We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely villa on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas
Ranked #19 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived hot and tired from an early morning safari in Udawalawe, and were given a choice of rooms on the ground or first floor.
We chose a first floor room, as it had a nice big balcony and sea view, and as there is no air conditioning hoped there would be more of a breeze up there. There wasn't!!
Initially the room seemed nice, large bedroom and spacious shower. On closer inspection the walls were totally grubby; cobwebs and dirty finger marks around the light switches. The bed sheet was a tatty old yellow throw.
We had a wander up the beach, hoping for a selection of places to eat, but there was nothing around, just a deserted beach.
There was supposed to be wifi available, but I could only pick it up in the downstairs lounge or at the top of the stairs.
We were booked in for 5 nights and wanted to leave the next day.
However, we had a good meal there in the evening, and the staff were so friendly. We noticed them constantly sweeping up, trying to keep the place nice.
We warmed to the place; yes the walls in the room were dirty, but the villa has a nice charm.
We did leave after the second night because of the lack of options in the vicinity; we like to go out in the evenings so we would've been bored staying much longer.
Overall I would recommend this place for a short stay, for total relaxation on a deserted beach.

Room Tip: Upstairs at the front have a large communal balcony and partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 335 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed there for two nights in the room with balcony on the 1st floor. The beach is just a few steps away. The hotel served very fresh prawns which just came out from the sea. And all the staff working there can speak better English than other guesthouses. But all the rooms with balconies are without air-conditioning, some smaller rooms even without hot water. It is very difficult to fall asleep in the March time of Sri Lanka with your door closed, the only way is to open the door to balcony and let the sea wind blow in. So the 1st floor rooms are not quite safe when sleep at night leaving doors opened. One night I stayed very late sitting on the balcony, to about 2 am, and I suddenly saw two local men walking by without any sound in the dark, it's terrified. So that night, I had to close my door to the balcony, and had a sweaty night of sleeping.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I feel a tad guilty writing this review as the Frangipani Beach Villas is a great hotel, with a laid back vibe, very friendly staff , good food and a reasonable room rate. If it was located at Mirissa I would give it an Excellent rating.
Unfortunately a hotel's location is intergral to having an enjoyable stay and my girlfriend and I just did not like Tangalle Beach at all.

Lonely Planet, Trip Advisor and a couple of other sources describe Tangalle Beach as the next undiscovered Mirissa. The reality is that Tangalle looks like it was briefly discovered some years ago and has then been largely abandoned. The beach itself is quite dirty with a lot of litter and numerous abandoned or derelict buildings. It is very difficult to swim at Tangalle (in March at least) as the single wave break is very close to shore and is very forceful. Powerful undertow is created which makes it like swimming in a washing machine. My girlfriend had one dip in the water and never went back in again.

Maybe it comes down to personal taste - I thought Mirissa beach was simply gorgeous and would love to go back tomorrow. Others have described Mirissa as over developed because it has some restaurants built on the beach.

Tangalle certainly has fewer tourists and a lot more locals - but the fisherman seemed over eager for tourists to help pull in their nets and there were signs posted at the Frangapani warning tourists not to enter the fishermen houses (not sure what has gone on there?).
Tangalle is supposed to be quiet but unfortunately we had a wedding next to the hotel on our first day and hideous Sri Lankan pop music blared out of a boom box all day long killing any serenity.

If you like lying on a deck chair in the sun, with little tourist infrastructure (other than the excellent Frangapani hotel), by a wild beach watching fisherman go to and fro then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We had a room with no AC and slept quite comfortably with the fans provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great location on a lovely quiet beach. Great restaurant with awesome fresh seafood and great chilled atmosphere, friendly owner and staff.

We stayed in two rooms, due to overbooking we were kindly upgraded to the standalone cabana (great room with nice bed, nice bathroom/shower and great AC) and moved to the non Ac fan villa the next day, which was also had a great bed and a verandah area.

Highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: beach facing rooms with the verandah..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The guys here did seem fairly nice and welcoming but my issues with the place were twofold - first of all, it's location isn't great. It's quite close to town with the result that the beach is a bit industrial here with boats, fishermen etc. As a result, there's nowhere to hang out on the beach here, no deck chairs and my wife said she wouldn't really feel comfortable lying out on this part of the beach in a bikini.

Secondly, the room wasn't great. It was room 6, above the kitchen and separate from the house with the other rooms. It was long, narrow and a bit soul-less, with a concrete slab outside as a sort of balcony. It was clean and secure however.

All in all, I felt it didn't quite live up to the other reviews. As regards where to stay in / around Tangalle, see what I wrote in my review of Sandy's also in Tangalle.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

During our days in Sri Lanka, this was the most expensive room. However, we felt that they offered good value for money. The room was clean with a nice balcony. The location right on the beach was perfect. The breakfast was very good and the meals at the restaurant were good, but not very good. We were very happy with our days in Frangipani.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Thanks again to Nalin and his wonderful staff. We spent a fantastic 11 nights here in this perfect place!! Very nice big room, the beautiful setting, exceptional service in a relaxed atmosphere, really great spicy food, all the currys are delicious and the seafood marvelous!!! The Xmas barbeque on the beach was great fun, only to be topped by the New Year's party dancing by the beach!! A special place run by special people, wish you all the best for the coming year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
1.1 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
332 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
709 reviews
2.0 mi away
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
4.0 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 2 in Rekawa
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas

Address: n.u. Jayawrdana road | Medaketiya beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range: $32 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frangipani Beach Villa is located in a quiet and peaceful part of Tangalle, directly on the beach, with a magnificent view over the ocean. Stepping outside in the morning with the coconut palmtrees surrounding you, the soft white sand under your feet and the sound of the waves makes you feel like you are still dreaming. You can also enjoy our swimming pool. One of the charms of Frangipani Beach Villa is no mass tourism but a quiet and unspoiled place where you can discover the real Sri Lanka. This combined with the warm Sri Lankan hospitality and great service will make you feel at home. At Frangpani Beach Restaurant you can dine under the stars or in our natural style restaurant. Enjoy the exotic, fresh seafood and traditional Sri Lankan dishes. Frangipani Beach Villa is conveniently located as it is just a short walk from the centre of Tangalle. It is known as a beautiful fishing town in the deep south of Sri Lanka and provides a perfect starting point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing