We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas
Ranked #22 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I booked one night here as it was in the new Lonely Planet. However it was soo good we ended up staying four nights. We went in August which isn't peak season which was perfect for us. Right on the beach which was practically deserted. The guest house itself is of a high spec with large rooms, private balcony, fantastic new restaurant and on the beach too. The owners are very helpful and speak perfect english. Staff are fantastic too. Would highly recommend this place. You will not be disappointed. We will definitely be going back. Thank you so much.

greg and izzie

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boban t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 337 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We found this place completely by chance when the owner's father stopped us at the bus station in Tangalle & suggested we have a look. As soon as we saw it we agreed to stay & even extended our planned stay by another couple of nights - it's a beautifully located place right on the beach, the rooms are lovely, well appointed, clean & all have their own balconies. There are also thoughtful touches that we didn't see elsewhere such as big, comfortable pillows!
I can only really echo what others have said & even then it's difficult to believe the location until you've seen it. The thing that really made this place a step above anywhere else we stayed was the friendliness of the staff, led by Nalin - they will do anything at all to help make your stay more comfortable & enjoyable, from providing games to play after dinner to taking you out to see the local sights. This was such an amazing place to stay that we even went back for a night at the end of the trip. We had a fantastic time in SL generally & this place was undoubtedly one of the highlights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

we went on the beach ,and we cross by this lovely,pleasent place-and we fell in love on the spot!such a place!when the days went by we all wanted to stay there for really long time.just on the beach,big clean rooms,small and peacfull restaurant-actully all the place is peacefull-but still close to the main street-5-7 min walk.you dont need to go away if you r there.the food is great,prices are fare,sea ,balcony to the sea,nalin and his staff-so helpefull with us.actually our whole trip beacuse of nalin was good.he arrange us a car to ella,he gave us a great place to sleep in ella (green valley g.h.)-he helped us when we got stuck in arugam bay-what more to say!really nice person.so---sure you have great time there.we all wish the best for them and thank you so very much!from us 2 israeli family-dani ,tsoofit sahar,suf,orly,ido and gay

Room Tip: room with a balcony to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tzufitn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We made reservations via their email (look at their web page) 1month in advance and reconfirmed before showing there. Hotel is small, only 7 rooms, but very nice. Rooms are big and those facing the sea have great terrace as well. Oue teens just loved those big, rou d bamboo chairs at the porch, swinging nets on the beach.... Very clean, tastefully decorated, new restorant just 3 m toward beach (and beach is really only couple of steps away). The cook does very good food (we also had some free lessons about how to make great curry). Suranga was our best friend there (he is working there and takes care of anything you need, also playing one of many games the have). Also Nalin (young owner) and his father Ciril were just great. We got whatever info or help needed, also reasonable price for our trip to Yale. The best was as we were the only guests and we were like family with them. We can just highly recomend the hotels and all the guys:-):-)a.a The swimming pool and fitness is :-)the ocean:-).

Room Tip: Front, ground floor are the best. But they are building another part of the hotel just bejond exist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

A wonderful little place on the beach. Out of 7 hotels and guest houses I visited, the rooms here were definitely the cleanest. The staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble - they even rescued my shoes from the beach. Don't understand the comment about the food, it was excellent, a good variety either true Sri Lankan style or chips and a sandwich. It was good quality and plenty of it! Free wifi was an unexpected bonus and when I left my iPad in the bar, it was kept safe for me. Definitely worth a return visit, if only to say hello to Cyril. Frangipani is my idea of paradise!

Room Tip: View of the beach from upstairs rooms and balcony area is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The guesthouse is situated right on the beach and is only one year old. I was given a room on the second floor. The room was large and clean with attached bathroom and a large terrace. The room was very basic. The sheets on the bed appeared clean .There was no AC only a fan.
The price was reasonable and the staff were OK
My only complaint is that the food that I ate here was the worst food I had during my travels in Sri Lanka
Also the lock to my room was broken making it impossible to open or close the door from outside..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msmarinaalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalin H, Owner at Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Thank you for your positive comment about our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the very big and clean room, the staff and the location on the beach. We can highlight the high quality that we offer in our hotel. You went in a very comfortable and clean place and you like it, thank you.

However, we are sorry to read that you didn’t like our food…. We only cook fresh food and serve very good quality food. Everything is home-made… You should ask us when you didn’t like something, we would have arranged it with your taste. Everything is possible to make you happy with the food…

Moreover, about the lock of your room, you should tell us too and we would have repaired it immediately, because sometimes it can happen, very rarely but it can. It is a small problem and we are sad to read you can’t close your door from outside. Today there is not this problem anymore, the lock is fixed, everything is ok.

We hope so see you again in your next travel in Sri Lanka, best regards to you from all the Frangipani staff. Nalin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I went to Tangalle - Medaketiya once, but the hotel i stayed no longer exists so.....we didn't know where to go for 3 nights to end the holidays. By chance we find Frangipani Beach Villas !
The Room was quiet large and very clean, bathroom nice and practical, there was a large terrace in front of with confortable seating just to do nothing..... The hotel is on the beach, you hear the beaufitul noise of the waves, you just leave your deckchair to swim and go back to read, look at the sea and fishermen or have a bier. Paradise during 4 days.
The food is good and for all tastes, from there or more european, spicy or not. I had good fisch plates and delicious fresh salads from the sea, and excellent fruits, my niece had good "omelette"... and french fried (me too !). People are nice, you can discuss with them if you want about the country and the habits, they organise day trip if you want....
Well, i'm sure i 'll be back one day. If you go there, just stoke "Doggy" for me, the mascot of the hotel.
Enjoy !!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patiwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
3.2 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 23 in Tangalle
341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Guesthouse
Ibis Guesthouse
#18 of 140 in Tangalle
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Moonstone Villas
Moonstone Villas
#2 of 140 in Tangalle
268 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
721 reviews
1 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#3 of 144 in Tangalle
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas

Address: n.u. Jayawrdana road | Medaketiya beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range: $40 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frangipani Beach Villa is located in a quiet and peaceful part of Tangalle, directly on the beach, with a magnificent view over the ocean. Stepping outside in the morning with the coconut palmtrees surrounding you, the soft white sand under your feet and the sound of the waves makes you feel like you are still dreaming. You can also enjoy our swimming pool. One of the charms of Frangipani Beach Villa is no mass tourism but a quiet and unspoiled place where you can discover the real Sri Lanka. This combined with the warm Sri Lankan hospitality and great service will make you feel at home. At Frangpani Beach Restaurant you can dine under the stars or in our natural style restaurant. Enjoy the exotic, fresh seafood and traditional Sri Lankan dishes. Frangipani Beach Villa is conveniently located as it is just a short walk from the centre of Tangalle. It is known as a beautiful fishing town in the deep south of Sri Lanka and provides a perfect starting point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Frangipani Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing