We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location on the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas
Ranked #16 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Göteborg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

During our days in Sri Lanka, this was the most expensive room. However, we felt that they offered good value for money. The room was clean with a nice balcony. The location right on the beach was perfect. The breakfast was very good and the meals at the restaurant were good, but not very good. We were very happy with our days in Frangipani.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    70
    33
    13
    26
See reviews for
44
146
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Thanks again to Nalin and his wonderful staff. We spent a fantastic 11 nights here in this perfect place!! Very nice big room, the beautiful setting, exceptional service in a relaxed atmosphere, really great spicy food, all the currys are delicious and the seafood marvelous!!! The Xmas barbeque on the beach was great fun, only to be topped by the New Year's party dancing by the beach!! A special place run by special people, wish you all the best for the coming year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ok, before we go any further, we could not get into the frangipani, but the owner, nalim, set us up in his brother's brand new place, Hotel Tango Reef, which is only a month old and is literally ten steps from frangipani so for all intents and purposes, it is the same place. You eat at frangipani and share common beachfront. The rooms at Tango were large, exceptionally clean and, for some reason, had four shower outlets in the bathroom! (share a shower??!!). The room had only a king size bed, wardrobe and towel stand, but will gain more as it gets business. The entire staff were amazing, the food was excellent and excursions can be arranged by the staff. The massage service, provided by Asela, was top notch and pretty reasonable. This is not a place to come and do a million things; it is a place to relax with really good people in an environment where great attention is paid to detail. Or, should you want to be on the go, arrange some outings. The town is ten minutes away on foot and has all the amenities you need (make sure you look twenty feet to the right of the wine store to see the second dine store that actually sells
wine). don't go for breakfast before eight a.m. Because that is when the really good bread comes out! I can't say enough about the staff who love people and do a great job at taking care of you. They speak excellent English and Nalim's business plan is to remain small and offer continued excellent service which is commendable. He told us this in between long running dives into the water! The beach, to the left, goes on for miles and is a great walk. You watch fishermen hauling in nets on the beach, and just marvel at the surf. This place is no longer a secret, and there are few rooms in total, so book in advance. In fact, there were literally no rooms available anywhere when we were there and nalim was offering to allow people to use beach chairs in the covered restaurant at no cost if they could not get a room somewhere. Typical ofthe friendliness we encountered in Tangalle.

Room Tip: Book early and get a balcony overlooking ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Seclusion, close to the beach and friendly animals...if this is what you are after then Frangipani villas is a must stay. What they forget to mention is that you'll be ripped off, there is nothing to do unless you fancy paying overrated prices for one of their 'Ayurvedic' massages which leaves you feeling traumatized, oh and by the way is carried out in the corridor. Friendly animals? Yes bed bugs...and for that matter the worst bed bugs I've yet to discover on any of my travels. Bed bugs so friendly that resulted in a visit to a hospital! Staff were overly helpful once they realised they were royally ripping us off. On asking for a nights refund due to the over friendly bed bugs occupying our room we were presented with 200 rupees barely enough to cover any hospital costs or medication. A slap in the face!
A stay at Frangipani villas hotel of horrors isn't quite complete without an order of their menu. Bland, meagre in portions and totally lacking in the taste sensations of the rest of Sri Lanka. All in all...if you fancy a different Sri Lanka experience stay here. Bored of the clothes in your backpack then also stay here as you'll need to throw out the majority of your infested clothes and purchase a whole new wardrobe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZBCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
509 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews, and I have to agree with all of the very positive ones. I think that everything has already been said, but here it goes again. Great staff, nice owner, amazing setting, excellent setup, great rooms, good breakfasts. The food took a while to be prepared but that is the same everywhere. Definitely one of the best locations and hotels in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Of course, choose one of the rooms facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good sized rooms, comfortable, clean, big balconies, hot showers, good food, right on the beach, cool staff, reasonable price, wi-fi (that actually works), great!

Stayed here for two nights and loved it. The place is run by Nalin, a cool and friendly bloke who seems to have given jobs to most of his mates. The result is a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We had a puncture in our hire car as soon as we arrived and the staff were super-helpful, to the extent that I wasn't actually allowed to get my hands dirty as they changed the tyre for me. Thanks very much! The next day, one of the guys, Fasloon, came with me to a tyre repair place and got it all sorted for me - now that's good service!

By the time we left the place we felt like we were mates with the staff here, they were that talkative and friendly (not in an annoying way though - they do leave you alone a lot of the time).

The food is typical Sri Lankan fare; dahl, curries, roti etc., but done to a high standard and in good sized portions.

We stayed in an upstairs room with a fan, no A/C, in November, and it was fine.

We'll definitely go back here if we return to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are probably more private than the downstairs ones as the seating out the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Frangipani for a week in October whilst visiting schools in the area with a group of colleagues.

Our days were long and tiring and it was an absolute delight to return to the Frangipani every evening! The bar / restaurant leads straight onto the sandy beach, where you can relax in a deck chair or help the local fishermen pull in their fishing nets.

The service at the hotel was excellent. The friendly staff, led by the young owner Nalin, made our visit very enjoyable. They went out of their way to help us relax and unwind.

The food was good quality, with a mixture of Sri Lankan and Western cuisine. The fresh fish and crab were particularly good.

The rooms are spacious and clean. (Could we have the towels changed more often Nalin?)

I would recommend this small, friendly guest house to anyone venturing to Southern Sri Lanka and I am hoping to return with a group of friends next year!

Room Tip: I stayed in an upstairs room and a downstairs room. The downstairs rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.8 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 20 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
1.9 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 20 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
1.0 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 118 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#2 of 108 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas

Property: Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas
Address: n.u. Jayawrdana road | Medaketiya beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frangipani Beach Villa is located in a quiet and peaceful part of Tangalle, directly on the beach, with a magnificent view over the ocean. Stepping outside in the morning with the coconut palmtrees surrounding you, the soft white sand under your feet and the sound of the waves makes you feel like you are still dreaming. You can make long walks along the outstretched palm fringed beach. One of the charms of Frangipani Beach Villa is no mass tourism but a quiet and unspoiled place where you can discover the real Sri Lanka. As there are only 8 rooms you will find yourself in a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. This combined with the warm Sri Lankan hospitality and great service will make you feel at home. At Frangpani Beach Restaurant you can dine under the stars or in our natural style restaurant. Enjoy the exotic, fresh seafood and traditional Sri Lankan dishes. Frangipani Beach Villa is conveniently located as it is just a short walk from the centre of Tangalle. It is known as a beautiful fishing town in the deep south of Sri Lanka and provides a perfect starting point for excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing