We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas
Nearby Hotels
$270
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya(Tangalle)
$180
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ceylon Sea Hotel(Tangalle)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$31
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Tangalla(Tangalle)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last House(Tangalle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
191
81
34
14
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
81
34
14
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaexpensive roomgood sized roomsnon acroom numberspacious bathroomprivate balconynice guythe main housefresh juicebeautiful placetwo nightsvery nice staydeck chairscold beerseafoodpalm trees
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 347 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We arrived in Tangalle from the North and Ella (we got a private taxi through a hotel for £35, we could have easily shared with another couple, but there wasn't a lot of time for the hotel to sort that when we booked), and the sun was shining, we were absolutely overjoyed to be spending a week here. The beach can be seen from the cabanas (even those at the back), and the beach is clean, the water safe to swim in (if sometimes a bit of a strong current), and the place itself is also immaculate. The staff are really relaxed and helpful. Wifi, air con and a fridge all available. There are banks and a super market in the nearby town area (about 10-15 minutes stroll). The shower was new and had hot water. The rooms were clean and airy. Great place to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were supposed to stay only one week but guess what we stayed more because it really feels like home.
Like everywhere in Sri LAnka the staff is really nice but here there is something more.
The rooms are big and confortable hot water and fridge. The balconies are nice and sea view.
The restaurant is both srilankan and european that's nice to change... and the sea food Oh my god!!!
The hotel is on the beach so no need to walk
it is very quiet and peacefull
we were very sad to leave our second home...

Room Tip: number 3 or 5
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariejoelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Depending on what you want this place may be for you. We preferred the places more like guest houses/ B+B but this one was much more like a hotel. We got an upstairs room but payed a lot less than what they initially asked so definitely negotiate your price. The room was lovely and clean and having a bar fridge to have cold water was a lovely luxury. The night we were there a massive party was on further down the beach but it didn't keep us awake. Only a 10 minute walk to town. Although staff were able to answer questions it didn't have the same vibe as some of the other family run places we stayed at.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa1234Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Oh how we were sad to leave frangipani! We stayed there for 6 nights, more than we planned to, just because we enjoyed it so much.
Located right on the beach (the water are not very calm at this area, but if its too much you can take a tuk tuk for 100 RS to a calmer beach). great room very colorful and nicely designed, and totally peaceful.
Lovely restaurant downstairs, good breakfast with fresh juice every morning.
And most of all, the good feeling and vibes of the frangipani team. Great service, very friendly and helpful. We were staying there with our 2.5 yrs old son, and he spent the afternoon playing ball with the workers of the place, to the sound of Bob Marley:)
Thank you Chalu, Nalin and everybody else. It was a real pleasure! Hope to come back...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papadam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived hot and tired from an early morning safari in Udawalawe, and were given a choice of rooms on the ground or first floor.
We chose a first floor room, as it had a nice big balcony and sea view, and as there is no air conditioning hoped there would be more of a breeze up there. There wasn't!!
Initially the room seemed nice, large bedroom and spacious shower. On closer inspection the walls were totally grubby; cobwebs and dirty finger marks around the light switches. The bed sheet was a tatty old yellow throw.
We had a wander up the beach, hoping for a selection of places to eat, but there was nothing around, just a deserted beach.
There was supposed to be wifi available, but I could only pick it up in the downstairs lounge or at the top of the stairs.
We were booked in for 5 nights and wanted to leave the next day.
However, we had a good meal there in the evening, and the staff were so friendly. We noticed them constantly sweeping up, trying to keep the place nice.
We warmed to the place; yes the walls in the room were dirty, but the villa has a nice charm.
We did leave after the second night because of the lack of options in the vicinity; we like to go out in the evenings so we would've been bored staying much longer.
Overall I would recommend this place for a short stay, for total relaxation on a deserted beach.

Room Tip: Upstairs at the front have a large communal balcony and partial sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews