being overbearing and were nice to have around - they simply went about their business and when you needed something, you just asked. The biggest highlight of our stay was without a doubt the food. It is exceptional - the potato wedges are to die for and the salads are brimming with fesh and innovative flavours. The fish will always be recommended to you as it is fresh, but I went with the chicken both times. Both chicken dishes were the best I have ever had! I made sure to get the recipe, but probably won't be able to recreate it :( The table was always set very nicely for lunch and dinner. The infinity pool was very relaxing and a perfect temperature. We stayed in the deluxe bedroom which has its own balcony and made all the difference. We had a look at the other rooms when we arrived and were glad we stayed in the biggest room! All the rooms looked very comfortable, but the others were a bit to small for us with no view of the ocean. I suggest not leaving windows or doors open at night as you will get eaten alive by mozzies (even with a mozzie net). The second trip there, we kept the doors closed and didn't get bitten at all. When returning to your room in the evening your bed is decorated with little flowers which was a nice touch. Overall this was a very beautifully done and romantic place to stay. I must say they got it all just right, which is very difficult to find. Only drawback would be the beach. You cant walk on it as its very narrow and is not the cleanest, but the view from the house of the beach is very pretty. If I could make a suggestion it would be to take off about 4 feet from the top of the plants in the backyard so that you can see the ocean more clearly from the pool. Thanks so much to all the staff! :)

Room Tip: Premium deluxe room with own veranda Anything on the menu ( all is top notch) Massage is a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.9 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.3 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 21 in Tangalle
323 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Maya
Maya
#8 of 21 in Tangalle
88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#11 of 21 in Tangalle
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Tangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tangalla

Property: Coco Tangalla
Address: 355 Mahawella Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tangalla is a 6-bedroomed black and white colonial villa, this Tangalle beach hotel is managed by the owner of The Kandy House and The Last House. Book by the room or as a whole house, it is well suited for couples and families. The main house has four bedrooms and an adjoining annex with an additional two bedrooms. The interiors are stylishly decorated with a mixture of modern furniture and period antiques, local art, with infusions of colour and exotic fabrics. The living and dining areas introduce some art deco features. All to create warm and informal rooms to relax. For couples looking for their perfect wedding hotel in Sri Lanka, Coco Tangalla is a beautiful luxury beach villa in Sri Lanka, ideal as a stylish wedding venue, offering delicious food and exceptional service. With a variety of wildlife, cultural and heritage destinations to visit in the area, it is situated very conveniently to explore. From Coco Tangalla you can visit Yala National Park on safari amongst the world's highest concentration of leopards, or enjoy the company of large herds of elephants at Udawalawe Reserve, or visit the Turtle Conservation Area at Rekawa. Blue Whales have become a key part of any trip to the island. Whale watching Sri Lanka style can be organized with trips from Mirissa only 45 minutes away. Or for chance sightings while Dolphin watching Sri Lanka. Closer to home, get aboard our Fishing Boat to try your hand alongside Mawella's fishermen, dive off the boat to swim or snorkel, or just observe the Blow Hole at Kudawella from the sea. Alternatively a short trip away are the Mulkirigala Caves boasting a remarkable temple and monastery carved out of a large and sheer rock formation in the surrounding forest. Also nearby, fans of Bawa's architecture should visit Ruhuna University and Claughton House. There's the Dutch Fort at Matara to warm you up before a visit to Galle and its own UNESCO World Heritage Site at the Galle fort, also an oasis for some browsing and shopping in its' boutiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing