We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Retreat”
Review of The Last House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Last House
Ranked #8 of 120 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridge of Weir, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Retreat”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent three nights here after a fascinating but exhausting time looking at Sri Lanka's history and culture. The Last House is the most wonderful place to relax. Secluded, discreet and quiet, placed in greenery, with the garden opening on to a long, empty beach with excellent waves for body-boarding. Many other beaches nearby. Tangalle, just a few minutes away by tuk-tuk, is a busy little town, full of vitality. The house is of course an architectural gem, cleverly designed to be cool and comfortable without the need for air-conditioning. The food is excellent and the service impeccable. No licence, but will buy drinks for you in town.

Room Tip: An uppstairs room in the main house is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalterReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Last House with my 3 daughters and mother Oct 2012 for 3 nights and it was wonderful.
The house is set right on the beach and the location is stunning. The house is very well furnished and the overall atmosphere is calm and serene. The staff were excellent and catered to all of our needs which included copious amounts of homemade banana cake for my 3 hungry girls ages 6,9 and 12. In fact all of the food was amazing in particular the delicious breakfast.
We travelled direct from the airport to Tangalle and the 5 hour journey was tiring after an overnight flight but The Last House was worth it. I have stayed in some beautiful hotels over the years but The Last House stands out as one of the best places I have stayed. Could not recommend it more highly - the journey is worth the effort.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We found this amazing property by chance, searching on the Internet at a cafe on our way to the coast. We're lucky we did.. this is one of the best hotels I've ever been to (at least top five in life), perhaps because we had the entire place to ourselves for the weekend (as well as the entire strip of white-sand beach in front of the property).

Anyone interested in architecture will love the back-story--this was the last house (hence the name) designed by the famous Sri Lankan architect Geoffrey Bawa. Every room is designed to have some view of the ocean, even if it's just from a window that looks down a long hallway toward the sea. We loved the open-air living and dining rooms where we ate pretty much every meal (food was great), and the pool is incredibly picturesque, set in a grassy courtyard surrounded by frangiapani trees. There was a friendly little kitten named Ginger Rogers when we were there, too..

Our driver told us the house had been utterly destroyed by the tsunami so it's great to see that it has been repaired and reopened. Couldn't recommend it more.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hongbao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We came, we stayed and we did not want to leave. The Last House is a place for chilling out to the max - which is what we did. We stayed upstairs in the Main House. The Master bedroom with a four poster bed and even bigger bath was to die for. The next door room was equally as good. We loved the view from the upstairs balcony. At night, we threw open the bedroom doors to catch the breeze and the sound of the waves.

During the day, we swam in the pool, walked along the beach - the fishermen and families were very happy to talk and practice their English. The area was badly affected by the tsunami - many people have lost family and friends.

the food was good, especially the dahl rice and the lime ginger dressing on the tuna salad. we enjoyed a BBQ with fantastic tiger prawns.

We had read on the website that badminton and croquet was available and on our last day, they appeared. It was a good way of making the most of the beautiful lawn leading to the beach. The website also said bikes are available...they are not. Ananda, the manager, rustled one up from a neighbour. Lovely gesture, but 800r for a bike with mechanical issues was a bit expensive!

At times the service was slow but, hey, we were at the beach ... and even paradise has its slow times.

Room Tip: Upstairs to catch the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

What can I say, we arrived late one evening during a torrential monsoonal downpour, soaked from sitting out at the cricket, so not in a very good mood. When we got out of the car we were welcomed by the beautiful, overwhelming aroma of the cinnamon tress. After a greeting from the very friendly staff, we showered and prepared for dinner. The meal was stunning, had on a patio with the sounds of the pouring rain in the lovely garden, and the booming of the tunderous surf only metres away. Our entire stay was just amazing - the weather cleared up and we took advantage of the great beach and pool, ate like kings and then retired in the evening in our beautiful room. We'll be back soon guys!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am sitting on the patio of The Last House while penning this review an I have to say that this place is as close to paradise as you can get.

The location and villa are outstanding there is nothing to do here but relax, the beach is good for swimming and kids and the service is chilled but friendly.

My 3 year old boy is not going to want to leave here and I think I might share he's remorse. This is one of those places that you can't believe more people have found out about. But at the same time being glad they haven't.

Tangalle is super un-touristy so if you come South then put it on you itinerary

K

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Last House is probably as close as I will ever come to paradise! The best way for me to descibe it is to imagine you are staying in the home of one of your best friends, if your best friend has amazing taste in design, is an excellent cook and will tend to your every need without ever being obtrusive or pushy. We stayed here for 4 nights of a 10 night stay in Sri Lanka and it was definitely the highlight. The house is beautifully designed with several comfy areas to lounge, either inside or out. Our room was huge and airy with views over the lagoon behind the house (and monkeys playing in the garden!) At the front of the house, the well-tended garden leads to a beautful and deserted beach, literally 10 paces away! The sea is a little rough if you want to swim far out, but for general paddling about and body-boarding it was brilliant. The garden and pool are also gorgeous. Ananda the manager is a lovely guy who made sure to chat to us every breakfast and dinner time, and arranged a safari trip for us to Yala National Park. The food is incredible though lunch and dinner are probably more expensive than anywhere else in Sri Lanka (but still cheaper than the UK - a 3 course lobster dinner was £16 each). Breakfast was delicious with a full menu of local and international choices, although I got the impression that any request you could make would be catered for! Really the only down side I could see would be if you were staying for a while and fancied eating somewhere other than the hotel - it is quite isolated and therefore a tuk tuk or taxi would be required to get anywhere, and the local town of Tangalle doesn't have much choice for eating out, especially in the evenings. The 4 nights for the price of 3 offer meant that this came within our budget, but the 10% service charge and 14% 'tax' added on to our bill did sting a bit at the end of our stay. Overall though the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We had the Na room which while beautiful was a little open to the elements. If you are a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie_Fors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalle
2.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.2 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
325 reviews
23.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Maya
Maya
#8 of 21 in Tangalle
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
269 reviews
8.1 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last House

Property: The Last House
Address: Pubudu Mawatha | Seenimodara, Nakulugamuwa, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's beach and chic at this Tangalle beach villa. As Geoffrey Bawa's final example of his infamous brand of architecture throughout Sri Lanka, this six-bedroomed seaside escape enjoys space, ventilation and barefoot luxury in a private location. Decor throughout the property is largely a mix of fresh white walls and grey polished cement floors, serving as a backdrop to a mixture of antique and contemporary furniture, all adorned with bright colours. Bedrooms enjoy views of the sea or a lagoon, set in tropical gardens with a central swimming pool. Whether with family, friends or as a couple, this Tangalle Hotel - The Last House is a truly serene tropical hideaway planted beside the Indian Ocean. It can be booked in part or as a whole house, and is staffed (including a chef) to accommodate up to 14 guests. Well suited for couples and families, and situated at the end of unspoilt Mawella beach. The house is also a perfect wedding hotel in Sri Lanka. The Last House Tangalle beach hotel provides for a quintessentially seaside holiday combined with a variety of wildlife, cultural and heritage destinations to visit on the south coast. From The Last House you can visit Yala National Park to see Sri Lanka's highest concentration of Leopards, see elephants at Udawalawe Reserve or visit the Turtle Conservation Area at Rekawa. Alternatively try whale watching from Mirissa, only 45 minutes away. Or closer to home, get aboard our Fishing Boat to try your hand alongside Mawella's fishermen, dive off the boat to swim or snorkel, or just observe the Blow Hole at Kudawella from the sea. For sights nearby, take a short trip to the Mulkirigala Caves boasting a remarkable temple and monastery carved out of a large and sheer rock formation in the surrounding forest. Also nearby, fans of Bawa's architecture should visit Ruhuna University and Claughton House. There's the Dutch Fort at Matara to warm you up before a visit to Galle and its own UNESCO World Heritage Site at Galle fort, also an oasis for some browsing and shopping in its' boutiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing